We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious Bed and Breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenhaultin Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 97 Portree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

What a wonderful place Glenhaultin is. On our recent stay to Skye we stayed at 4 different B and B's. By some margin, this was the best by far. I would go as far as to say it was the best B and B I have ever stayed at. This property was designed by the owner (Fraser) specifically as a luxury B and B and you can tell. The house is modern and very tactfully decorated. The rooms are huge and furnished to an extremely high standard. You would be hard pushed to find a room like this even in a 5 star hotel. As far as service is concerned, Fraser could not do enough for us. He was very attentive and absolutely wanted to make sure our visit was as special as possible. I can't commend this place enough. It is hardly a surprise that everyone rates this 5 out of 5 on TripAdvisor. When we come back to Skye, this will be the ONLY place we will consider staying. Magnificent.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank L6YALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, Owner at Glenhaultin Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank You very much for your very kind words, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Glenhaultin and look forward to welcoming you back. It was our pleasure to look after you while you were at Glenhaultin, Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is an amazing house in a beautiful location with stunning views of the hills and surrounding countryside. The house is light, airy, fresh and immaculate throughout and I instantly felt at ease and relaxed. It's very obvious the love, care and attention to detail which has been put into this beautiful home with high quality furnishings throughout. Fraser gives you a warm and genuine welcome, is an amazing chef with an extensive breakfast menu worthy of a high-end hotel. At the end of an exhausting day, I fell into the most sumptuous bed with crisp white cotton sheets. My only disappointment was that I couldn't stay longer. This B and B truly is a little gem, I know it's the only place I'll be staying on my next visit to Skye.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SammyReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, Owner at Glenhaultin Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank You very much for your wonderful comments about your stay at Glenhaultin. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here. We very much appreciate your very descriptive review. We'll look forward to welcoming you back some day. Take Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This B&B is exactly as described on their web site - but what can't be conveyed is the extremely warm hospitality of the owners. In particular, Fraser goes out of his way to make sure everything is perfect for your stay. The bedroom was spacious and extremely comfortable - the TV with a full Sky package and also instant access to an extensive DVD library on a hard drive was more than any movie buffs and news addicts ! The breakfast was exceptional - and I have to say far superior to Kinlock Lodge where we stayed for the previous 2 nights and should have set the standard !! Congratulations Fraser and Laura - you've got a fantastic house in a beautiful location and one of the best B&Bs we've ever experienced - in the UK or anywhere else in the world !!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger-Brenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, Owner at Glenhaultin Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank You so much for your beautiful and very descriptive review about your Stay at Glenhaultin, we so appreciate it. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your Holiday and it would be great to see you again. Take Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Glenhaultin B&B.
The hosts really do a very good job. The rooms are very nice and fully equipped (big flat screen, satellite TV, films, computer, binoculars, sofa, iron, individual heating,t...). The breakfast was extremely well. You will enjoy it!

Room Tip: Both rooms are equal and have a magnificent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LikeMore2see
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have stayed in many B&Bs during the years and this is, in our experience, the very best. It is absolutely exceptional in every respect.

The owner, Fraser [-], warmly welcomed us upon our arrival. His house is very tastefully decorated, with superb views from every window. Our spacious room, with a reading nook furnished with a small sofa and coffee table, had a very comfortable bed and excellent bed and bathroom linens. The bathroom lighting was perfect.

The WIFI was very rapid and as good as, or better than, our own system at home.

The breakfast buffet, equal to a 5* hotel, was astounding as well as delicious.

Although this B&B is located 6 miles north of Portree, a large selection of restaurants and shops are easily accessible in town. For those desiring original sheepskin products, "Skyeskins" is located approximately 15 miles away in Waternish, off the A850 Dunvegan Road.

Our only regret is that we could only stay one night, a week would have been better!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, Owner at Glenhaultin Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank You very much for your very kind words. We very much appreciate knowing that you enjoyed your stay at Glenhaultin. We will look forward to inviting you back to Glenhaultin (you might have a completed Terrace to sit out on by then too :) Until then, please Take Care, Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Room is comfortable and clean.
Everything in the room is well served. You can see the owner has put a lot of effort in running this b&b, such as a luxury tv, binoculars in the room. You can see birds through the window and there is always a sea gull, "Steve" visiting the garden in the morning. Gorgeous see view from the room which you can view the sunset as well. Breakfast is luxury and it is like enjoying in a hotel.
The owner's family is nice and kind. Definitely we will stay here again if we come to revisit Isle of Skye.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ksho00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were given a really friendly welcome at this B&B. The rooms were very comfortable and had a clean contemporary look whilst showcasing skye products. Breakfast was great, beautifully presented and plentiful. I'd thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJK1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portree hotels
5.7 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,111 reviews
5.3 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#4 of 6 in Portree
62 reviews
5.7 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
438 reviews
5.3 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#3 of 97 in Portree
249 reviews
6.9 mi away
Canowindra B&B
Canowindra B&B
#6 of 97 in Portree
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenhaultin Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenhaultin Bed & Breakfast

Address: Annishader | Snizort, Portree IV51 9XQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Price Range: £100 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast Accommodation on the Isle of Skye. Situated below the Trotternish Ridge behind the Old Man of Storr with superb Loch and Landscape views ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenhaultin Bed & Breakfast Portree, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing