We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So clean!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Portree
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“So clean!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights in February 2014 on a business trip. The thing that struck me most of all is how exceptionally clean the room and the hotel in general was. Even where you expect a little dust, on the tops of pictures and the like, there was none. The room itself faced out onto the road, but the good double glazing and the comfortable bed, meant I slept well every night. The breakfast was smashing. I'd happily stay here again and even shell out my own money to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank El_Scallipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel22, Front Office Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for taking time out to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Fiona
Front Office Manager
The Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    134
    100
    52
    40
See reviews for
57
207
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband and I spent four nights at The Royal Hotel in Portree. It was our first trip to the Isle of Skye. From the moment we checked in we were welcomed. The receptionist, a lovely young lady named Fiona, gave us marvelous recommendations for places to see on Skye. She even planned trips out for us each day on a local map. We would not have seen as much as we did without her. One of the breakfast wait staff, a gentleman named George, also gave us countless suggestions of places to see and what roads were good or challenging.He even suggested places to stop or routes to take on our return to eastern Scotland. He was also quite the source! Our hotel room was #1- which faced the harbor- a great location! The free wifi was strong and the amenities in the room were more than adequate.The breakfasts at the Royal are wonderful, especially the smoked haddock and poached eggs, and the potato scones. Lunch and dinner selections are also good, especially the small plate options. The decor and ambience in the restaurant area(not the breakfast room), is modern and was not quite our style, but the food was good.The hotel is really well located, within walking distance of the town square and several good restaurants. It is a perfect place to stay on holiday on the isle of Skye. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Ask for room #1 or any room facing the harbor. It is a beautiful view to wake up to in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel22, Reception at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking time out to share your experience with us. It was a pleasure to meet you, we look forward to welcoming you back soon, hopefully with some better weather!

Kind regards,

Fiona
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stopped one night rooms clean and spacious staff were friendly Breakfast and Evening Meal selections good
Parking available across the street front of the Hotel is next to the road but little or no noise heard.
Good Value
Would Recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel22, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and both the standard of the room and the service were excellent. We hope you will return to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards Hugh Campbell

Marketing Assistant, The Royal Hotel, Portree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Myself and my husband travelled to Skye for a relaxing weekend away. After reading mixed reviews we were unsure what to make of the Royal Hotel. When we arrived staff at reception were very friendly. We stayed in room 16 ( best view of the harbour) was lovely. The rooms have everything you need including - small t.v, mirrors, hair dryers and all the essentials you need. The shower in the bathroom is the best shower I've been in (and my husband is a plumber!). The hotel itself is a traditional Scottish hotel. We would have been disappointed if it was any different. If we wanted modern we would have went to a hotel in Glasgow! The breakfast in the morning was lovely and the male serving us was very helpful and done everything to make us feel comfortable.

The only fault we had about our experience in Skye was the time of year we went ( 24/01/2014 - 26/01/2014). Nothing was open and pubs were very quiet, will not stop us returning in the summer to The Royal Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 16 2nd Floor. Great view looking out to the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel22, Reception at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and for taking time out to give us some feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, with good weather (hopefully) and plenty of entertainment, in the summer.

Kind regards,

Fiona
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our night here, on our way to the Uig ferry for North Uist. The staff were so helpful. Fiona took the booking, and assured us meals could be kept for us if we arrived after the restaurant was closed. Hugh on reception was alert and efficient, even managing to work out how the bath taps operate....if you stay in a room with high tech taps, they are not 'hot and cold' but the tap on the right controls the flow of water, the other control the temperature.

Our young waitress (name possibly Helen?) ( not one of the three sisters who apparently are the backbone of things here) was charming. The menu was sensibly short for the quiet time of year. I ordered steak, but the waitress came back and said Chef wasnt prepared to cook it as it would have to be quickly defrosted, which he pointed out would ruin it. Well done that Chef. Instead I had the macaroni cheese, which was perfect, plenty of extra cheese browned on top. My husband was very pleased with his haddock and chips.
Breakfast was available early, in good time for us to catch the ferry at Uig. This time we were looked after by the attentive but unobtrusive George. The bacon we had that mirning was some of the best ever.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthuist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel22, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your time to to send us a nice review. Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and the staff were very attentive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polegate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here December 21st due to ferry being cancelled. The staff are really friendly and helpful. We took our dog and were told we could take it into the bar with us to eat as it wasn't
allowed in the restaurant which we thought was fair. But the bar was full of drunks shouting and swearing so we left. This could also be heard in the restaurant where there where young children
We were told this was normal for weekends maybe the manager should spend more time there
to see this. We wouldn't return I expect several other guests feel the same.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DENISE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel22, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write on tripadviser. We can only apologise for the behaviour that you had experienced that night. There were a lot of locals that come home for the festive season and they do get noisy and excited when in a crowd. I believe that the staff did speak to everyone in the bar and the Well Plaid that night and apologised. Reception could have looked after your dog while you had dinner in the restaurant as we are a dog friendly hotel. Management were about the hotel that night and are most nights. Once again we apologise and hope that this will not put you off staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateau Ville Vieille, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I spent several nights here towards the end of september, it was my second stay at this hotel and needless to say i will return. Nice bright room with harbour view, good strong shower and gréât breakfasts, even when i turned up late. The receptionists, the restaurant and bar staff are friendly and helpful and always with a smille. I used the free parking which was useful. Thanks to all who work so hard to make staying here enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask at reception for the most suitable room, they are so helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DuncanMacA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel22, Reception at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review. It was a pleasure to meet you, wish you all the best in the future and we hope to see you again next year.

Fiona
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
0.4 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
23.6 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
17.6 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Royal Hotel Bank Street, Portree IV51 9BU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is based in the centre of Portree on the stunning Island of Skye. Our hotel has offered as a superb base for customers to the area for over a hundred years. We have a selection of over 34 en suite rooms, most of which feature stunning sea views looking on to Portree Bay. We have two restaurants which regularly sell a variety of local produce from Langoustines, Scallops and Fish to Venison and regular Scottish favourites such as Haggis and Mince and Tatties. Our hotel bar "MacNab's Inn" was famously the location where Bonnie Prince Charlie bode farewell to Flora Macdonald before making his way to France escaping the English army. With our rich history, convenient location and excellent rooms we are the perfect base for any visit to the beautiful Island of Skye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Portree, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing