We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unfortunately not that royal anymore”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Portree
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Very nice and attentive staff. Breakfast was fine and thanks to the staff quite entertaining. Room was clean. Location is very good.
However, the interior is very dated, tired and does not live up to it's name.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GFK_Schweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel22, Front Office Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your review.
We have had some minor refurbishments over the past few months and will continue during the winter.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel if you are in Skye again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed on Wednesday june 25th june. Very dated, floor creaked so badly I hated to walk to the restroom at night in fear for disturbing guests below.
Carpet was filthy dirty but rest of room was clean. No fridge, just a very basic room so the fact we were charged £114.00 for nothing more than a hostel type room was appalling.
I saw on other reviews the manager responding by saying they wish guest had told them at the time. Well, I tried to call front desk 3 times to express my displeasure but no answer. Perhaps that's why guests do not tell you at the time.
I spoke with someone at front desk in morning who basically just shrugged her shoulders and said sorry.
The joy of our stay was Fiona at front desk and Tim in the bar. If I could bring them back to the states to work in my hotel I would. EXCELLENT customer service, also the breakfast lady and another young man did not catch his name.
he front desk lady in the morning was so condescending I found myself wanting to be really rude to her but did not.
However Portree was gorgeous despite the Royal Hotel.
hanks Fiona and Tm, great job.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane5854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel22, Front Office Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your review. It is not a requirement for a 3 star hotel to have a fridge in the room. We do keep items in our fridge in the kitchen if required for any items.
£114.00 for a room is very cheap for a 3 star hotel on Skye and our rooms are far more than what a hostel would offer.
Our reception hours are from 8am-11pm, the receptionist only ever leaves the desk if dealing with another guest for example popping upstairs with some extra milk or teabags, I apologise if you felt that you were being ignored because it would have been far from that. We do aim to please all our guests as you can tell we have very passionate staff like Tim and Fiona, we do hope that you would give us another chance if back on Skye.
Thank you again for taking time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

we arrived in portree late afternoon and were pleasantly surprised by the royal hotel. the welcome was very warm and our room very pleasant. we were on the first floor over the hotel entrance with a view of the harbour below and the sea. perhaps the room was a little dated but we were only in it to sleep as the harbour and town beckoned after dinner for an after dinner meander. the food was very good both in the evening and also for breakfast. would stay here again but like to stay longer than one night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdw774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel22, Front Office Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review, we do really appreciate it. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, we do try our best to make sure our guests enjoy their holiday on Skye.
We hope to welcome you back if you return to Skye.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We had a great time on Skye and the staff at the Royal Hotel were a big part of that - pointing us to great views, etc. Breakfast was decent but nothing exceptional. Twas a bit pricey overall (nearly $500 for 2 nights).

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Floridian32308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel22, Front Office Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay on Skye and hope to welcome you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on 9th+10th June, we were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. The room was very clean and comfortable and had a view of the harbour. Staff were excellent for advice on places to visit, directions etc. Food was lovely although we ate in the bistros which is a bit soulless, the bar was comfortable and friendly and had WiFi throughout if we wanted to be anti social. Loved it and will be back.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have a direct view of the harbour , doesn't matter as weather was good so w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel22, Front Office Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had a good sea view room with a clear view over the harbour. The room was of good quality for the price. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast staff were very good. The public spaces are a bit tired but are still fit for purpose. Portree is a good base for Skye. There are some good restaurants but you need to book!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel22, Front Office Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking time to review us on Tripadvisor, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel overall gives a feeling of a suite B&B pretending to be a 4 stars hotel and charges extortionate price.
When we arrived, the receptionists were rude and intimidating which was already a bad start. We were offered a room facing street with small window of PATHATIC sea view partially blocked by a building opposite. To enjoy quietness relies on the mercy of the volume of people in street downstairs. Thankfully, there were not many tourists around, so it was OK. Still feel very disappointed for the room we’ve got even after we’ve specifically requested for a room with sea view in a quiet place.
The STINGY level of this hotel is astonishing! Only for the first night you are offered shower caps, disposable cups, and two roles of toilets papers. From the second day on these were missing including toilet papers even when there was only half role left. As the volume of one role of toilet paper is low so it goes out very quickly. After requested, we got 2 full role, at that point I thought maybe they are not that stingy. But I was wrong! The next day after we came back, the 1 full role was taken away, replaced with a 1/3 role left. At that point we only got 2 roles each with 1/3 volume of toilet papers, it can barely cover for the evening and the next day. This reminds me only the STINGY B&B landlady would do that. Infuriating! After request we only got a role with inferior quality of toilet paper. This infuriated us much further! Thinking this is a hotel we paid 140 pounds per night, but we only received CRAP materials and CRAP service. This angry experience of staying in this hotel adds a very bad taste towards the end of our travel.
Take heed of all the negative points reviewed by people about this hotel. I can vouch most are pretty true. Some have reviewed at least breakfast are good. But it certainly does not make up the extortionate price you paid. Yes you can have full breakfast with both hot and cold food. But it’s not relaxing experience as you have to be served for the hot food. As for the smiling face of staff, well, it depends, if you’ve seen snubs you know what I mean. The breakfast is also not vegetarian friendly, no vet sausages etc. as most pubs would offer.
I regretted we’ve been suckers to this extremely overpriced hotel. The scenery of Isle of Skye is interesting but not that great, certainly not worth splashing money on it. The views in this island are pretty much similar everywhere, I recon one day travel is enough.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank skye0072014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel22, Front Office Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Our hotel is in fact a 3 star hotel.
All hotels on Skye survive on business from May to September so prices can seem high.
I apologise if you felt that the receptionist was rude upon check in, I can assure you that our staff are very friendly and go above and beyond to ensure our guests enjoy their stay, as you can see in previous tripadvisors and reviews on other hotel booking sites.
We apologise for the mistake with the toilet roll, we keep 2 rolls in each room and are happy to give an extra roll to guests when needed.
We do have vegetarian sausages available for our guests upon request, if we have run out, we are more than happy to nip up to the local shop to buy more.
As for not enjoying the scenery on Skye, I am very taken aback by this. I was born and grew up on the island and I am very proud of the character, beauty and community that keeps on growing here. One day is definitely not enough to see and do all that the island offers. As I said I have been here nearly my whole life and I haven't done half of what our visitors do here each year. Skye was recently voted 4th Best Island in the world by National Geographic magazine. Our Fairy Pools in Glenbrittle are 6th out of 100 in the most beautiful places in the world. I really do hope you come back and see what the island has to offer despite what you have said in this review.
Thank you for taking time out to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
0.4 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
446 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#4 of 6 in Portree
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
209 reviews
23.6 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
15.8 mi away
Broadford Hotel
Broadford Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadford
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Royal Hotel Bank Street, Portree IV51 9BU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Portree
Price Range: £68 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel is based in the centre of Portree on the stunning Island of Skye. Our hotel has offered as a superb base for customers to the area for over a hundred years. We have a selection of over 34 en suite rooms, most of which feature stunning sea views looking on to Portree Bay. We have two restaurants which regularly sell a variety of local produce from Langoustines, Scallops and Fish to Venison and regular Scottish favourites such as Haggis and Mince and Tatties. Our hotel bar "MacNab's Inn" was famously the location where Bonnie Prince Charlie bode farewell to Flora Macdonald before making his way to France escaping the English army. With our rich history, convenient location and excellent rooms we are the perfect base for any visit to the beautiful Island of Skye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Portree, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing