We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was perfect”
Review of Westwards

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Westwards
Ranked #26 of 97 Portree B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Great place with a great host. The last day we had to leave very early (around 6 AM) and Morag got up early to make us breakfast, even after we told her just to leave something on the table the night before. Very nice surroundings, great views, clean and comfy rooms with warm and clean bathrooms. Leaflets and brochures about Skye, interesing conversation and advice from Morag where to go and what to do, great breakfast, a parking place for our car, large TV's in rooms and a living room with a fireplace. Everything has already been said, I can just say a very big thanks to Morag.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed here last month for two nights as part of our 3-week road trip through Scotland. It was a lovely place. We met some really nice people in all the B&Bs we stayed in, but Morag really stands out in my memory. She was so warm, and SO accommodating and even did our laundry and hung it on a line to dry!! (We didn't even ask her. She seemed to want to do this for us, and we were pretty desperate to do some laundry by that point.) The room was clean and comfortable. The countryside surrounding the house is gorgeous. It's about 10 minutes to drive into Portree. Thanks again, Morag.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squeakybones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I stayed at Westwards whilst taking a short break from my role as a carer. The lady of the house, Morag, gave me a very warm welcome. The property is situated in Borve which is just outside Portree. The house is set in a lovely landscaped garden with beautiful views. The room was just lovely and located right next door to the dining room which was an added bonus.I was given a twin room which had lots of lovely little touches, the bed was so so comfy and I also had access to a very comfortable living room where I enjoyed a take away of Fish and Chips from a café that Morag recommended.
Morag provided the best breakfast I have had in a long time including fruit, cereals and a lovely cooked breakfast.
I had some lovely chats with Morag and although I was travelling alone, I felt as if I were among family.
I would highly recommend Westwards as it is so lovely and great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

If there is one place that sticks out of our mind when we think of our holiday in Scotland its Skye and Morag & Westwards. Situated in Borve, a couple of miles from Portree this is a Gem in a fantastic location with breathtaking views. We were initially booked for their double ensuite but since there was a cancellation we were given the choice of opting the twin room that can be double room as well which was actually more spacious room-wise. Morag was very kind enough to arrange it for us while we sipped on our coffee after our long drive. It had the most comfortable bed compared to all the other B&Bs we stayed in Scotland[we actually stayed in 7 B&Bs]. Very clean. Absolutely quiet. Lovely Gardens with a tiny brook running along the property. Just when I wished if any of the properties had such a setting I ended up here to my surprise. Couldn't ask for more.We were always welcomed to a warm evening with access to their beautiful living room so that we could sit at the fireplace and keep us warm & cozy. Morag often engaged with us in long conversations that made us feel more like a family to each other. Breakfasts were a delight as well. Even when we requested to make a small portion of the porridge she was willing and happy to serve- I thoroughly enjoyed it. We also had the chance to meet her lil grandson and play around with him.
The only thing to keep in mind if your using a SatNav to reach here, is to follow the signboard once you are in Borve because the GPS is not correct with this location of the house. But there are boards that will not confuse so make sure you follow them.
So if your in Skye and your looking for a home you neednt look anywhere; come to Westwards. We totally loved this place.Hope Tripadvisor raises their rank in Skye. A total Gem with REAL value for money! Thank you soo much Morag for your warm hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rejily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Beautiful, convenient location, clean and comfortable room. Morag welcomed us with tea and biscuits even though we arrived late. We enjoyed a lot of value for the price of this accommodation, with free use of the beautiful living room, good Wifi access, and a variety of choices for breakfast. We especially appreciated that she did some laundry for us.
We wouldn't even consider using a hotel on the Isle of Skye when places like this are available.
Thank you, Morag, for your welcoming stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

we stayed at Westwards on our recent charity motorcycle ride around Britain, Morag was a wonderful host, the views spectacular and the accommodation was first class, lovely rooms and a great living room. She gave good advice on where to eat and we were not disappointed! Skye is a great place to visit and this acommodation must rank among the best! Thank you Morag and Family

Room Tip: all rooms were loveley, as this is away from the main town nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 267davidp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This was our favorite B&B on our recent 2 week trip to Scotland. It is located a short 10 minute drive from Portree and is surrounded by sheep ranches and farms in a spectacular setting.

Morag was a great host, the house has a beautirul living room, and the rooms are bright, clean and nicely decorated. The breakfasts were large and quite good. We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone traveling around the lsle of Skye by car.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portree hotels
3.3 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,111 reviews
3.2 mi away
Portree Youth Hostel
Portree Youth Hostel
#8 of 26 in Portree
96 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#4 of 6 in Portree
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
207 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#6 of 6 in Portree
492 reviews
3.2 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwards

Address: 24 / 25 Borve, Portree IV51 9PE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westwards Bed & Breakfast is situated less than five minutes drive from picturesque Portree the capital of the Isle of Skye and is a comfortable non-smoking modern and spacious house set in a large garden with panoramic views that offers the opportunity for guests to relax and unwind in peaceful and comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Westwards Portree, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing