We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ViewField House”
Review of Viewfield House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Viewfield House
Ranked #13 of 91 Portree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lilburn, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ViewField House”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Thank you Hugh for the wonderful stay at ViewField House- Portree Scotland.
Magnificent home decorated like the Victorian Period.
Wonderful walk to the garden and a short stroll into town. I enjoyed the walk up to the logging roads where I could see both lochs!
Karen Benson

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    71
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
42
105
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
397 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights here. The place is packed full of antique furnishings and artefacts from a bygone age.

We were warmly welcomed by a lovely young lady, think her name was Rebecca. We ate in the hotel for the first night and the food was very nice, delighted to be served nice fresh vegetables instead of the usual frozen fare. The serving staff were all very polite and pleasant.

Our room was very spacious with a large wet-room ensuite, the shower was excellant. The large bed was very comfortable with good pillows.

Both mornings it was a delight to enjoy such a nice breakfast, really good quality ingredients and the homemade porridge was superb.

The free wi-fi was a bit intermittent but in such a beautiful place you won't be spending too long on line!

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to others and we hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernHeatseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My partner and I and our dog bought an Itison voucher for two nights B&B with high tea. We received a warm welcome from the owner, previous Tripadvisor comments did not apply to us. The hotel has a lovely relaxing atmosphere. It was nice to not have a tv in the room. The grounds were great for the dog to have a run around. Our room although the smallest was spotlessly clean and the bed was comfortable.
The afternoon tea was delicious, the best scones I have ever had!
Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice.
Would def return again and highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloudy036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

You are greeted with a hall full of stuffed animals. Strangle eccentric decor. Place is clean but with a faded grandeur. Our room was clean and looked out over the front of the house. The public area is a bit staid. The television room only has a few comfy chairs and there are no TV in the rooms. The other room has more comfy chairs but not very cosy. Breakfast was good but we had an evening meal and was nothing special. It does however takes dogs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarky57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I could write a very long review of my extremely brief experience with this hotel. Long story short the hotel staff screwed up our booking by allowing the correspondence of another individual sharing the same surname as my girlfriend to change the date of our arrival.
The owner was unapologetic, rude and extremely unhelpful. Customer service from him was shocking. We managed to find another place to stay so I cannot really comment on the rooms and such. From what I did see the location, grounds and the general exterior of the building is good. The interior of what I did see was old, worn with taxidermy animals everywhere and not my cup of tea.

Overall I am glad I did not stay there. I would recommend everyone to read the good and bad reviews of the place but the consistent theme I can see is the owner is an awful person to deal with should things go wrong. If I ever go back to Skye I would give this place a very wide berth.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Jamesc1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights with an Itison voucher. Excellent value for money as the hotel, staff and food were superb. We ate here on the first night as part of the deal and the service and food could not be faulted. Had coffee in the lounge which had a large log burning fire, very cosy. You feel very much as if you are living in a country house and not a hotel. The staff are very attentive but unatrusive as you require to ring a bell to summon them. We had a few drinks after coffee infront of the log fire, very homely. Would definitely return to this hotel and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Excellent couple of days spent here on an Itison deal. Staff were excellent and very accommodating, food was great (although unfortunately we didn't manage dinner on this occasion) and the room large, clean and comfortable. Plenty parking and a short walk into the village of Portree. No TV in room but good WiFi was available. Loads of interesting bits and pieces: stuffed birds and animals, weapons and exotic carvings on display that would keep the kids entertained asking questions for hours.....................

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grampasauras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
4.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
4.7 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
28.1 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
4.7 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viewfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viewfield House

Property: Viewfield House
Address: Portree IV51 9EU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Viewfield House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Viewfield House Hotel Portree
Viewfield House Portree, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing