We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in Portree”
Review of Dunalasdair

Dunalasdair
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dunalasdair
Ranked #55 of 95 Portree B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This B&B is on the outskirts of Portree, £5 taxi to the centre or a 20 mins walk, we took the taxi! The rooms are clean, in excellent condition and the bathroom we had was lovely (with a rain shower head,large enough for 2!). The breakfast was excellent quality, obviously free range eggs , tasty Stornoway black pudding and lovely fresh fruit. At £60 a room B&B you would be hard pressed to find anything better. In our room you could clearly hear when the occupants of the neighbouring room got up at 0630 for their shower, our alarm was set for 0800 so a little annoying, plus the curtains could do with a thicker liner as the sun was very bright early on, probably shouldn't complain about the sun in Skye though! Well worth a stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear, less likely to get the morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LePatioDordogne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

My partner and I stayed at this excellent B&B on the 19th January. The room was immaculate, modern and well appointed. Breakfast was fabulous, tasty and plenty of it. We are frequent visitors to Portree and have often found in the past B&B's a bit hit and miss. Not anymore this is an excellent we "gem" to spend a few nights. Value for money astounding !!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

A wonderful place to stay, spotless, luxury rooms with great breakfast and a lovely host at a very reasonable price. We stayed an extra couple of nights rather than risk a let down elsewhere. The location isn't brilliant but portree is very small and you can walk or 2mins drive from one end of town to the other so we didn't find it a problem at all.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

What a fantastic place. Newly renovated and lovely furnished. Spotless clean.
We stayed there 2 nights, 5 adults, one baby. Our little one loved the fluffy clean carpet to scramble around. All rooms are at one floor, so she could keep track of us all the time. We loved to enjoy a glas of Whiskey or red wine in the lounge.
The breakfast was gorgeous! Healthy and good quality.
Overall you get a perfect package for a reasonable price!
If we ever come back to Skye, we will stay there again.
Thank you Christina!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ikarus78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Dunalasdair is very nice indeed - the rooms are furnished really nicely and the bathroom was big and had lovely fitting - wonderful overhead shower. The whole house was spotless! Breakfast was great - everythign cooked to order and plenty of choice. We certainly had our fill. Just a short drive to Portree, could walk it but not in the rain! Much better than staying in Portree as it is quite touristy and the hotels looked tired but were expensive. Defo a good option to stay here instead!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateandMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Felt instantly at home in spotlessly clean , warm Dunalasdair ". En suite bedrooms tastefully decorated with all modern amenities. Large very comfortable t.v. lounge, with excellent reception, at our disposal . Christina 's hearty breakfasts were special - great menu with many choices - all hot dishes cooked to order . Christina gave great recommendations for restaurants and sightseeing. A 15 -20 min.walk to town. 5 mins. by car. Taxi very cheap. Highly recommend Mr. and Mrs.Macrae's "Dunalasdair" and thank them for the hospitality shown to us .

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sa0ire2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I am very surprised that B&B is so underrated! They have been around for a long time and recently refurbished to very high standards. I found this B&B through tripadvisor but was very doubtful as it had almost no reviews at all (all the other higher rated B&Bs were either fully booked or out of our budget range). There were 3 of us so we took 2 rooms, both rooms were en-suite, spacious, very nicely decorated and fitted with TVs. 1 of the rooms even had a very large bathroom. The whole place was also spotlessly clean and we could see that they really went the extra mile to take care of every little detail. Owners were very pleasant. There was also a living room which was again, well-decorated and huge! Breakfast serving was absolutely generous - we were so spoilt for choice. Stayed there 2 nights and totally enjoyed it. The only thing was that the WIFI was not working while we were there. Also it is a less than 5mins drive from the centre of Portree which could be inconvenient if you don't have a car but we had a car and we thought this was a plus as we didn't need to worry about parking and it feels good to get away from the small centre for a breather. Most of the accommodation around the centre are slightly more expensive as well.

Their link: http://www.dunalasdair-skye.com/

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yumin89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portree hotels
0.0 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,084 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#5 of 6 in Portree
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Home Farm Apartments
Home Farm Apartments
#12 of 23 in Portree
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 95 in Portree
245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunalasdair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunalasdair

Address: Dunalister Cottage Dunalasdair, Portree IV51 9LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Dunalasdair Portree, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing