We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super Relaxing Holiday Home from Home!!!!!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
North Facing View of the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
North Facing View of the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
North Facing View of the house
Kitchen
Kitchen
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Bathroom
Twin Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Bathroom
View from the lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mark M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super Relaxing Holiday Home from Home!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This cottage was all you could wish for, lovely interior great views.
The cottage always felt large and roomy. Kids loved the bedroom. and the woods outside.
although we were not cold we did light the log fire, the flames at night gave a wonderful light to the living space. My wife and daughter who are keen bakers, loved the amount of equipment and utensils that were to hand. my son and i took up the challenge to eat the brownies freshly baked.

the cottage is as described only 5 miles from Portree. Not to far from the centre of Skye but far enough away to feel that you were on your own.
we will definitely be aiming to return,

Many thanks to Charles for the telephone call prior to setting out on the Friday. lovely chat.
congratulations on this wonderful home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: kids loved the forest, mum loved the kitchen and sofa, all loved the brownies
Liked least: no microwave
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANDERCand...
Logan, Utah
1 review
“Absolutely Wonderful”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This lovely home is well made and well furnished. We particularly enjoyed the decor that incorporated local art and books as well as historical items and information about Skye. The owner provided notebook answered any questions we had about the property and also gave recommendations. Amenities were wonderful.
The only downside to our visit was that it had to come to an end. Skye is one of our most favorite places on earth and we'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The style and amenities
Liked least: No screened windows or doors for airflow (too many bugs if you open the windows)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff M
St. Michaels, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal Property for a Skye Vacation”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

It is difficult to add anything to all the other glowing reviews of this wonderful cottage. We are four days in to a six day stay, and this property is a gem. We had been traveling in Scotland for 11 days before arriving here. We had been staying in very nice hotels and B&Bs which was great, but when we arrived here, we thought we were home and became totally relaxed. A whole beautiful house to ourselves with wonderful views. Although it is out in the country, Portree with all its terrific restaurants is only a ten minute drive away, and a very nice grocery store even less than that. In no time we were preparing excellent meals in the very spacious kitchen, and it was a great being able to pad around a house all to ourselves. The location is excellent, very central in Skye, and each day we have been doing a different trip at a leisurely pace. The roads are all nice two lanes right up to 100 feet of the entrance. No single tracking with this property. While the site doesn't say so, it has excellent wi-fi, and we're posting this review while in the cottage. Charles has been very gracious and has quickly responded to all my email requests. This is really an ideal place for a Skye vacation.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polly H
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, didn't want to leave”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Always wanted to visit Isle of Skye and this beautiful cottage made our holiday one to remember. So peaceful, amazing scenery and great location being 5-10 mins from Portree. Property has all amenities you could ever need with a contemporary, spacious feeling. Additional bonus is the cosy log fire. Would love to visit again and recommend to anyone visiting Isle of Skye.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The simplisty and spacious design.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJKAllen
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We stayed at Skeabost for our honeymoon and it was amazing!!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Skeabost for 3 nights for our honeymoon. The cottage is tucked away off a road and it really does feel like you're away from everyone and everything else. In a word, it is beautiful. The decor is modern and has everything that you need. The surroundings of the cottage is beautiful and it looks onto fields of sheep. Its comfortable and cosy with the wood burning stove which makes it really cosy! Would definitely book again and would recommend it to anyone who went to Skye!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage and scenery
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Saint Neots, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$267
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing