We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Portree
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed for one night and found that the staff were very helpful and friendly. The room we were given was large although the cost was a little higher than we had been used elsewhere on our drive around the UK.

The room itself was clean with good facilities and a comfortable bed. A bit of a minus was that the air was very stuffy in the room and the room smelt strongly of cleaning products. We left the room windows open when we went out but found them closed when we returned. The windows open onto the street and this is likely to have been the reason.

We were caught out with wanting to eat at about 8:00 pm and found that the restaurant had closed. We found the restaurant still open in the hotel up the road.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel22, Front Office Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
There has been recent major road works in the town centre and our housemaids tried to keep the windows closed during work hours to prevent dust and debris from entering the rooms.
Apologies for any inconvenience caused regarding our restaurant opening hours, we will be back to our seasonal opening hours from Easter.
Thanks again for the review and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Fiona
Front Office Manager
The Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    140
    108
    58
    44
See reviews for
67
220
13
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I had to go to Portree on business and stayed here, the staff were very friendly and helpful plus there was a car park across the road which was good, the room was very clean but a bit dated, i had evening meal and the fish was fabulous also the breakfast was excellent. I would stay again the next time I go up this looks a good place for a family trip.

Room Tip: as for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StuartWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel22, Front Office Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for kindly taking time out to review our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel if it is either business or leisure.

Kind regards,

Fiona
Front Office Manager
The Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helensburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Srayed here for one night this weekend. Lovely clean room and excellent food. Had dinner and breakfast, both delicious and excellent quality. Breakfast service in particular was very attentive and possibly the best steak n ale pie ive ever tasted. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel22, Front Office Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for taking time out to give us some feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Fiona
Front Office Manager
The Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed the stay , staff were very friendly and the room exceptional but toilet a was just a bit small .
The food in hotel was ok not much choice on menu but can recommend homemade beef burgers a good size . I can say would stay there again

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel22, Front Office Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for taking time out to share your experience with us.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Fiona
Front Office Manager
The Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights in February 2014 on a business trip. The thing that struck me most of all is how exceptionally clean the room and the hotel in general was. Even where you expect a little dust, on the tops of pictures and the like, there was none. The room itself faced out onto the road, but the good double glazing and the comfortable bed, meant I slept well every night. The breakfast was smashing. I'd happily stay here again and even shell out my own money to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank El_Scallipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel22, Front Office Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for taking time out to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Fiona
Front Office Manager
The Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband and I spent four nights at The Royal Hotel in Portree. It was our first trip to the Isle of Skye. From the moment we checked in we were welcomed. The receptionist, a lovely young lady named Fiona, gave us marvelous recommendations for places to see on Skye. She even planned trips out for us each day on a local map. We would not have seen as much as we did without her. One of the breakfast wait staff, a gentleman named George, also gave us countless suggestions of places to see and what roads were good or challenging.He even suggested places to stop or routes to take on our return to eastern Scotland. He was also quite the source! Our hotel room was #1- which faced the harbor- a great location! The free wifi was strong and the amenities in the room were more than adequate.The breakfasts at the Royal are wonderful, especially the smoked haddock and poached eggs, and the potato scones. Lunch and dinner selections are also good, especially the small plate options. The decor and ambience in the restaurant area(not the breakfast room), is modern and was not quite our style, but the food was good.The hotel is really well located, within walking distance of the town square and several good restaurants. It is a perfect place to stay on holiday on the isle of Skye. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Ask for room #1 or any room facing the harbor. It is a beautiful view to wake up to in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel22, Reception at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking time out to share your experience with us. It was a pleasure to meet you, we look forward to welcoming you back soon, hopefully with some better weather!

Kind regards,

Fiona
Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stopped one night rooms clean and spacious staff were friendly Breakfast and Evening Meal selections good
Parking available across the street front of the Hotel is next to the road but little or no noise heard.
Good Value
Would Recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel22, Public Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and both the standard of the room and the service were excellent. We hope you will return to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards Hugh Campbell

Marketing Assistant, The Royal Hotel, Portree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
0.4 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,027 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
14.7 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
17.6 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Royal Hotel Bank Street, Portree IV51 9BU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is based in the centre of Portree on the stunning Island of Skye. Our hotel has offered as a superb base for customers to the area for over a hundred years. We have a selection of over 34 en suite rooms, most of which feature stunning sea views looking on to Portree Bay. We have two restaurants which regularly sell a variety of local produce from Langoustines, Scallops and Fish to Venison and regular Scottish favourites such as Haggis and Mince and Tatties. Our hotel bar "MacNab's Inn" was famously the location where Bonnie Prince Charlie bode farewell to Flora Macdonald before making his way to France escaping the English army. With our rich history, convenient location and excellent rooms we are the perfect base for any visit to the beautiful Island of Skye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Portree, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing