We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whitehirst Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #36 of 93 Portree B&B and Inns
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An excellent B&B”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We had 1 night here during our time on Skye. The room was lovely and large with a huge en-suite bathroom, the owners were very pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was excellent.
A great place to stay if your in Portree, its 5 - 10 mins walk from the centre so its nice and quiet too.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Marie and John are very welcoming to make sure our stay was comfortable. B&B is a mere 3- minutes drive from town. Our room is spacious, well decorated and clean. Nice lounge facilities and newly fitted bathroom. Breakfast was yummy and well-portioned, perfect to kick start our day at Portree. Would definitely stay here again if we return to Portree!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eseer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We're two couples stayed for 1 night in June and found this B&B really lovely! Spotless clean and greatly managed, the hosts are wonderfull. Since there were 4 of us we enjoyed the full house facilities, including spacious lounge with the fireplace and huge TV. Also there were two nice cats - very friendly to the guests:) The breakfast was very good also and lovely served.
Nice location - just 10-15 min of walk from Portree center. We were lucky to enjoy the beginning of the Portree festival (lots of events including wonderfull bagpipes performance!)
Wish we could stay more in this B&B- adorable place, like Portree intself!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taloura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augsburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very lovely B&B with very welcoming and helpful owners. You feel good from the first minute and you really feel that the Gillies run their B&B with love. The room was very clean, very big and equipped with everything you need including a pretty modern bathroom. The breakfast was very yummy and lovely served. The B&B has a big and nice lounge (living room) where you could enjoy the evening and pet the cats of the house. Portree centre is only a 5 minute drive away or 10 - 15 minute walk. We´ve absolutely enjoyed our stay there and wished we could have been there longer. Absolutely recommendable!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ausisnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaatsheuvel, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

A good B&B in Portree. The room was clean with a large bed and enough space for your suitcase. We had a huge bathroom across the hall for ourselves. Breakfast was very nice with lots of options. Portree centre is just a few minutes by car away.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobWendy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay in the B&B. The room was spacious, as was the ensuite bathroom with a shower over bath. Tea, coffee and cookies were provided in the room. We liked that the guests had access to a living room although we didn't use it. We were fairly tired so wanted to rest in the room watching the TV, but unfortunately there was no TV in the room. We had access to WiFi although this, along with mobile reception can be difficult in Skye which is no fault of the owners.

The breakfast was brilliant and really set you up for the day. A huge selection of teas was on offer each morning and we liked that attention was taken to remember our breakfast preferences across the two mornings.

The couple were extremely friendly, the accommodation was quiet and we enjoyed the short stroll back and forth to the town. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: From memory there are two rooms available in this B&B and I am sure both are equally comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paleface21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Why would you want to stay in a hotel when you could stay here? Marie and John (along with Oscar and Olivia the cats) were very welcoming and friendly. My partner was going off on a windy afternoon to do some photography so I curled up in the guests lounge in warm and comfort to read my book. Marie was very helpful in suggesting somewhere good to eat in the town.
Later in the evening after a walk and food in Portree we returned to relax in the lounge and were joined by Marie and we had a lovely long chat. We felt totally at ease and like she was a long lost friend.

Our room was very comfortable and spacious with a beautiful clean bathroom just across the hall, and we slept very very well!

Breakfast, served in the dining room with the other two guests, was so amazing. Local fresh smoked salmon for breakfast along with all the other usual hot breakfast items. Add to that cereal fresh fruit, yoghurt, toast and a huge selection of teas or a cafetiere of coffee, we were set up for the day!

Keep up the great work.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheloulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portree hotels
0.3 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,054 reviews
0.3 mi away
Home Farm Apartments
Home Farm Apartments
#11 of 22 in Portree
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Portree Youth Hostel
Portree Youth Hostel
#7 of 22 in Portree
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Conusg Bed and Breakfast
Conusg Bed and Breakfast
#31 of 93 in Portree
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 93 in Portree
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitehirst Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitehirst Bed and Breakfast

Property: Whitehirst Bed and Breakfast
Address: White Hirst Staffin Road, Portree IV51 9HS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Whitehirst Bed And Breakfast Portree, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing