We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Judge a book...”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Portree
Reviewed 30 November 2012

On my recent business trip away to Scotland I stayed at the above Hotel. As the title suggests I'd seen this Hotel on my previous trips and to be fair I thought it was a restaurant, and trying not to sound a snob a bit of a cheap restaurant at that. Let me explain. The restaurant has 2 sections, the first looks rather like a school dinner room, very clean but very functional looking too, then through this you enter the main dining area which also has the local bar there too, but quite pleasant nonetheless. I say this with an apology attached to it, as when i pulled up outside my heart did sink rather as i thought " oh no not this one". It was late and well I had no option. This is when it all changed. I have to admit the receptionist could have been a little more welcoming, she was helpful no question, but a spoonful of sugar wouldn't have a gone a miss, however I checked into Room 9 and although it was dark I could just make out the harbour so a promising view was on the cards the following morning, I had agreed to meet a work colleague for dinner at another restaurant, this turned out after walking from the car in horizontal rain to be closed. Serves him right I hear you cry!! Not completely wasted as the cellar bar downstairs was open and we had a pint with some smashing locals. Driving back to the Royal we got back in just after 9 to find the restaurant stopped serving food!! Dinner that night was salted peanuts and a few g&t's. By the time breakfast came i was starving. Breakfast was excellent in quantity, service and of course taste and served by a delightful older lady. So if your staying in Portree check out the Royal

Room Tip: If your planning on eating out and not in the Hotel restaurant. Be warned. RESTAURANTS DON'T ACC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank game_richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2012

Stayed for one night, Room 5 had a lovely view out over the Harbour. The room was very clean and satisfactory. Only had breakfast however this was delicious and served by a lovely lady. All staff we met were nice and helpful. A pleasant stay

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine_C268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed at the Royal Hotel 20th - 23rd October 2012. We stayed in room number 1. We had lovely views across the harbour. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean and the beds are really comfortable. We didnt eat in the hotel except from breakfast, which was excellent, very delicious. We ate in the Granary and the Isles Inn for dinner, both really good, one of us in vege and good for vegetarians. We travelled around Skye and the highlights were the Talisker distillery, Neist Point and the disused railway walk (see walking highlands.co.uk).

Room Tip: Room number 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClarinCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Stayed for two nights on a trip to the island. On arrival, there was a strange and unpleasant smell in our room. Reception staff were happy to arrange or a different room without delay and were assiduous in checking the new room was comfortable and suitable. Friendly staff at reception and very experienced and pleasant breakfast staff in the form of Joan.

Although the hotel itself is a little dated the hospitality is first rate.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSinc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Here for drinks only this time but know the hotel from old. The bar has a warmth & modern contemporary feel about it, but still suitably Scottish. A bit pricey comapred to the mainland but not relative to other similar bars in Portree

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gruthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Good location overlooking the bay, free parking across the street. A pub and a restaurant are connected to this hotel, as well as a breakfast area. The place is not the newest of hotels but was clean and comfortable. Had dinner at the restaurant and it was excellent with good variety on the menu for our party of 5, the seafood outstandingly fresh. Service was prompt and attentive, all tables were full and reservations are recommended. Full Scottish breakfast cooked to order with a table of fruit, juices, yoghurt and cereals to get you started. Plenty of coffee, no complaints here. George was very informative about things to do on Skye, friendly and entertaining.

Room Tip: Request one overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaqkei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed overnight while our friends and ourselves were traveling the isle of Skye. The town was beautiful. Rooms were a little small but very clean. Beds were a little uncomfortable in our room (11). Little over prices for the room size and amenities.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
0.4 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
438 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#4 of 6 in Portree
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
207 reviews
23.6 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
15.8 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Royal Hotel Bank Street, Portree IV51 9BU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Portree
Price Range: £67 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is based in the centre of Portree on the stunning Island of Skye. Our hotel has offered as a superb base for customers to the area for over a hundred years. We have a selection of over 34 en suite rooms, most of which feature stunning sea views looking on to Portree Bay. We have two restaurants which regularly sell a variety of local produce from Langoustines, Scallops and Fish to Venison and regular Scottish favourites such as Haggis and Mince and Tatties. Our hotel bar "MacNab's Inn" was famously the location where Bonnie Prince Charlie bode farewell to Flora Macdonald before making his way to France escaping the English army. With our rich history, convenient location and excellent rooms we are the perfect base for any visit to the beautiful Island of Skye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Portree, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing