We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isle of Skye gem”
Review of Westwards

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Westwards
Ranked #25 of 98 Portree B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

This beautiful B&B is about 5 mins drive outside of Portree in a pretty farming village.

The accommodation was warm, comfortable and spotless. Morag was a brilliant host - welcoming and friendly. She was very kind when I wasn't feeling very well during the stay. She checked how I was feeling each morning and cooked breakfasts to suit me. We really felt looked after and in a home from home.

Would highly recommend - was one of our favourite B&Bs during our trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londongirl261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed here one night and it was one of my favorites on my trip. The room was very clean and spacious. The internet worked great and was speedy enough for my needs. Morag was very friendly and did a great job showing me around and fixed a really good breakfast. If I go back to Skye this is where I'd stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outbackpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We rented both of Morag's rooms, which were both double en-suite, very comfortable, clean, nice size rooms.
We also had a family room to relax in, with leather sofas, chair and fireplace. It was nice and warm with a fire going!
Morag has made this place so welcoming, we felt like friends visiting. She called many places to make us dinner reservations, and having no luck with that, suggested that we just go to one and try. Good idea, as we only had to wait a few minutes to get in.
Breakfast was wonderful, hot off the stove and very tasty.
The B&B is located in a beautiful area, and close to the town of Portree.
Highly recommended to stay here........we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We are a mature couple from Belgium and this was our first time in Scotland. We stayed with Morrag a few days ago, in August 2013. We loved the place : we received a great welcome and everything was up to or above our expectations. Very nice room and delicious breakfast. It is very close to Portree and a good location to visit the isle. Thank you very much for everything.

Room Tip: Nothing negative. Good room, hot water available in room for tee or coffee. Large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicoleontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This was a wonderful place to stay, lovely views and a garden to wander around. A bit away from Portree but a nice drive to get there. The room was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. Morag was a wonderful host, there to help when required and giving wonderful service.

I would recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We had a great welcome and stay at Westwards.
Morag is a wonderful host, the room was very nice, with many extras, no stairs to climb. We had an extra fold out bed for our son but didn't even use it because main bed was big enough for the three of us. This doesn't happen in other B&Bs.

Breakfast is very well served in a quiet and relaxing atmosphere.
Our son was also made feel very welcome with Morag's smile.

You are in Portree town centre after 5 minutes driving.

The only thing we regret is not having stayed longer. If we ever go to Portree again we will try to stay at Westwards.

Thank you, Morag!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maikaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We arrived for our 5 nights on Skye with high expectations after having read reviews of Westwards and Morag. Westwards is located in a rural setting overlooking a wonderful garden with a group of aerogenerators visible on a far distant ridge. The comfortable front bedroom which we occupied, the spacious guest lounge and the breakfast room all face this view. The grand breakfast which was standard at all the Scottish b & bs which we frequented was highlighted daily at Westwards by a freshly-prepared fruit salad.
We were the beneficiaries of the local knowledge of our Skye native hosts, Morag and Donald. After a walk in the hills, we enjoyed lunch at a tiny tea-room in Morag's hometown. We gained some insights into the status and role of the Gaelic language on Skye.
After 5 nights we moved reluctantly on, feeling that our expectations had been exceeded and that we had made friends with whom we hope to cross paths again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
26.9 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
2.9 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 98 in Portree
249 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Portree Youth Hostel
Portree Youth Hostel
#8 of 26 in Portree
96 reviews
3 mi away
Home Farm Apartments
Home Farm Apartments
#12 of 26 in Portree
15 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#4 of 6 in Portree
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwards

Address: 24 / 25 Borve, Portree IV51 9PE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westwards Bed & Breakfast is situated less than five minutes drive from picturesque Portree the capital of the Isle of Skye and is a comfortable non-smoking modern and spacious house set in a large garden with panoramic views that offers the opportunity for guests to relax and unwind in peaceful and comfortable surroundings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Westwards Portree, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing