We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dunborrodale Guest House
Ranked #65 of 91 Portree B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Have just spend two nights at Dunborrodale and cannot recommend it highly enough. The landlady was extremely welcoming and keeps her guesthouse spotlessly clean. I think we had the best room in the house with amazing views over Portree bay. The location is perfect with a 5 to 10 minute walk into the centre of Portree. The breakfasts were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Skye is a stunningly beautiful place to visit and we were blessed with glorious weather and saw it at its very best (without midges!!!) I will certainly be a guest at Dunborrodale again in teh future

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    23
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poway, California, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We enjoyed our 2 night stay at Dunborrodale Guest House very much. Robina was very kind, even though we didn't ring the doorbell before we walked in (oops!) The room, as well as the entire house is spotless. The location is great...just a short walk away from the city center. Robina offered us some information on a few places to go for dinner. Breakfast is from 8am - 8:30am, which may seem early to some, but fit our schedule perfectly. It was delicious. We hope to come back to Portree some day soon and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with our hosts, Robina and Ewen MacDonald at Dunborrodale. Their home is well situated in Portree on the Isle of Skye, easy walking distance from restaurants and sites to visit in this great location. Our accommodations were spotless, very comfortable, and afforded a great view of the Sound of Raasay. Our hosts were friendly and happy to provide guidance tomake the most of our stay. A fine choice!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayakers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

A very nice b&b. lovely views, very nice breakfast, good bed and shower. very friendly. It is located north of the city centre. But everything is still in walking distance.
Would recommend to stay here.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank smeatontower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Stayed here in late March, 2013 after flying into Glasgow and touring the Highlands and Skye. Wouldn't have found the bed and breakfast as it is a little out of the way, but we had stopped in at another B&B who couldn't fit us in and showed us the way to Dunborrodale. Travelling as 3 adults, (my parents and I) we needed two beds and this B&B had a room with a double bed and a single with an ensuite. It was beautifully kept and clean with a television and free wifi which I appreciated. Got a good restaurant recommendation and had great breakfast in the morning.

Room Tip: Make sure you have cash, as no cards are accepted!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melliebee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed here for one night although we would of loved to have stayed two. The owner was very helpful and contacted a friend of hers for us to stay with the next night. Very hospitable and amazing breakfast. We woke to our first ever vision of fresh snow! Beautiful views!! The hosts were very helpful in giving us tips on what to see on Skye.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll,Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed here for anight in October and found it to be nice and clean and not too far from the town centre. On a nice evening it would be wallkable but if rain about the car would be a better option. The outside and garden are very well kept and the conservatory is a good size with very comfortable sofas.The owners were very pleasant and breakfast tasty.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
0.3 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portree Youth Hostel
Portree Youth Hostel
#5 of 20 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coolin View Guest House
Coolin View Guest House
#14 of 91 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Tongadale Hotel
The Tongadale Hotel
#48 of 91 in Portree
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Conusg Bed and Breakfast
Conusg Bed and Breakfast
#32 of 91 in Portree
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Sea View House
#11 of 12 in Staffin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunborrodale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunborrodale Guest House

Property: Dunborrodale Guest House
Address: Budhmor Place, Portree IV51 9DJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Dunborrodale Guest House Portree, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing