We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel with Fantastic Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portree
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel with Fantastic Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is a very good hotel in a wonderful location. We stayed here for 3 nights in July and enjoyed our stay very much, in spite of a few minor issues. We had chosen a Cuillins room which cost more but guaranteed the amazing view over Portree harbour to the Cuillins in the distance (when the rain and mist allowed us to see them). The room was large, airy and beautifully furnished with a large four-poster bed and a double window for the view. The en-suite was modern and well appointed, but the shower was in a large corner bath which was not good, especially as the water pressure was poor so that the flow fell on the seat of the bath, not the body. (The on/off control was awaiting a replacement part which might resolve the problem?)
We were on a bed and breakfast package and breakfast was very good, served in the View restaurant which has the wonderful view to the Cuillins. There was the usual cold buffet, while hot food was prepared fresh to order - the eggs benedict was excellent. Dinner is in the same setting and on two nights was very good with excellent service, but on our first night was very slow for which we received an apology and some free drinks.
If you like whisky (we don't) there was an amazing array of different brands in the bar from which to choose, and in our room there were 2 small complimentary bottles. Also we had a gift of selected items from the local soap maker - both nice touches from what felt like a caring hotel. All the staff were friendly and helpful, especially the receptionist who showed us our room and the duty manager who served us at dinner. Unfortunately our account was not accurate as one meal had been charged twice - this an area where a lot of good hotels fall down.
We will stay here again when we return to Skye.

Room Tip: We were in Room 21 which was expensive but had the best view. Get a room with a view if at all possi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    306
    97
    37
    23
See reviews for
134
621
25
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

View over the bay, amazing range of Scotches, brilliant skies...we were lucky to be able to extend our stay. Far enough away from town to feel like we were on a country estate but close enough to easily walk to town. Many nice walks around the property. Youthful staff very helpful! One member arranged a terrific flight of obscure Scotches for us to try. Room elegant with a terrific view...admittedly an upscale space...but, off season, a worthwhile splurge. Very romantic!

Room Tip: Best views are from the, not surprisingly, more expensive rooms up front..although these can be nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here in room 3 for two nights on a Disney Adventure Tour. This hotel
was gorgeous, friendly and beautifully located. The restaurant was was delicious.
It was a quick walk to town and the views were gorgeous. We want to go back!

Room Tip: We had room 3 gorgeous view of the bay. The beds were super comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtanner8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Scallops starter & venison main lovely.
burger tasty but dry - chips yellow & flowery.
Service was a little flaky and varied between excellent and average

Young lady who showed us to our table was wonderful but
Would think twice about visiting again - disappointed.



  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicki N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Overlooking the beautiful gardens stretching down to the Bay, The View Restaurant is indeed aptly named.We had a very good meal of onion soup with an assortment of lovely bread rolls - very tasty! Our main course of beefburger, salad and fries was again most satisfactory.
Too full by that time for dessert! The service was wonderful. The hotel decor is beautiful and the ambience is just lovely. A very happy evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 995Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had a room at the front of the hotel, what a fantastic view. Very friendly staff good service. The food in the hotel breakfast and evening meal was a let down and I would only rate as average, but the prices aren't. The chief needs to step up a gear as this is the only part that let's this hotel down. I would go there again but would eat out in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DBLNorthantsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

What a fantastic hotel. We stayed for three nights recently and would loved to have stayed longer. Wonderful welcome and shown to our room. Lovely room, plenty of space, quality furniture and furnishings, comfortable bed, super bathroom with a good range of toiletries. Breakfasts were very good with plenty of choice and good service. We had dinner every night at the hotel and again there was plenty of choice and each meal was a delight. Loved the scallops, the duck, the lamb, loved everything! But the best was the panoramic view from the restaurant, looking straight at the Cuillin Hills. A stunning view every morning and especially the evening when the sun was going down. A wonderful stay, excellent staff and well worth every penny.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rich5749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
23.6 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
0.3 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
14.9 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
17.4 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuillin Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuillin Hills Hotel

Property: Cuillin Hills Hotel
Address: Scorrybreac Road, Portree IV51 9QU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cuillin Hills Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cuillin Hills Hotel overlooks the capital town of Portree, on the Isle of Skye. The hotel is the recognised highest rated hotel on the island for quality and is classed as a four star deluxe hotel. The Cuillin Hills Hotel has a lounge bar, a Malt Embassy offering more than 130 Malt Whiskies, The View Restaurant with fantastic views from every table. Bedrooms are all en-suite, many offering superb mountain and sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cuillin Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuillin Hills Hotel Portree, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing