We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B”
Review of Tor-nan-Gillean

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tor-nan-Gillean
Ranked #70 of 97 Portree B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

All Rooms are well-furnished. Breakfast is healthy and excellent! There is plenty of fruits for you to choose! Flowers and nice furnitures make you feel at home. The sitting room has good sea views.
The location is good (3 min walk to town center)
Strongly recommend !

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YuanXu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2013

The host was very welcoming and the room was very comfortable. About a 8-10 minute walk into town, at most. Most impressive was the generous breakfast with fruit, yogurt, complete Scottish breakfast, coffee, juice, etc. but especially the gluten free toast, which is a rare thing for me to get for breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Friendodot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Welcoming host and hostess, dropped us back in town for dinner as it was late and thought it was "so far." Reassured it wasn't far, the walk back was short, sweet. Lovely, quiet place, nice loch view, great breakfasts.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Del P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed here in the middle of July, while on a 3-day Rabbies tour (they booked it for us). Christine, the landlady was so friendly and welcoming. The rooms were spotless and cozy. At breakfast, you have PLENTY of things to choose from: cereal, yogurt with fruit, toast, bacon, coffee/tea... it was excellent. The centre of Portree is approximately a short, 10-minute walk away. All in all, an amazing B&B experience. Thank you, Christine!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gargoyle416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The B&B is very quiet at night, the carpets and rooms do a good job at absorbing sound. There was lotion and hand soap in the bathroom, and nice tray with tea making supplies in the room.
The one thing I did not like was that there was no obvious ventilation fan in the bathroom which is a big pet peeve of mine-I hate a humid bathroom- but the wet towels were completely changed out with fresh ones the next morning, which was very nice.
The breakfast was ample, with yogurt, fresh fruit, toast, cereals, and a full cooked Scottish breakfast to order. You also have use of a sitting room next the breakfast room if you do not want to just hang out in your room. The walk into town is only about 5 -10 minutes, very close. I would much rather stay on this side of the harbor. We did our laundry in the yellow hostel (our hostess gave us the tip and directions) and it was very close, inexpensive, and convenient. The young man at the front desk in the hostel was super nice and helpful too.
Staying here is just like staying at a real house.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank book78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

My wife and i were booked at the Tor-nan-Gillean cottage for two nights whilst on a Rabbies 3-day tour of the Isle of Skye from 9 to 11 April 2012, The place location off the main road is just ideal. It has lovely sea views, has all the facilities, and is just a short walk from Portree centre. Christine was the perfect hostess and the breakfast she served exceeded all our expectations. Thank you Christine. You'll see us again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights while touring the Highlands. From the moment we arrived Christine made us very welcome. The room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious and freshly cooked to order. The view from the garden was lovely and the centre of Portree is 5 minutes by car. We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank annbobSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portree hotels
0.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,098 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#4 of 6 in Portree
63 reviews
0.3 mi away
Portree Youth Hostel
Portree Youth Hostel
#8 of 25 in Portree
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Home Farm Apartments
Home Farm Apartments
#12 of 25 in Portree
15 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tor-nan-Gillean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tor-nan-Gillean

Address: Tor Nan Gillean Viewfield Road, Portree IV51 9ES, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Tor-Nan-Gillean Portree, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing