We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Cottage in a good location for Skye”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
The decorative hearth - no longer used as a fireplace.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jane T
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely Cottage in a good location for Skye”
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Thank you we had a lovely week at this cottage in Skye, really good location for traveling around the south area of the island, Well Equipped, good for Dogs, and plenty of room for a larger family, Kitchen a little dated but serviceable, Depends if you are planning eating out and there are some fantastic places to eat around the area, Would return again, thank you

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tessagodf...
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
1 review
“An attractive and very comfortable cottage in a beautiful spot.”
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I could live permanently in this cottage. It is spacious, comfortable, warm and well-equipped. Four of us lived happily in it for a week. It looks lovely from the outside as well as inside. It is one of several cottages dotted along a side-road which make up Borve, on the north side of the main road northwest of Portree. There are splendid views of surrounding fields and hills while the car journey into Portree takes only 10 minutes. Its central position is convenient for exploring the island by car.
I did not want to leave.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2017
Hi Tessa,
Thanks so much for your lovely review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pep D
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A wonderful retreat”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed for a full week and was pleasently surprised on our arrival how fabulous the location and more surprised how spacious the cottage was , it's a lovely family home with everything you need , really enjoyed it here and will defiantly return
Great location in a great setting

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
Thank you for the lovely review and great to hear you had a lovely stay at Glen Osdale! Please don't hesitate to get in touch if you ever do visit Skye again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaeliaMar...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Large house in a great location to explore Skye”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This is a very large, family home about 10 minutes from Portree.

The house is well stocked and was warm and welcoming. It was a great location for exploring the island, about 10 mins from Portree (where there is a large supermarket). We were very thankful for the OS Maps in the house which helped us plan our trip (we naively thought google maps would be sufficient!).

When trying to find it, there is a big sign saying "Glen Osdale" (as the house is behind another house) - follow that sign.

Thank you for letting us stay in your home, we loved Skye, loved the house and would definitely come again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RajAmster...
Bussy Saint Georges
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place but poor check in”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights. Cottage is really nice , neat and clean, decent size and equipped with a full kitchen. Had a very poor check in experience. The instruction for getting the keys were ambiguous and caused a lot of trouble after we reached. We called the number of housekeeper and owner mentioned in the instructions for check in that we received , but without any help. Luckily one of the neighbors helped us and connected us to the owner , who apologized for the trouble and helped us to get in. After this rather unplesent start, things got really better and better andn we had a great stay there. Car is must as the cottage is about 10 kms from Portree town. The cottage is meant for 6 persons but the kitchen does not have big size utensils.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2016
Hi Rajesh,

We're sorry for your check-in experience not being the best. It had worked for many years previously; however, based upon your experience we have decided to place a key safe at the property for future guests to use and to make it easier to find.

Thank you for your feedback, it has been really useful and has improved the service we are able to offer. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Thanks again,

Kath
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveskyEs
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A wonderful place!”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Amazing place! A wonderful home!
Very attentive managers who helped book the cottage, thank you
Katherine Smith , Fiona, Johnny !
We immediately found the house and keys, but the look was fun!
The house is spacious, in quiet location, comfortable beds, kitchen equipped with everything necessary. The only thing that was missing was a hair dryer, but this stuff.
Most importantly - we loved it and want to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
d0c1970
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect house and location”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a gorgeous house, well laid out, spacious accommodation and an idyllic setting. Located only 5 minutes drive from Portree, very quiet setting up in the hills, a perfect escape. Only two of us for such a big house, comfortably sleeping 6. Plenty of parking. Very well equipped kitchen. It was a perfect place to see the rest of the island from, very close to the local supermarket (Co-Op) and fantastic gluten free bakery (Isle of Skye Baking Company). Short drive to Portree, Dunvegan or Sligachen. Highly recommended and would definitely use again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing