We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent self-catering holiday in a terrific location”
Review of Kiltaraglen House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kiltaraglen House
Ranked #8 of 91 Portree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent self-catering holiday in a terrific location”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We recently stayed in the Garden Wing of Kiltaraglen and it fully deserves its rating. The Garden Wing is a small extension to the main house where the B&B is situated but it feels private and secluded. It has a very spacious and comfortable main living room, a well equipped kitchen and a bright and cheerful conservatory which opens out onto the extensive gardens. Upstairs the double bedroom is comfortable and the bathroom (complete with whirlpool bath!) is brilliant. There's also a shower downstairs.

Well maintained and very clean, it has lots of nice touches and tasteful additions which make it feel less anonymous and more homely than your average self-catering accommodation. It's away from the town so nice and quiet at night, but the centre of Portree is no more than a 10 minute walk.

Another post mentioned that the options for food shopping in Portree were limited. Not sure if that was posted before the very large Co-Op on the small edge-of-town estate was opened or whether the poster just never found it, but it should be more than adequate for all but the most exotic requirements. It can also be reached on foot from Kiltaraglen, down a track and through the houses that back onto the shop.

Pam and Kevin are welcoming and helpful and have created a charming place to stay on the beautiful Isle of Skye.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDinham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiltaraglen, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your self-catering with us and thank you for your comments about the Garden Wing. It's great when our visitors enjoy themselves and find both the accommodation and of course the Island, to be just what they want for a relaxing break.

Thanks for taking the time to give such valuable information to anyone checking the reviews. It's so much better coming from a visitor than from us. (I can tend to wax lyrical about the place).

Hopefully your happy memories may encourage you to make a return visit one day. Thanks from us all meantime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    17
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
104
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We loved everything about it! The bed was great and the breakfast too! The Family who owns it was absolutely top notch. I would highly recommend this B and B to anyone staying on the isle of skye! Oh and a nice short walk to town from this location was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camille d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiltaraglen, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thanks for your comments Camile, it was a pleasure to have you and of course we hope our paths will cross in the future. Best regards from us all meantime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Just returned from a short break in Portree and feel very happy with our choice of B&B. We were made to feel very welcome and our room was extremely comfortable, great breakfasts too. Easy location for either walking or driving into the town. Very happy to recommend Kiltaraglen to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeaDrinkerManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiltaraglen, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
We are all so pleased you found Kiltaraglen 'just right' for your break. Thanks for taking the time to give us a review and I'm sure your comments about the location will help others make up their mind about us.

Best regards to you and we hope we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lappeenranta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend and all I can say it was a great stay! Staff was so friendly, our room (the double with shower) was beautiful and the breakfast was delicious. I have absolutely nothing to complain about - would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aurinkokello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiltaraglen, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thanks for your lovely comments.

Great to know that you would come back and stay with us again! Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carluke, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Never left a review on Trip Advisor before but felt I had to since my husband and I had such a good time! Kiltaraglen was such a great place to stay while we were away. Pam and her family are so friendly and welcoming. Felt like I was visiting family! We stayed in the Garden Wing which was very spacious and comfortable. Beautifully decorated too and everything we needed was there. Was a great base for us exploring the island and we will definitely be back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaK76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiltaraglen, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are all so glad you had a lovely stay! The weather really does help though, so hopefully you will be lucky on your next visit too. Look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

3 of us where over in Skye to get some photography done. We had the garden cottage and the annex and it was perfect. The accommodation was very clean and warm and comfortable. Pam was very welcoming and we appreciated the little touches that made our stay. The weather was not so accommodating and having the freedom of the cottages was brilliant. We will be returning. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiltaraglen, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review.

I have not responded sooner as I was on holiday myself (In London!) but we are all delighted you enjoyed the accommodation. The gales and rain have continued since you left, but I was so pleased that on your last morning at least the sun did appear for the sunrise! I hope you managed to get some great pictures and we would very much like to welcome you back to Kiltaraglen in the future. Hopefully, you will be able to see more of the sunshine on your next visit.

Best regards from us all. Pam, Kevin, Calum and Rachel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My wife and I got married in Edinburgh and spent 17 days traveling around Scotland and England afterward and this was the best place we stayed on our entire trip. The hospitality and food were lovely and we have no complaints regarding our time there. We got hit with the only bad weather on our trip while in Skye, but we had a cozy place to retreat to from the rain when it got to be too much. This was a nice and relaxing follow up to the hectic crowds of festival time in Edinburgh.

Would absolutely stay there again the next time we find ourselves in Skye.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiltaraglen, Owner at Kiltaraglen House, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thanks for your review. What a pity that we didn't know that you had just been married! We do try to make the stay a bit special if we do. I will pass on your comments to Calum and Rachel and thanks for staying with us. What a great opportunity to celebrate your anniversaries on Skye in the years to come. I do hope our paths cross again and every good wish for your future together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
0.4 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#5 of 6 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
10.6 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coolin View Guest House
Coolin View Guest House
#14 of 91 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiltaraglen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiltaraglen House

Property: Kiltaraglen House
Address: Kiltaraglen House Staffin Road, Portree IV51 9HR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiltaraglen offers excellent bed and breakfast and self catering accommodation within a ten minute walk of Portree square. A warm and friendly welcome awaits! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kiltaraglen House Portree, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing