We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best boat trip option in Portree”

Aspire Boat Trips - Isle of Skye
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fantastic half day boat trips to watch wildlife and take in a visit to the beautiful Isle of Raasay or Rona, where you can walk ashore. Great value £25 to £30Available for private charters and parties up to 12 max. We also operate an evening cruise (1 1/2 hours) £18
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best boat trip option in Portree”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Spindrift is the best boat among the ones doing the Portree boat trips. It has 2 decks and passengers can easily enjoy the trip indoors, upstairs, downstairs or at the bow.

The guide was pleasant and provided a lot of information. The skipper was very nice too.

Tip: Take a look at all the boats before choosing and book one day in advance!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefanos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One and half hour wildlife trip”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I was wanting to do the two-hour trip with MV Brigadoon but their boat needed repair, so I had to go out in the Spindrift. It was a bay trip to see White-Tailed Eagles (and other birds) up close. Unfortunately they were not so cooperative on the 3pm sailing (maybe they didn't want any more dead fish that are thrown from the boat - the gulls ate the fish instead). However, we did see a pair of eagles on a tree and then watched them flying up high.

It was fairly good value at £18. The boat felt stable. We were given safety instructions as we set off and had a good commentary about the wildlife.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PollyMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“An unforgettable day out”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We were blessed with good weather and calm seas on our trip to Rona. The boat was spotlessly clean and well-maintained.The hosts very hospitable and knowledgeable.Saw porpoises,sea eagles,seals and many sea birds.We all enjoyed it very much!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank birdwatcherNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous day out!”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

On our stay on Skye, we actually did two of the offered boat trips. We first did the hour and a half tour out of Portree and were able to see a variety of wildlife including a good sighting of sea eagles! We also took the trip to Raasay and had an equally fantastic time, as we were able to get off the boat and do some walking for an hour and a half. Both trips were very fun and Pam and Kevin are fantastic at what they do, making it a very safe and exciting trip. Pam is a great tour guide and shared very interesting stories, pointed out wildlife, and had an excellent knowledge on the island history and culture. This is a definite must for a trip to Skye!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jackiewackie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

My husband and I were taken to the Isle of Rona from Portree on the Spindrift last November. I had no idea we would have such an interesting and comfortable crossing. Pam and Kevin are complete professionals at making you feel safe and at ease for your journey. The crossing takes about 1hour, during which Pam shares her knowledge of the sights, surrounding wildlife, history, nautical news, all sorts of things for a good chat over a lovely cup of coffee. Our hosts were very helpful and kind, and maybe next time we would stay at there B&B, which we discovered they also run in Portree. The complete package, friendly, warm, good service.

A great start and finish to a wonderful week on Rona.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_CXD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aspire Boat Trips - Isle of Skye also viewed

 

Been to Aspire Boat Trips - Isle of Skye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing