We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kerrysdale Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kerrysdale Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 99 Portree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wishaw,Scotland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

My wife and I stayed with Lance for 3 nights earlier this month. We found the B&B to be excellent in very way. Lance was a friendly and informative host who clearly feels that his job is to make his guests' stay as perfect as it can be.

Rooms were spotless and the guest lounge was extremely comfortable and full of useful guide books and maps. The location just off the main road about a mile, and an easy walk, from the centre of the village was perfect.

Overall we found the accommodation to represent excellent value for money and would have no hesitation in recommending Kerrysdale to prospective visitors.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank i_m_tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
57
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The whole stay was top class - very friendly owner with good advice about eating out in Portree. Very speedy and tasty cooked breakfast, nice room with an en-suite bathroom and amazing view of the bay. Considering the bargain price, I would recommend Kerrysdale over the larger and more expensive hotels in Portree. The lounge area was full of informative guide books and maps of the local area.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Portnoyisagod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Ensuite room was smallish but clean and comfortable. A very good breakfast with a choice. Lance was a welcoming host. Great for restaurant recommendations and also willing to go extra mile to make our stay comfortable. Situated within walking distance of Portree centre.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tubingen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Kerrysdale Bed & Breakfast made our stay on Skye more than pleasant.
Lance is an excellent host and made us feel very welcome. Besides providing us with a great breakfast gave us great tips regarding Skye and restaurants in Portree, which could be easily reached on foot with a 15-minute walk to the harbour.
The house and its facilities are up-to-date and very comfortable providing all you could ask for.
Our room was excellent and came with an exceptional view over the Portree bay. Stunning in the morning.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, which could have been longer.
Kerrysdale is a perfect place to stay, when wanting to visit and experience Skye.
We hope to return to Skye and can happily recommend Kerrysdale B&B.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
161 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Booked to stay here back in February, when calling another B and B she gave me a number for this one.
Stayed here for 4 nights. The place is lovely and very clean.
Lance is very friendly and runs the place by himself but does an excellent job. The room we had was a large room downstairs with views over the bay of Portree.
The room has everything you need, comfy bed, TV, WiFi, tea and coffee, Clean towels and a nice bathroom with shower. Nice to stay somewhere that doesn't have do's and don't posters everywhere, this makes it a more homely feeling.
Breakfast is plentiful and nicely cooked.
There is lounge area for guests with plenty of maps to borrow, but any information needed about the island we just asked Lance who was happy to advise.
All in all a great relaxing stay in a well located area for touring. Would definitely recommend this place to people visiting Skye.

Room Tip: theres only 3 rooms and i can imagine all being as good as each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed here with a friend last week and we absolutely loved this place!

Lance, the host, was so helpful and nice. He runs the entire place by himself and does it so well! The rooms are impeccable and so comfortable. I also loved the decor of the place, homely yet stylish. The bathroom impressed me the most!

All the amenities we needed were present such as hair dryer, a large wardrobe, electric kettle etc. Breakfast is served at your preferred timing and is a good spread.

Overall, this was my favourite B&B throughout my travels :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicoleCJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I was unsure about staying in a new B&B because I thought it might not feel as authentic as a more old fashioned B&B, but I ended up liking Kerrysdale better than the more old fashioned B&Bs we stayed at. I appreciated the clean, modern amenities. It smelled very nice, the room decor was pretty, the bathroom was the nicest of the hotels I stayed at in Scotland, and the view from our window was lovely. Lance helped us plan our route around Skye and gave us restaurant recommendations, including which to avoid. (He did not know that one of them didn't allow children in the evenings and we had an infant with us, so if traveling with children be sure to check.) Lance cooked us a nice traditional breakfast as well. The main critique I would have is that the signs out front are difficult to read from the road so we drove past and had to ask a local for directions. If you reach the filling station when coming from the south, you've gone too far. I would definitely return to Kerrysdale and hope to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
1.0 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.6 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 99 in Portree
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.6 mi away
Portree Youth Hostel
Portree Youth Hostel
#4 of 19 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kerrysdale Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerrysdale Bed & Breakfast

Property: Kerrysdale Bed & Breakfast
Address: Kerrysdale Viewfield Road, Portree IV51 9EU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Kerrysdale Bed & Breakfast Portree, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing