We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“"Heaven"”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Skye Croft

Skye Croft with unspoilt views over Loch Snizort and beyond to the Minch and the mountains of Harris
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Skye Croft with unspoilt views over Loch Snizort and beyond to the Minch and the mountains of Harris
Inside your Skye Croft The cosy bedroom area, complete with alarm clock (should you need one) and MP3 attachment so you can
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Skye Croft with unspoilt views over Loch Snizort and beyond to the Minch and the mountains of Harris
Inside your Skye Croft
The cosy bedroom area, complete with alarm clock (should you need one) and MP3 attachment so you can
Modern kitchen area with everything you should need if eating in
Dining with a view of the garden and shorefront
A clean contemporary bathroom complete with underfloor heating
Snuggle up by the log burner in our cosy livingroom
Private parking and entrance to your holiday croft
A great little getaway
Stunning nature
Seals and cormorants enjoying some summer sunshine
Grill Kota BBQ Hut at Skye Croft
A Heron feeding on the shorefront
Even stormy clouds bring photo opportunities
Make sure your camera batteries are ready for stunning sunsets at the croft
Red skies at sunset
Kilt Rock and the Mealt Falls
Portree only a short drive away
The Old Man of Storr
Uig Harbour with ferry links to the outer isles
Gail - your holiday accommodation owner
Guest photo on the waterfront at Skye Croft
Guest photo of sunset skies from Skye Croft
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
atill11
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“"Heaven"”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Title say's it all.
If you like the quiet life, off the beaten track then this is for you. Lovely little croft in a superb location, Ideal for a couple or single traveller. Second visit to the Croft and already booked to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eifionref...
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A little home from home!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

An excellent location with superb accommodation...as the sun shone all week it was even better than I'd hoped. Portree is only around 8 miles away...wi-fi access is available at the Aros centre.
The Croft is well furnished and equipped...even fishing gear is supplied...I actually caught a pollock off the headland a couple of hundred metres from the Croft (beginners' luck). A freezer or freezer compartment in a fridge would have been very useful though..as would a pedal-bin.
We have already booked 2 weeks for next year..I hope the weather is half as good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian F
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An excellent property in an idyllic location for a quiet holiday.”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If bird watching, seal spotting or just lazing around are your idea of a good holiday, look no further. The Croft is alongside Loch Treaslane, literally 50 yards away, with a heronry on the opposite bank of the loch. At the end of the promontory on which the Croft stands is a small island, used by seals for sunbathing in good weather or a rest from fishing if not. A regular visit from a buzzard (or was it a hen harrier?) on a daily basis was another bonus. The Croft provides an excellent base from which to explore the rest of Skye, if you can bear to be away for any length of time. The property was superbly fitted out with every convenience for a really comfortable break; compact but ideal for two people. Many thanks Gail!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickHough...
Haworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic small croft for two in an idyllic location”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Stunning location yards from the loch. Very well equipped and really cosy. Perfect for couples looking for a relaxing break. Seals. otters and plenty of birdlife. Just 7 miles north of Portree so really handy for Troternish and Dunvegan. Couldn't fault it at all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The week went too fast
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james f
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cosy”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Everything you need while remaining uncluttered, a lovely fire, quirky BBQ hut, loads of information, spotlessly clean, good appliances, well finished, warm and most of all an excellent location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the fire
Liked least: lack of wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossCulle...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you want a romantic getaway this is the place for you!!”
Reviewed 18 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I took my girlfriend up to Skye Croft for her birthday, she had no idea where we were going all she knew was that she had to pack some warm cloths as it is winter. When we got there she was amazed with the place and couldn't believe how lovely it was. I had seen the pictures myself before we had went but looks nicer in person and Gail our host couldn't of done more for us. The place was set for Christmas... Christmas trees and presents already set up for us arriving. Usually it would look quite tacky going some where with decorations but everything was perfect, couldn't of done a better job ourselves. If anyone is looking to get a remote romantic getaway, this is the place without a shadow of a doubt.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: We were there during a storm which made it all the much better that we couldn't do anything but sit in front of the log fireplace
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ems_25Gla...
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A luxurious gem tucked away in beautiful Skye”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I had the pleasure of staying here for 4 wonderful nights towards the end of November alongisde my husband. Although certain attractions and restaurants were already closed for winter, this did not detract from our experience in any way.

On arrival we were made to feel very welcome by a very inviting, cozy feeling croft. As we had a reasonably long journey we decided to get to work on building a fire and having our first meal in the BBQ kota hut, an experience like no other. It was beautifully cozy and we loved the twinkling candles to give it an amazing atmosphere.

We enjoyed a great sleep overnight and woke to find the temperature was pleasantly mild on our first and second days out exploring. On day one we went for beautiful walks around Fairy Glen and thereafter went to explore the surrounding area in the Quairing. After building up a healthy appetite that evening was spent enjoying amazing food at the Three Chimneys and then we returned to the croft for an evening in front of the fire.

The following day we decided to head to the Cullin hills again to explore as long as our legs would manage. The day after we were less fortunate weather wise so we decided to visit the Talisker whisky distillery which was offering a short tour, from there we enjoyed a nice lunch in the Old Inn and then paid a brief visit to Portree town centre to do a little Christmas shopping before heading back to the croft to explore the water nearby in search of local wildlife. We weren't disappointed when we spotted both a heron and a seal. The perfect end to the perfect short break away.

Gail the owner appears to have went out of her way to ensure that you have everything you need and more at her beautiful croft. It is well equipped and set in glorious and peaceful surroudnings, my only wish was that I could have stayed longer!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$115
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing