We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy, Ambience & Great Views”

Scorrybreac Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 38 Restaurants in Portree
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Scorrybreac restaurant is set in a beautiful location and is the perfect spot to enjoy wonderful Scottish cuisine served with a French twist. Our aim is to source the best produce that Skye has to offer. We will be serving dinner 6 days a week from Wednesday to Sunday in our small and elegant dining room. We look forward to seeing you soon. November 2016: Open Fri - Sun Friday evening Saturday evening Sunday lunches [CLOSED MON - THURS] December 2016: Open 1 - 23rd [CLOSED 24/25/26 DEC] Open 27 - 30th [CLOSED 31 DEC] CLOSED JAN / FEB 2017
Nairobi
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cosy, Ambience & Great Views”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Book ahead as there a only a select number of covers - Grab cash and a bottle of your tipple and take an evening stroll down the hill to this delightful setting, with views of the harbour and a pretty intimate cottage feel, home from home.

Friendly staff, food is local and tasty but light and the Chef has worked in Paris - the Hake was delicious and the Cheese board different!

Don't miss out!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nichola618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    82
    20
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Fabulous food, wonderful location and the nicest family ever! We had a lovely evening here and can't recommend it enough! Well done to the Munro's for a successful and impressive family venture.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Highlight of 2 weeks in Scotland!”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

If you are in Portree, this place is a must. Just outside of the town center (easy walk), be sure to grab a bottle of wine and some cash (byob and cash only). But you are in for a treat-if you book ahead. Limited tables in a lovely room right next to the water, the chef is Paris-trained and has returned home to offer amazing cuisine. We had pigeon salad, Skye venison, local mackerel and pollock--all prepared with attention to detail and precision. £25 for two courses, £30 for three. You will easily pay those prices at Sea Breezes and the food doesn't compare. Do yourself a favor--book now. This place stacks up against NYC, LA, London, Paris etc. Just go!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sbenhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Scorrybreac is an absolute gem - it has a stunning location, friendly staff and a chef who makes fantastic food out of fresh, local, ingredients.

We enjoyed Mackerel (caught by the chef that very afternoon!), Salmon, Lamb and a Slaeberry tart - completely impossible to choose a favourite course - they were all excellent!

There were lots of lovely little touches too - freshly baked bread and a delicious "amuse bouche".

If you're on Skye, book a table, you won't be disappointed!


  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scot-Breizh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“What an incredible find!”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We were staying at the Cuillin Hills Hotel and after checking-in, decide to walk down to the village of Portree. At the foot of the hill from where the hotel looks down on the harbour, we passed a pretty cottage on the water's edge with an inviting looking menu board outside. We walked in and a young man took our reservation noting that they were not licensed, so could we bring our own wine and that they were cash only - neither a problem for us.

The dining room is one room of their home. Originally run as a tea-room by their mother, the boys (one of whom had just returned from working in Paris as a chef) had decided to try offering dinner. When we arrived, they were just six weeks from opening and already Mum's tea offering had had to stop because there was too much strain on the kitchen!

The dining room is initimate with about 16 covers max - full when we were there, and the food is very good and excellent value for the price. If you are in Portree and a foodie, this spot is just not to be missed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank English-Exile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scorrybreac Restaurant also viewed

Portree, Isle of Skye
 

Been to Scorrybreac Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing