We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but decent enough” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosedale Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rosedale Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Portree
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Basic but decent enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on a biking trip on Skye. The parking and access to the hotel is limited but expected as it is located down by the old harbour. There was no secure facility to keep our mountain bikes so we had to chain them to the railings outside in the street. Friendly (but sparsely available in the evening!) staff, breakfast served upstairs in the small dining area. The food was reasonable but the menu could have been improved with more variation. All in an average nights stay in a central location in Portree.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    108
    54
    13
    6
See reviews for
30
147
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Very brief review first class place . Turned up soaking wet on are motercycle & we were treated first class . We were greated by great staff very friendly. We were aloud to change in a spare room then they dried all our clothes & even put them in our room . Room was great food was great staff first class

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, South Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We were at Rosedale for 2 nights with a Rabbies tour. Staff was wonderful. As others have mentioned, it is a warren of hallways and stairs, some of which are difficult to manage. One of us had a good view and she loved her room. Our other 2 were on the alley with noise and people walking immediately next to the window. Rooms were tiny. Restaurant was shockingly good! Wonderful presentation of thoughtfully prepared food. We ate there both nights. My big complaint is that the carpets are old, worn and dirty. My room smelled of mildew. If I were the owner replacing the carpets would be highest priority. Otherwise, great place and we enjoyed it a lot.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PeggyB3719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I spent 2 nights here with a Rabbies tour and was pleasantly surprised at the nice accommodations - I wasn't sure what a small B&B in Portree would be like.

Pros:
- Great location right on the harbor
- Very friendly & helpful staff
- Very good breakfast included (try the seafood plate if you like fish)
- Room was good sized

Cons:
- No elevator and lots of narrow stairways, so hard to maneuver bags if you're upstairs
- Beds and pillows were not very comfortable (too hard)
- Hot water in shower could be a little unpredictable

I would stay here again if I returned to Portree.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the harbor if you can, the view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aw511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochwinnoch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Had avery enjoyable stay at the Rosedale. Beautiful view looking onto Portree harbour.Food was very good and staff very helpful and friendly.Would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to going back in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
154 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Nice hotel at a perfect location overlooking the bay, if you have seaview. Many small corridors but charming room and a very nice restaurant, probably the best in town. The bar or lounge is inside a a little dark

Room Tip: Seaview is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank palle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. The hotel was booked by Rabbies Trail Blazers. I had joined their 3D2N Island of Skye Adventure.

Location:
The hotel is facing the Portree Harbour and the view from my room was excellent. The views from the rooms are excellent.

Hotel Appearance:
The hotel looks old and dated from the outside but it reminds me of an old well mantained House I would see from "Mr Bean"... There are lots of staircases and the ceilings are low. It feels like an adventure just dragging your luggage from the reception to your room.
We were offered a glass of whiskey or sherry which I politely refused.

Rooms:
The room I got (room 22) was on the top floor and had an amazing view of the harbour. The beds were very comfortable. There was no wifi signal in the room. There was a water boiler with coffee and tea available. The tV was not working but I could not be bothered. The toilet was clean and it looked newly renovated.

Breakfast:
Breakfast was surprisingly good compared to other 3 star hotels I had stayed at before. There was a spread of cereals, juices available. A bread basket was placed on my table and jam and butter were made available. I was given 3 choices: Ham and cheese or fruits or a cold seafood platter. The seafood platter was surprisngly nice and coffee was good. No complaints about that.

Overall:
The hotel has a homely and nice feel and there were nice touches like hot water bottles in the cupboard. Do not expect 5 star service but if you lower your expectations a bit, you might just be surprised.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edmundyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
0.4 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portree
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
10.9 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
23.6 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosedale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedale Hotel

Property: Rosedale Hotel
Address: Beaumont Crescent, Portree IV51 9DF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Rosedale Hotel Portree, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing