We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous wee shop.”

The Isle of Skye Soap Company
Ranked #2 of 10 Shopping in Portree
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Scotland, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous wee shop.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I was in last week to pick gifts for my family and I was pleasantly surprised at what this little shop had to offer, absolutely gorgeous gifts and hand made soaps galore, not forgetting the bubbly blonde assistant who helped me pick my lovely gifts, highly recommend when visiting portree.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank folklare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hope Valley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delightful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We could smell this shop before we saw it, a wonderful floral smell filling the area around it, inside are loads of scented candles and candle holders and other crafts. We purchased a candle in a tin after smelling them all, my 7 year old daughter loved that and she made the choice. No paraffin wax but soya wax I believe (I may be wrong on the soya) but the candle gives off a lovely scent. Recommend you visit here if you go to Skye.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Torridon1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
175 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good visit, enjoyed a laugh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We dropped in here having seen the shop over the last few years. Good selection of relevant items. Worth a visit. Even the laugh over the card machine was worth the time!

Helpful?
1 Thank MuchtravelledIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Give the nose a treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Excellent product range and cost comparatable. Lady on the till was very friendly and helpful. A few more tester would be helpful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Definitely worth a stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Tucked into an alley near the main square, this little shop offers an amazing array of soaps made on the property. The midge-repelling myrtle and heather actually helps, and it's easy to see why the zesty lemongrass is one of the shop's top sellers. Given our exchange rate, soap was about $8 per bar--so it's not cheap, but its nicely packaged and makes a good souvenir or gift. (If you're indecisive or your budget won't stretch quite far enough, there are also smaller samples available for less.)

The owner is friendly and seemed completely comfortable with browsers who stop in to try samples (there are creams and balms as well) without buying--so you needn't feel pressured.

The shop opens a little later than others in the morning, but it's worth the wait.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Isle of Skye Soap Company also viewed

Portree, Isle of Skye
Portree, Isle of Skye
 

Been to The Isle of Skye Soap Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing