We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great freindly B&B”
Review of Cruinn Bheinn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cruinn Bheinn
Ranked #3 of 97 Portree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night whilst on Skye for work. Was booked in here by the place i was working for so never knew what to expect.
Located a few miles outside Portree so transport is a kinda must. Up a small track means that the location is very quiet and if you are lucky enough to have the weather the view is amazing.
The room was very well appointed and exceptionally clean. En-suite bathroom on the small side but more than adequate with some great addages that have not seen in some hotels. Shower cubicle tight, but being a broad loon totally understand. However the shower itself was great, good pressure and plenty hot water. Nothing worse than trying to shower in a dribble.
Breakfast menu is great, and comes with stunning views from a lovely bright clean breakfast room and and the full breakfast, pipping hot, excellent quality and certainly leaves you feeling set for the day ahead.
Hospitality shown from both Marina and Peter is first class. Excellent B&B at a brilliant rate. Hoping to be back in Skye in the comming summer and hopefully they wont be full. Thanks guys, makes you proud that tourists to our country would get this level of hospitality, comfort and service.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Stuied66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in September and were given a discount due to the time of year and number of nights we stayed so we opted for the large suite upstairs. This was an excellent idea as we had heavy rain for the majority of our trip and so stayed in more than usual. The suite had a large living area with wrap-around couch, huge flat screen TV, and tea/coffee/hot-chocolate making facilities. It was very impressive. The owners were really nice and helpful, and breakfast was very tasty.
Only slight downside was that you need to drive into Portree, so we skipped alcohol with dinner but it wasn't a big deal for us.

Room Tip: Suite upstairs was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank z0ekg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights as part of a tour of Scotland. It was a really lovely room with great views, fabulous food and friendly advice from the hosts. It's a great place to explore the more remote parts of Skye, away for the main tourist areas. There are no eateries nearby (i.e. less than 7 miles maybe) so best eat whilst out exploring or plan to go out later to Portree or visit somewhere more remote like the steininn.co.uk which we thought was great. Definitely worth a stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abumonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Peter and Marina felt more like friends and were very hospitable. We enjoyed our room, the bed, the comforter and pillows-all were comfortable. It was outside the town of Portree which at first, I wasnt too sure about but it wasnt far at all and the scenery from the front was serene and peaceful. Breakfasts werevery good but I would have preferred a couple different options over the Scottish breakfast. We have travelled over 2.5 weeks between Ireland and Scotland and I was getting tired of eggs, bacon and sausages. I dont drink cows milk so I wasnt able to opt for cereal either. Other than that, it was just lovely!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElizabethW58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Recently stayed at Cruinn Bheinn on a work trip. The B&B is very clean, spacious and is in a beautiful location, close to Portree. Marina and Pete were exceptional hosts and even with our early starts they made sure we left for a days work with a decent cooked breakfast inside us :-)
Would recommend very highly to anyone looking for accommodation close to Portree or Uig

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George4080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed at Cruinn Bheinn for 3 nights (06.08.-09.08.2013) and it was a real perfect home for our tours around the Isle of Skye. We had a real wonderful time on the Isle of Skye and Cruinn Bheinn. The room looked like a nice small appartment with very good beds and a wonderful bathroom. The funiture looked new and nice, it was not that what you would expect, when you stay in a B&B. It was real much better than that. Peter and Marina are very nice hosts and they are always available if you need tips or help. We had to leave Cruinn Bheinn early in the morning, but for our hosts that also was no problem. They served a real great breakfast each morning and so also on the day we had to leave Cruinn Bheinn. Our next time at the Isle of Skye we will stay again at Cruinn Bheinn, because it was real perfect. Thanks again to Peter and Marina!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ludes1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Cruinn Bheinn is a beautifully built and appointed family home on a country hillside overlooking the loch. The welcome we received from Peter and Marina was warm and friendly. They are experienced at the art of hosting visitors to their home, have always lived on Skye and were able to help with any local information we needed - even to when roadworks somewhere else on Skye meant we should allow a few extra minutes for our day trip.
We were made to feel at home in our large bedroom with its ensuite - nothing was any trouble at all for our hosts. A delicious, freshly cooked breakfast was served in their dining room which has world class views. A restful night's sleep was easy in this beautiful home. My husband and I were very pleased that we made the decision to stay here rather than in the comparatively busy, tourist centre of Portree, just a few miles south. An early morning ramble up the road, surrounded by crofts, was a great way to start the day. I hope we might stay there again one day. Rosemary and Allan

Room Tip: The two rooms at the front have a stunning view of the loch but all rooms are spacious and comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portree hotels
6.9 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,106 reviews
6.8 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
426 reviews
6.5 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#4 of 6 in Portree
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
203 reviews
6.5 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 97 in Portree
249 reviews
8.1 mi away
Canowindra B&B
Canowindra B&B
#6 of 97 in Portree
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cruinn Bheinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cruinn Bheinn

Address: 4 Eyre | Kensaleyre, Portree IV51 9XB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Price Range: £48 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Cruinn Bheinn Portree, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing