We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional-as always!”

Scorrybreac Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Scorrybreac Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 38 Restaurants in Portree
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Scorrybreac restaurant is set in a beautiful location and is the perfect spot to enjoy wonderful Scottish cuisine served with a French twist. Our aim is to source the best produce that Skye has to offer. We will be serving dinner 6 days a week from Tuesday to Sunday in our small and elegant dining room. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Highlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exceptional-as always!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a great evening here, the food is always consistently faultless, as is the service. Calum is a really talented chef, and his brother Niall runs the front of house. If you are visiting Skye, you must make time to have dinner here, but make sure you book or you may be dissappointed!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelpolice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    83
    19
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Fantastic location down a private driveway overlooking the loch. We had a pre-dinner drink at the outside table drinking in the beautiful scenery. Amuse-bouche/ home made bread/ Pigeon with peas & parmesan starter/ coffee crusted Venison main with cauliflower puree and potato fondant/ choc & basil liquid centred cake with home made ice cream pudding all absolutely bang on. The coffee crusted Venison dish in particular was memorable. It's BYO which means you can splurge on a really nice bottle of wine and not feel ripped off by the wine list like you do at the Three Chimneys for example. The brothers running this place look destined for an impressive future in the trade and the service lived up to the standard set by the kitchen. Finished it off back outside with coffee admiring the view and feeling pleasantly replete.

(Minor criticism lads - if you are going to charge people for bottled water and coffee then you should make it clear what the charges are for these extras up front).

The bill came in at approx £80 all-in for two and it was money very well spent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Dubbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delicious food, lovely setting”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We really enjoyed our dinner of game and seafood. All dishes were creatively prepared, perfectly cooked, and beautifully presented. The chef was definitely talented. Main course of coffee infused venison was 99% perfect - the only bit that stop it getting full marks were a tiny bit of coffee grounds (left from the infusion I guess!)

The setting was lovely. A family home just uphill from Portree.

Our waiter was very friendly and efficient. We felt welcomed.

The other added bonus was that we could bring our own wine!

So glad we ate here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YourThaiChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best night out!!!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Wanted a really nice night out as visiting a friend in Skye. Fantastic meal, lovely house and lovely setting, watching the tide go out. Food was superb, and we all had a chance to try something different!! Cannot wait to go again!! Xx

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerrynomates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

One of the best restaurants I have ever been too. I go home regularly to visit my parents in Portree I wanted to do something nice for their 25th Wedding anniversary so I surprised them by taking them to scorrybreac restaurant. We booked it in advance and managed to be lucking enough to get a seat as its very popular. We were welcomed looked after and Niall who made us feel very relaxed. Head chef Calum's cooking was out of this world, its really exquisite technical cooking. It was a very special evening for us all and my parents did say it was the one of the best nights of their life. Thank you Scorrybreac restaurant my favorite place to eat ever.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EvielouGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scorrybreac Restaurant also viewed

Portree, Isle of Skye
 
Portree, Isle of Skye
 

Been to Scorrybreac Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing