We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Skye - Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portree
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2009

We went to the Cuillin Hills Hotel as part of our Golden Wedding Anniversary celebrations. One word comes to mind - Excellent ! From the moment that we booked the hotel to time we checked out , the service was superb. The hotel , the restaurant, our room, the lovely setting and wonderful views were all of the highest 4* quality. But special thanks to all the hotel staff who made our stay so enjoyable
- thanks for the card and chocs.
We are looking forward to our next visit -hopefully very soon

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,084)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

901 - 907 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2009

I was at this property in June and returned with my wife in September for our 32nd anniversary. I had written the hotel a note with a few requests and they came through on all accounts with flying colors. We had room 21 which has a fine few of the harbor and Portree. The restaurant provided excellent dining in a relaxed yet not stuffy manner. We stayed for three nights and would look forward to a return visit.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank AlwaysOnTheAirplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

What a great hotel. Wish it was nearer to Devon where we live so we could go and stay for a few days. The view from the hotel is wonderful. Food excellent and wine list very good with some reasonably priced wines as well as some of the "finest". Reception staff very helpful and efficient. Bedroms well furnished and decorated and a good size.
The breakfast orangery restaurant has a wonderful view and the main dinner restaurant large and comfortable. Cannot fault anything. Must be a wonderful hotel and setting for a wedding.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiniMx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

This was by far the most picturesque place we stayed on our trip to Scotland - the view from the front lawn, where you can sit for an evening cocktail, is incredible. The interior decor is very nicely done as well. The DBB (dinner, bed and breakfast) package we purchased, while not inexpensive, was well worth it - the food was great, though would recommend eating in the more casual bar area vs. the formal dining option. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone going to the Isle of Skye.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrabuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2009

Cuillin Hills hotel has one of the best views of any hotel we have stayed in - if you'd like that view from your room you pay a premium - we think it was worth it.
We stayed in Room 21 - big four poster bed, seating area, desk, free wi-fi, large bathroom; lovely local toiletries were a nice touch as was the small bottle of Talisker 10 year old. The decor is rather standard and we would have preferred a duvet to the sheet and blanket provided.
Breakfast was average but does have that view.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandEKew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Pluses
Gorgeous Outlook
Lovely food
Clean

Negatives
Saggy mattress, nasty blankets, heavy covers
Annoying low chairs in dining area

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TediWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

I don't often contribute reviews but Cuillin Hills prompted me to submit one. This is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in and I've visited a few! We booked a premier room overlooking the bay on a half board basis and it was well worth it. The views were stunning (yay, we got sunshine). The four-poster bed was so big we had three sets of pillows. The bathroom had double sinks and a corner bath with shower over. Being picky I would have preferred a seperate shower but it was a good size bathroom. The bedroom had all the usual fittings with an i-pod docking station and flatscreen tv and a really nice seating area for that view!. The food in the restaurant was fabulous and the service was attentive but not overly so. We had a canapes, which, on the evening we stayed were oysters then five courses including coffee and chocolate truffles. Everything was top quality and I wish we had booked a longer stay. We will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
0.3 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
398 reviews
23.6 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#5 of 6 in Portree
57 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
406 reviews
24.3 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuillin Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuillin Hills Hotel

Address: Scorrybreac Road, Portree IV51 9QU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Portree
Price Range: £119 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cuillin Hills Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cuillin Hills Hotel overlooks the capital town of Portree, on the Isle of Skye. The hotel is the recognised highest rated hotel on the island for quality and is classed as a four star deluxe hotel. The Cuillin Hills Hotel has a lounge bar, a Malt Embassy offering more than 130 Malt Whiskies, The View Restaurant with fantastic views from every table. Bedrooms are all en-suite, many offering superb mountain and sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cuillin Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuillin Hills Hotel Portree, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing