We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel at Isle of Skyes”
Review of Caladh Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caladh Guest House
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Difficult to locate on GPS... Very far off from the city...
Rooms were average and had to wait for the rooms to get arranged... We had to go far off to have food of our choice...
Would have expected better hospitality and service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DhingraAmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

Booked Educere Retreat Center for an overnight stay to attend a funeral in Skye. The bedroom was so basic and dated. Not very clean or welcoming.The walls are paper thin so be warned. The owner was very friendly and showed us round. He explained that we could use the kitchen if we required. Tea and coffee etc was supplied. The grounds need a big tidy up and the smell from the nearby septic tank was overpowering while walking around outside. The breakfast was fresh and acceptable. The Island was busy and accommodation was in short supply so I was a place to put our head down after a long drive but I could not recommend it for an extended stay.

Room Tip: Stay if nothing else is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robinsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We booked online a room at this "B&B", as we wanted a base to visit the Isle of Skye. Unfortunately, we were really unsatisfied when we left because of multiple reasons.

As soon as we entered the front door to access the reception, we had the feeling to be in a hostel more than a B&B. We kept this feeling until the end of the stay. We met a lovely guy at the reception, who kindly showed us the room and gave us advices on what to see around. This was probably the only positive experience of our stay.

The room was small and fairly clean. The garden view was more of a fence view, however I have to say other rooms had probably better views of the bay. Breakfast was way below average, especially for the price we paid. Glasses were dirty and I literally had to look at more than 5 to find a clean one.

As other people mentioned, we paid £75 to stay in this hostel, whilst for the same price we got to stay in lovely, welcoming, well-located and comfortable B&B throughout Scotland. Also, I'm pretty sure this is not the kind of atmosphere you think of when booking a B&B in the UK - atmosphere that we had the luck of enjoying while staying in other accommodation. I think a label of hostel would be fairer to who is booking.

I wouldn't recommend it to a friend.

Room Tip: If you can't avoid going here, book a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LorenzoReffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

At the beginning, I chose this little B&B only because it was the only one had 2rooms available during a busy weekend in August. The photos of the property were not very attractive so we did not have much expectation on this B&B.

However, we were surprised when we arrived: the big windows in the living room /common room and its view was astonishing! All rooms are en-suite, which hasn't mentioned in its booking website, and clean. The owner is very friendly and helpful.

Its breakfast is one of the most delicious we had in our 3-week Scotland and England trip! A big thump up to the cook!

Room Tip: it would be even better if you can get one of its sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YPA_Li
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We booked this place last minute as we'd been staying on the mainland and decided on a trip to Skye whilst there - rather than rush to do everything in a day we booked an overnight stay and from the pictures on laterooms the centre looked fine.

I don't like to be negative, and if there were an option between poor and average then I would pick that. It wasn't that the place was appalling, we wouldn't have stayed if it was, but it was just far too expensive for the standard of accommodation. Perhaps the cost was higher as we booked late, but I think £75 is far too much to pay in this case. Had we paid £40-£50 I would not have been quite so disappointed. Room details suggested 'garden view' which turned out to be a hedge. I realise that as a late booker we may not have got one of the best rooms...

The B&B is more like a hostel, with shared lounge/kitchen facilities. The room was OK - small (not really a problem to be honest), but seemed fairly clean apart from a little mould in the en-suite window area. The walls are paper-thin and we could hear the people next door using the loo... Luckily I had ear plugs with me.

The staff seemed really lovely and were the saving grace of the centre. They were welcoming, friendly and polite and they did make the place feel more homely.

Breakfast was not great considering the price paid for B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anglogermancouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We arrived here quite weary in the evening after a long journey, and we were greeted my a jovial person called Mark. He was very attentive, and could not of been more helpful. He explained where it would be possible to eat, and also showed us around the house, which has the most amazing lounge area, with a view over the Loch to die for.

The rooms all en suite, were quiet, comfortable, and clean, and breakfast in the morning was ideal. This set us up for the journey ahead.

I would just like to thank everyone at Origin for such a wonderful stay and wish all B&B's were as relaxed and attentive as yours.

Well Done. !!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eastlodge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

+ Budget hostel with modern private bathrooms. + Very good breakfast. + Great hospitality. - Small rooms but comfortable shared living room (see picture). - A bit hard to find at night (7 miles from Portree): consider loading the coordinates in your GPS.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean-Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
6.2 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,084 reviews
5.3 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
193 reviews
6.2 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Clachamish House
Clachamish House
#3 of 23 in Portree
41 reviews
6.1 mi away
Conusg Bed and Breakfast
Conusg Bed and Breakfast
#33 of 95 in Portree
68 reviews
7.3 mi away
Canowindra B&B
Canowindra B&B
#6 of 95 in Portree
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caladh Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caladh Guest House

Address: Caldah, Portree IV51 9XE, Scotland (Formerly Origin Educere Retreat Centre)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Portree
Price Range: £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Caladh Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offers both traditional bed and breakfast as well as holistic, spiritual and meditation retreats. Overlooking the majestic Loch Snizort in the magical Isle of Skye in Scotland, this a beautiful location for anyone looking to take time out from the humdrum of everyday modern life. Our very friendly staff will make sure your stay is with us is as pleasant as your surrounds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caladh Guest House Portree, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing