We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice for a dinner in Portree” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scorrybreac Restaurant

Scorrybreac Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Portree
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Scorrybreac restaurant is set in a beautiful location and is the perfect spot to enjoy wonderful Scottish cuisine served with a French twist. Our aim is to source the best produce that Skye has to offer. We will be serving dinner 6 days a week from Wednesday to Sunday in our small and elegant dining room. We look forward to seeing you soon. November 2016: Open Fri - Sun Friday evening Saturday evening Sunday lunches [CLOSED MON - THURS] December 2016: Open 1 - 23rd [CLOSED 24/25/26 DEC] Open 27 - 30th [CLOSED 31 DEC] CLOSED JAN / FEB 2017
Milano
Level Contributor
239 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“Good choice for a dinner in Portree”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Not easy to find, the restaurant is in a beautiful location in front of the sea. Only 16 seats in the same room, essential but stylish as well. The menu is short: 3 entrees, 3 main dishes and 3 desserts. 30 £ for 2 courses and 35 for 3. Strange (for an italian) the possibility to take and drink your own wine. I did not do, but some britons customers arrived with some shoppers with imported wine bought in a supermarket.
We shared a dish of mixed cheese and I take a venison in a coffee sauce. Well cooked, good taste. My girlfriend chose a risotto with mushrooms. Good and fresh the raw materials, however the rice was overcooked.
As dessert a chocolate cake with homemade ice cream. Good as many other i ate but the ice cream was too iced.
The service was friendly but too focused in following the routine questions that seems not really interested in our comment over the bad cooking of the risotto.

Helpful?
2 Thank Mibe83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    76
    17
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham U.K
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The restaurant is part of the family home and you are made to feel you are part of that, very relaxed, warm atmosphere with Nail welcoming you indoors,. The food was excellent, cooked to perfection by Calum, My partner had the duck and said he had never tasted duck that good before, I had the Hake which was so 'meaty' and just the way I like it,there was warm bread and a lovely mushroom mouse served before whatever main meal you ordered which wasn't listed on the menu, a lovely gesture indeed. The desserts were wonderful and again a dollop of ice cream on top, this was another 'extra'. We took our own wine and yes there is a corkage charge which is what any other BYOW restaurant would charge so no problem with that. It is a shame that this will be the last season for the two brother's in the family home so it's a 'must book' before the end of September 14. Calum and Nail have a few option to consider after September, I sincerely hope they will continue in the Restaurant business and wish them all the very best for the future, we will be checking out their Facebook page from time to time as that's where we will get to know where and when they go from here

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lizalba46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This restaurant has everything. It is in the former living room of a lovely home overlooking the water. Windows look out on a beautiful view. And then there's the gracious service and outstanding food. They started us with an amuse bouche of a mushroom and truffle foam. Intensely seasoned and wonderful. A,omg the four of us we were happy with the scallop and the chicks. Liver appetizers as well as the mains of hake, lamb, and a vegetarian eggplant and mozzarella mille fielle. Followed by delicious desserts. It's a tiny place, only 6 tables so be sure to reserve.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

My husband and I, along with friends, were lucky enough to enjoy a wonderful, memorable evening at Scorrybreac House on Friday 25th August. We have tried to book on previous visits to Skye without success and now know why their diary is so busy.
The lovely location and garden set the scene for a unique experience. We were warmly greeted by Neil who attended to us admirably throughout the evening. We learned that he and his brother work together to produce superb food, an innovative menu -everything we had was just superb and beautifully presented, voted one of the best meals ever by all of us. Neil and his brother are a great team who are obviously passionate about providing their guests with something very special.
Our next visit to Skye will be planned around a repeat at Scorrybreac.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lexus450Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
163 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent food - service a bit scatty.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We managed to secure a reservation in this wonderful restaurant, the location and actual building were truly impressive. In fact, we rang early in the day and were called back pretty quickly when they received a cancellation, which we appreciated.

As per the other reviews here, it's a 3 starter/3 main course/3 dessert menu, BYOB, and cash only. The food was simply superb, and while we chose not to bring our own wine, we were very kindly offered a complimentary glass of wine which we also declined. We had to ask for water at some point during the main course (I thought it would have been offered sooner but it seems you have to ask for it). My husband actually got the wrong main course and we had to wait until someone wandered past to give it back and get the correct plate. Another thing that irked me slightly is that you aren't informed how much bottled water and post-dinner coffee is.

But the food is really fantastic and I would recommend any food enthusiasts visiting Skye to pay a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wander_Wan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scorrybreac Restaurant also viewed

Portree, Isle of Skye
 
Portree, Isle of Skye
 

Been to Scorrybreac Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing