We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanderful Experience”
Review of Seaforth Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaforth Cottage
Ranked #26 of 92 Portree B&B and Inns
1 review
“Wanderful Experience”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The view is superb. The owner is very friendly and welcoming. We stayed during peak Easter period with 2 kids. Kids loved the place. Breakfast was delicious. I would definitely recommend this place...

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ilter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    9
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
68
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed with Ian in the Seaforth Cottage for two GREAT nights . We had the most wonderful FUL Scottish breakfast which was marvelously prepared by Ian, who is the dearest and mos friendliest of all the B & B hosts we have ever encountered. There is a wonderful view to the harbor. Our room was spacious, an external heater was available, making the room warmer. For the first time in Scotland I was not freezing. Great WIFI charming host, great selection of Teas and biscuits we wish we could stay for longer. highly recommend this lodging for future travels. 5 stars Ian

Room Tip: Super clean and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John41400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stopped over in Portree after a long days drive to break up the onward journey to the Outer Hebrides. Our host Ian offered a choice of rooms and couldn't have been more helpful. The room was excellent with all mod cons including WiFi, satellite TV, plenty sockets to plug in gadgets, and quality en-suite facilities. It was a cozy warm stay with a hearty breakfast in the morning to help continue the journey. Seaforth sits on the shore with great views from the rooms. It is also centrally located and only 5-10mins walk from the centre of Portree and the harbour.
Highly recommended if you are looking for great quality and value for money accommodation to explore Skye from Portree.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have great views over the sea loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noregular-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed in the Seaforth Cottage for two wonderful nights and no less wonderful mornings. What could be better than eating a full Scottish breakfast marvelously prepared by Ian, who is the warmest and the friendliest of all hosts, with a view to the harbour where the seals are playing?

The room was spacious and Ian took care of putting an external heater into it (and even turning it on in the evenings to make the room warmer for me!). For the first time in Scotland I was not freezing.

I wish I could stay for longer and I will be definitely coming back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malunya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We, a group of 9 adults and a 1 kid, stayed in Seaforth for 1 night. All I can say is that the place is excellent and with outstanding service provided by Mr.MacKinnon. I would highly recommend this place. You get excellent view of the Portree bay. Mr.MacKinnon was kind enough to provide us three rooms and also the self-catering cottage and all of these at a very competitive price. The place has private parking space, the breakfast was good and we wanted to start early and Mr.MacKinnon said that breakfast would be ready any time that we wanted. He also allowed us to use his kitchen. Final verdict - I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The self-catering cottage is a value for money proposition and I would highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amazingroadracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I stayed in Seaforth Cottage recently, in a tour with Rabbies. The experience was simply amazing and the word perfect is what can fully describe this specific B&B. The room was amazing, with incredible view. It was very clean, with warm and cozy linens and blankets and contained everything we needed (even a hair dryer). Mr MacKinnon gave us a friendly welcome, was very kind and offered to drive us to the city centre whenever we wanted. There was always a table with various flavors of tea, milk and some sweets for the customers to be treated. The breakfast was delicious. We were offered a filling dish of all the scottish goodies (eggs, bacon, potato scones, haggis, black padding and of course the delicious mushrooms). Apart from this dish we had a variety of milk, juice, cereal, yogurts etc to choose from. Everything was absolutely PERFECT! And all these facilites were provided in a very reasonable and affordable price. If I ever make it to the Isle of Skye again, I will go to this B&B without second thought. Thank you Mr MacKinnon for everything. It was the best place I've ever lived in during holidays.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GiotaKesidou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This is my first time to visit Skye. At the beginning, I worried about accommodation's quality, but in fact, it exceeded my expectation!! Ian is very kindness and thoughtful, he provided a lovely room for me, it's comfortable and cozy and has wifi and lots of socket. In addition, the best thing is when I got up and the most beautiful scenery just in front of me! I still remember the delicious breakfast and I really want to go to Skye and stay there again!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gwen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portree hotels
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#6 of 6 in Portree
437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,039 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coolin View Guest House
Coolin View Guest House
#12 of 92 in Portree
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 92 in Portree
230 reviews
1.5 mi away
Peinmore House by Portree
Peinmore House by Portree
#21 of 92 in Portree
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portree Youth Hostel
Portree Youth Hostel
#7 of 21 in Portree
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaforth Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaforth Cottage

Property: Seaforth Cottage
Address: Seaforth Cottage Viewfield Road, Portree IV51 9ES, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Seaforth Cottage Portree, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing