We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in Portree”
Review of Tor-nan-Gillean

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tor-nan-Gillean
Ranked #68 of 97 Portree B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed in a double room on the ground floor with ensuite for two nights, which was organised as part of a tour. We would recommend anyone going to Skye to use this B&B if there is room. The breakfast was to die for - such choice including fresh berries, and oatcakes that were great, as well as the cooked breakfast and cereals. Christine and her husband were very friendly, and went the extra mile - even driving us into town on the first evening that we stayed. The room was exceptionally clean with coffee/tea making facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheresaB788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

The room is comfortable, very clean, great toilet, hot shower, bed very comfortable. Good breakfast. It is situated near town, just 5 minutes walking. My room had a view for the sea. It is a pearl in the sky.

Room Tip: May room was on the first floor. It was very quiet and with a great view for the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlaCFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour. My room was on the 2nd floor and has a skylight window the looked out into the sea. Coffee, tea and cookies was provided in the room. The bed was super comfortable, warm and cosy. The ensuite shower was hot and strong. Although you would need to bring your own shampoo as it is not provided. A cooked breakfast of bacon, sausages, eggs plus cheese, toast, cereal, juice and fruit is provided daily. I washed some clothes in my room and hanged them on hangers. When I retuned, I found them all on a rack outside my room and dry....a really sweet and thoughtfully gesture. It was about a 10-minute walk from the main town center. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
Thank Drew_X79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We were very fortunate that Mrs. MacDougall was able to put us up!!! This lady did an excellent job ! I can really advise everyone visiting Skye to stay in this bed and breakfast.
We had a room with a fantastic view over Portree Bay and this was only five minutes from the heart of Portree! Bedroom, breakfast were impeccable!!!! Thanks again for the marvellous stay!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johanvanbesien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Rooms were excellent with all facilities. Breakfast was healthy and our room had sea view. Nice place to stay in Portree!! Thanks to Rabbies tours for arranging accommodation at this place. Room was serviced everyday. It was close to the city centre too!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RagRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

All Rooms are well-furnished. Breakfast is healthy and excellent! There is plenty of fruits for you to choose! Flowers and nice furnitures make you feel at home. The sitting room has good sea views.
The location is good (3 min walk to town center)
Strongly recommend !

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YuanXu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

The host was very welcoming and the room was very comfortable. About a 8-10 minute walk into town, at most. Most impressive was the generous breakfast with fruit, yogurt, complete Scottish breakfast, coffee, juice, etc. but especially the gluten free toast, which is a rare thing for me to get for breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Friendodot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portree hotels
0.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Portree Youth Hostel
Portree Youth Hostel
#8 of 25 in Portree
96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#4 of 6 in Portree
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coolin View Guest House
Coolin View Guest House
#12 of 97 in Portree
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tor-nan-Gillean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tor-nan-Gillean

Address: Tor Nan Gillean Viewfield Road, Portree IV51 9ES, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Tor-Nan-Gillean Portree, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing