We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B&B ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rowan Tree Cottage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rowan Tree Cottage B&B
Ranked #11 of 99 Portree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best B&B ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

This stay at the Rowan Tree Cottage was the best B&B experience ever, it's like staying at home. Everything is perfectly arranged and supported by Alan. The room is so cosy. The view especially at the breakfast table is spectacular. We will come back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralf02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
88
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Rowan Tree Cottage is the best place I have ever stayed on any trip. Everything about it was beautiful, the bed was extremely comfortable, and everything was spotlessly clean. The separate shower and bathtub in the bathroom was really nice and the bathroom always smelled wonderful. Alan went above and beyond to be an excellent host. The breakfasts he cooked were huge and the bread and jams were all homemade. He catered to us being vegetarians without us even requesting (we simply asked for meat to be omitted and he immediately offered us vegetarian sausage in its place, which was greatly appreciated.) He supplied us with maps and travel guides and offered lots of helpful advice to make the most of our short stay, as well as offering to lend us items we forgot to bring with us. The view out the window in the breakfast room was spectacular and Alan has turned his yard into a bird haven so if the scenery wasn't enough, there was also a constant stream of birds to watch while you eat, which was quite lovely. We loved every minute of our time here; if we lived closer we'd come back every year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Rowan Tree Cottage was the best B & B during our recent trip to Scotland, and exceeded expectations. Our host, Alan, was very helpful, kind and informative in answering all of our travel questions. His cottage is tranquil, beautifully appointed, and thoughtfully organized to attend to every detail with several luxurious additions and touches. The setting is beautiful, with a view of the hills, verdant countryside and sea. Having only one guest room Rowan Tree cottage offers peace to his guests, but is still close to Portree, a busy tourist town. Look no further!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We prefer B&Bs to any other lodging, and this one tops our list. We felt like family during our week in Alan's home. He provided expert guidance to Skye, packed snacks for our walks, and set out what we Southerners call a "groaner" of a breakfast. The B&B has the single finest view I have encountered in a lodging, and the room was quiet, spotless, and large. Alan was attentive to every single detail during our time with him. We plan to return. My wife has never slept better in a B&B.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OlVirginny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was our first trip to Skye and staying at Rowan Tree Cottage only made it better! Skye of course is beautiful - but the experience of staying here just enhanced it. Alan, the host, is great - meticulous and very organized. The breakfasts were a delight with lots of home-made goodies. The room was clean and spacious - the bed comfortable. The location was just right - a little further out from Portree but gave us plenty of opportunity to get to great views and a nice quiet peaceful environment.

I highly recommend Rowan Tree Cottage. Hope to visit again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chsricha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This was my 1st visit to Skye and I was not disappointed. Our stay at the Rowan Tree Cottage was everything and more anyone could ask for, from the gorgeous bedroom, breathtaking scenery and not forgetting our fabulous host Alan. The attention to detail made this trip that little bit more special. Alan's fantastic breakfasts together with his expert knowledge of the area, complimentary drinks on arrival and his delicious lemon cake & homemade jams (mum loved them Alan!) added to one of the best experiences ever.
Alan you are fantastic, we will deffinately be back!
A must stay for anyone wanting to experience Skye!
Thank you Alan for your hospitality, Cathy & John x

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Rowan Tree. The room is impeccably clean, and every detail is thoughtfully considered. It's on a pretty lane in the country, overlooking the water, a great location. Portree is only minutes away for restaurants, etc. Probably the most relaxing nights in our 2-week stay in Scotland. Alan is a wonderful host, enjoyed his company and stories. Breakfasts are superb. You'll enjoy your stay here!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZonaDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
6.1 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
6.0 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
6.1 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
5.7 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 99 in Portree
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowan Tree Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowan Tree Cottage B&B

Property: Rowan Tree Cottage B&B
Address: 7 Achnahannaid | The Braes, Portree IV51 9LH, Scotland (Formerly Rowan Tree Cottage)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Original 1903 Croft Cottage set in one acre of private grounds. Enjoy breathtaking sea and mountain views over a freshly cooked breakfast, Large, comfortable Double/Twin Room with period decoration and furnishings; adjoining modern spacious private bathroom with a shower and a separate bath. Only 5 miles from Portree. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rowan Tree Cottage B&B Portree, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing