We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$442
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Portree Hotel(Portree)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Redwood House Hotel(Greshornish)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Broadford Hotel(Broadford)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunollie Hotel(Broadford)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (500)
Filter reviews
500 results
Traveller rating
89
160
129
67
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
160
129
67
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbit datedfirst flooroverlooking the harbourthe ground floorbreakfast was excellentpleasant staythe pubroom was largelovely viewpoached eggsfamily roomcooked breakfastskyejoanheatingscotlandensuite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
271 - 276 of 500 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Very nice and attentive staff. Breakfast was fine and thanks to the staff quite entertaining. Room was clean. Location is very good.
However, the interior is very dated, tired and does not live up to it's name.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GFK_Schweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel22, Front Office Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your review.
We have had some minor refurbishments over the past few months and will continue during the winter.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel if you are in Skye again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed on Wednesday june 25th june. Very dated, floor creaked so badly I hated to walk to the restroom at night in fear for disturbing guests below.
Carpet was filthy dirty but rest of room was clean. No fridge, just a very basic room so the fact we were charged £114.00 for nothing more than a hostel type room was appalling.
I saw on other reviews the manager responding by saying they wish guest had told them at the time. Well, I tried to call front desk 3 times to express my displeasure but no answer. Perhaps that's why guests do not tell you at the time.
I spoke with someone at front desk in morning who basically just shrugged her shoulders and said sorry.
The joy of our stay was Fiona at front desk and Tim in the bar. If I could bring them back to the states to work in my hotel I would. EXCELLENT customer service, also the breakfast lady and another young man did not catch his name.
he front desk lady in the morning was so condescending I found myself wanting to be really rude to her but did not.
However Portree was gorgeous despite the Royal Hotel.
hanks Fiona and Tm, great job.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane5854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel22, Front Office Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your review. It is not a requirement for a 3 star hotel to have a fridge in the room. We do keep items in our fridge in the kitchen if required for any items.
£114.00 for a room is very cheap for a 3 star hotel on Skye and our rooms are far more than what a hostel would offer.
Our reception hours are from 8am-11pm, the receptionist only ever leaves the desk if dealing with another guest for example popping upstairs with some extra milk or teabags, I apologise if you felt that you were being ignored because it would have been far from that. We do aim to please all our guests as you can tell we have very passionate staff like Tim and Fiona, we do hope that you would give us another chance if back on Skye.
Thank you again for taking time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

we arrived in portree late afternoon and were pleasantly surprised by the royal hotel. the welcome was very warm and our room very pleasant. we were on the first floor over the hotel entrance with a view of the harbour below and the sea. perhaps the room was a little dated but we were only in it to sleep as the harbour and town beckoned after dinner for an after dinner meander. the food was very good both in the evening and also for breakfast. would stay here again but like to stay longer than one night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdw774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel22, Front Office Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review, we do really appreciate it. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, we do try our best to make sure our guests enjoy their holiday on Skye.
We hope to welcome you back if you return to Skye.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We had a great time on Skye and the staff at the Royal Hotel were a big part of that - pointing us to great views, etc. Breakfast was decent but nothing exceptional. Twas a bit pricey overall (nearly $500 for 2 nights).

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Floridian32308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel22, Front Office Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay on Skye and hope to welcome you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on 9th+10th June, we were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. The room was very clean and comfortable and had a view of the harbour. Staff were excellent for advice on places to visit, directions etc. Food was lovely although we ate in the bistros which is a bit soulless, the bar was comfortable and friendly and had WiFi throughout if we wanted to be anti social. Loved it and will be back.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have a direct view of the harbour , doesn't matter as weather was good so we're out a lot.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalHotel22, Front Office Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews