We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Hotel”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Portree
Reviewed 3 July 2008

Spent 2 nights in this hotel on our recent tour of the Highlands and Islands of Scotland. Had a great room (No. 3, fairly big, first floor) with a super view of Portree Harbour and out to sea. Although situated on a slightly busy road we didn't find our room at all noisy. Most traffic died down in the evening anyway. The hotel staff were helpful and courteous and the rooms in good order and clean. We ate in the hotel on our first night and found the food in the restaurant was superb and couldn't be faulted, although the service was a little hit and miss at times. Slow to take our order and offer drinks at first but when it speeded up it was fine apart from once being asked if I'd finished my second course whilst I still had food on my plate and my knife and fork still apart, while I took a sip of wine! The staff did tend to clear your dishes away the minute you had finished eating - a little bit daunting at times but it didn't spoil our dining experience really. Don't let this report put you off. We would certainly stay at the Royal again, we did love our stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2008

Great location for the hotel: our room overlooked the harbour. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Our evening meal (we were a party of 11) was ok although the people who chose the cheese desert were of the opinion that two of the cheeses served were past their best, if not off.
In March parking was easy in the adjacent pay and display (and free until April) but could be an issue in the high season.
I'll not be returning but that is more down to Portree than the hotel - there isn't enough to warrant a return visit.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genghis_Can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2008

The Royal Hotel has a lovely location in the centre of the town just overlooking the habour. The hotel is a little old fashioned - the room was fine but old fashioned and basic but good value for the price paid.
The reception staff were nice but not overly friendly. Parking is a bit of an issue but you can find spaces around and about. Breakfast was ok - not amazing but fine.
If we were going to Portree again, I would try another hotel as this one wasn't fantastic. If they give it a facelift, it could be lovely because of the location and views.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2007

Stayed here for a couple of nights with my wife. The room was nice and spacious and the bed was very comfy. The hotel itself had 2 very nice (but different bars). The Royal Hotel Bar was a plain regulars bar and good for a couple of beers. McNabs bar was more luxurious and very nice to relax in. Staff in the hotel and the bars were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel was a bit expensive but thats supply and demand for you.
Recommended if you can afford it.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TedZonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at the Royal. Our room was very clean and comfortable. As others have mentioned it is a terrific location right by the harbour. It was fun just to sit around and watch the boats come and go.
Perhaps the bar was kind of basic, but the staff and locals were very friendly, and full of helpful suggestions of places to visit in the area.
The food was excellent - both for dinner and breakfasts.
We were (apparently) very fortunate with the weather during our trip to the beatiful Isle of Skye. It was calm, warm and sunny on both days.
We will certainly return, sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barrypam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2007

We stayed at this hotel on 7th September 2007. We arrived at 1.45pm and were told we could check in at 2pm. We returned with our luggage at 2pm to be told that our room was probably not ready. We were still given the key and upon checking, we found that the room had indeed been untouched following the last guests late departure. Following at 17 hr drive, we went and slept in the car for an hour. The receptionists were not very apologetic which added insult to injury. The rooms are in dire need of updating, although the view of the harbour was very pleasant. We were only given one towel between two guests. Breakfast was equally disappointing. It should have been ready for 7.30am, but by 8am the waitress had still not arrived as she had called in to say she had overslept. The receptionist had to take our order, and having requested the vegetarian breakfast, I was informed that they had no vegetarian sausages! We decided to leave immediately and seek breakfast elsewhere. This hotel is most definately not worth the £100 we paid for a room. It is badly run and having had a wonderful meal with excellent service at the Bosville Hotel up the road, we were amazed that this hotel is still in business. We strongly recommend you try another hotel for your stay in Portree.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jembob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2007

We stayed here over a weekend in July and as other reviewers have pointed out the Hotel is in a great location - looking out onto the Harbour.
The hotel itself is not great. when we arrived it seemed as if we were putting out the receptionist and someone else had to come and serve us. Our room was just ok, not very big but it was adequate for our requirements although there was a bit of noise from the street outside. The bar attached to the hotel was handy for drinks in the evening but the entertainment and service left alot to be desired!
Breakfast on the Saturday morning was also ok, but we were most disappointed to find on the Sunday that they do not serve cooked breakfast - when we complained about this at reception we were simply told that 'we should have been informed when we booked'. An explanation would have been nice - it seemed to be nothing but a money saving exercise as the alternative breakfast was very bland.
If i was going to Skye again I would stay at a B&B because for £99 per night this was definitely not worth the money.
One positive was the bistro directly across the street - go for lunch or dinner. Food/atmosphere and staff were first class.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kinkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
0.4 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#4 of 6 in Portree
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
204 reviews
23.6 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
16 mi away
Dunollie Hotel
Dunollie Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadford
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Royal Hotel Bank Street, Portree IV51 9BU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Portree
Price Range: £68 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is based in the centre of Portree on the stunning Island of Skye. Our hotel has offered as a superb base for customers to the area for over a hundred years. We have a selection of over 34 en suite rooms, most of which feature stunning sea views looking on to Portree Bay. We have two restaurants which regularly sell a variety of local produce from Langoustines, Scallops and Fish to Venison and regular Scottish favourites such as Haggis and Mince and Tatties. Our hotel bar "MacNab's Inn" was famously the location where Bonnie Prince Charlie bode farewell to Flora Macdonald before making his way to France escaping the English army. With our rich history, convenient location and excellent rooms we are the perfect base for any visit to the beautiful Island of Skye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Portree, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing