We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Portree Independent Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed in this hostel for two days and everything was very clean, a great big kitchen with a splendid view and very good facilities. The most remarkable, however, was the staff of the hostel who were always a team of young and old, experienced people. They helped us a lot in planning our trip and gave insider advice about the island. We had a great time there and recommend a stay in Potree Independent Hostel to everybody!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed in a room of 6 and it was great. The bed was so soft and nice , huge kitchen and friendly staff who willing to give direction for nearby attraction. This B&B hostel located in the center of Portree, with clean hotel room and nice hang out area for TV and games downstairs.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrischin2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed on the third floor of this hostel last night, in a room with a double bed, a bunk bed and a single bed. It was only half full tho, thankfully.
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, answering our questions and attending to our needs.
Location is excellent - right in the centre of town.
No free wifi, though - you have to purchase it from an online provider.
Otherwise, very comfy room and great facilities in general. Would stay again!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Myles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Right in the centre of Portree, with a big free car park next door. We stayed in a room of 8, and it was great. Beds were comfy, all the shared facilities were immaculate, and the kitchen was great, with lots of space, storage, and seating. The owner was incredibly knowledgeable of the island, and so friendly!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Carys M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

In the heart of Portree, very easy to find with a free car park out the back. Welcoming and knowledgeable staff who have great recommendations. The kitchen is clean and well equipped. Bunks and bathrooms are clean. Whether you are backpacking or not this is a fabulous place to stay on the cheap.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jellyfished
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have rated this property VERY GOOD based on it's location and it's price compared to others in the area and not on it's cleanliness or quality of amenities. I stayed in the Portree Independent Hostel in October last year with a group of friends whilst touring on motorcycles. The accommodation was very cheap for this part of the world, and for the money was first class. Clean, warm bunk beds in 4 or 6 bed rooms were more than ample for our needs. The communal toilet and shower on the lower floor was a bit of a hit and miss. It could have done with a clean, but it did the job. I wouldn't like to imagine what it'd be like in high season.

We didn't use the kitchen, but it did look spacious, clean and well stocked with utensils and cutlery. The communal tv lounge doubles as the reception, again we didn't use this but it looked okay, with a good supply of dvd's to view.

The hostel is in a great location, smack bang in the middle of town and nearby the many pubs and restaurants. Parking is good for motorcycles on the premises. You can park at the back door or do as we did and use the nearby car park down by the sea.

A great place at a great price, just don't expect privacy and the cleanest accommodation. This is prime "Haggis, ham and egg" territory and accommodation prices reflect this. If you want a value for money cheap dry place to bunk up for the night and cater for yourself then this is your place. I wouldn't recommend the accommodation for families or couples looking for a quiet break. It is what it is, a traveller's hostel and a good value one at that.

Room Tip: Travelling as a group of 7 we secured the two top floor rooms for our use. The only downside was tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dibble07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Pros:
- HUGE, very well stocked kitchen and dining area with lovely views
- Very friendly welcome from the helpful proprietors
- Clean and comfortable rooms, painted in cheerful colors, a bright spot on rainy days
- With regular bus service to Glasgow and several great shops and pubs just steps away, the location is the best spot in Skye for travellers without a car
- Clean bathrooms with HOT showers
- Superb value for the money (the 4-bed dorm is excellent)

Cons:
- Nearest WiFi is at the pub across the street, so if you need to be connected 24/7 while on holiday this might not be the place
- Aside from the brilliant kitchen, the only real common area to hang out in is a small living room, dominated by a TV. Between this and the abundance of daytrippers and groups, this is probably not the easiest place to make new friends.

All in all, I'd highly recommend a couple of nights in Portree and especially this very well-run hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portree hotels
0.4 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,083 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#6 of 6 in Portree
478 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#5 of 6 in Portree
57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portree Youth Hostel
Portree Youth Hostel
#8 of 23 in Portree
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portree Independent Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portree Independent Hostel

Address: The Old Post Office The Green | The Green, Portree IV51 9BT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Portree
Hotel Class:4 star — Portree Independent Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Also Known As:
Portree Independent Hotel Portree
Portree Independent Hostel Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing