We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service awesome view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portree
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great service awesome view”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We called in on off chance of getting a bed for a couple of nights. Lady at reception was very helpful. We were really pleasantly surprised when we got to room to find it spacious, well appointed and very comfortable.

Had dinner at night and staff were most obliging and friendly and meal was of a good standard. View from restaurant was stunning back towards the harbour at Portree. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: You don't need the room with the views. The others are just as good and cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stylezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    316
    98
    39
    24
See reviews for
138
635
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
197 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Can't say enough about the views from this place. Whether in our front facing room, the restaurant or the front lawn, it was simply beautiful. Been in UK for three weeks and this has been the best room by far. Spacious in every way. Bathroom, too.

The food in the restaurant was good, and the service very good.

There is a very relaxing common area that is nicely appointed. Would come back here in a heart beat.

Service has been superb. When we arrived early, the housekeeper worked feverishly to finish up cleaning the room for us. Entire staff has been most helpful.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beachdeac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Scotland is a destination where you relish staying in the B&B culture. But if there is one hotel that you gotta stay in - Its this one. They have about 30 rooms and are located on top of a scenic hill just 5 min from the town centre of Portree. The view from the hotel and the lawns is breathtakingly beautiful. The hotel has been done up with a lot of grandeur and style and they have a lounge, bar, and dining area. The Dining restaurant with a view of the Lake and the harbour is popular with tourists and they have an elaborate menu. The rooms are done up tastefully and the quality of the drapery and linen is excellent. They have a well stocked bar with over 100 malts so you can sample all your favorites here. The breakfast was well laid out and the ladies in the dining section are delightful to chat with. A special mention for Donella who was very helpful when my wife injured her foot on a hiking trail. She was kind enough to have our dinner sent to our room and also arrange for ice. Book in advance and get a room facing the harbour. You gotta splurge once on your holiday and this is the place. You would enjoy sitting in the lawns and just gaping at the view...Go for it

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the harbor...Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashparti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotels location is stunning, really can't fault it;s location or how the gardens were liad out. the hotel itself is nice enough and the rooms themselves are adequate but my gripe is that for the asking price, I was expecting something slightly fancier. We paid extra for the sea view and I am really glad we did, the extra was worth it to wake up with a view out over the water. I couldn't imagine staying there and having to look out the back onto the car park.

I also have to commend the staff who were very helpful, especially the night porter who was both very helpful and very insightful when it came to selecting a tipple of whisky.

Room Tip: Ask or pay for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beef-Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Most of the reviews I've make this place sound like the Garden of Eden meets the Four Seasons, and that is why I decided to stay here.

Cuillin Hills is a decent hotel, in a beautiful part of the world. But in my experience and opinion, it deserves nowhere near the prices they charge.

I recently stayed here for three nights. My $300+ dollar a night room had tattered drapes, a bed with an old, lumpy, and uncomfortable mattress. Maids who didn't replace the regular (instant) coffee, creamer, or shortbread after the first night...oh, and a lovely view of the carpark, even though my reservation clearly stated "Premier Room Sea View" (I was told that if you book online, they don't guaranteee that your "Premier Room Sea View" actually has a sea view). Really??

The room was large, but tired. The wifi in the room was slow and spotty. The water pipes make an irritating moaning noise whenever someone in another room decides to shower.

About the only positive I can say is that the breakfasts were substantial and the breakfast staff was for the most part pleasant and helpful. Much more than I can say for the front desk, who seemed to do their best to ignore you if you weren't checking in or out.

Skye is a beautiful place and definitely worth visiting. But when I go back, I will not be staying at the Cuillin Hills...nor will I recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Best to book directly with the hotel if you want one of their "Premier Rooms" with a sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked at Cuillin Hills because all budget accommodation had gone in Portree. What a lovely experience. We stayed in many very nice budget B&B's and hotels in our tour of England, Ireland and Scotland, and the step up in hotel standards - commensurate with its higher star rating, was very noticeable. For instance, underfloor heating, very large bath towels warming on a heated towel rack, the large and spacious bed room - cosy and warm, the elegant bathroom, the delightful lounge, a dining room with sweeping views of Portree, the delicious food and hot chocolate. Service was friendly and highly professional. We felt cocooned in luxury. Highly recommended. Treat yourself.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leoni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our group splurged to stay here while on Skye. What a delight from service to beautiful rooms and views, and food too. Skye is a wonderful Isle to visit for anyone, but especially hikers and romantics, with Dunvegan another site not to miss. But staying in Portree is the best home base, and this hotel is the tops.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pnpontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
23.6 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
0.3 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
14.9 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
17.4 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuillin Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuillin Hills Hotel

Property: Cuillin Hills Hotel
Address: Scorrybreac Road, Portree IV51 9QU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cuillin Hills Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cuillin Hills Hotel overlooks the capital town of Portree, on the Isle of Skye. The hotel is the recognised highest rated hotel on the island for quality and is classed as a four star deluxe hotel. The Cuillin Hills Hotel has a lounge bar, a Malt Embassy offering more than 130 Malt Whiskies, The View Restaurant with fantastic views from every table. Bedrooms are all en-suite, many offering superb mountain and sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cuillin Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuillin Hills Hotel Portree, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing