We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ellen's Bothy

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Martin R
Bathgate, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

When we arrived a at the both it was exactly as Ellen described and everything we needed to settle in was there. Real homely and cosy and.a joy to wake up each morning. Would definitely go back, than you Ellen

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Liked least: All good
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1234Victo...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy wee house in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 15 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Everything about Ellen's bothy was simply perfect. The house was immaculate on arrival with lovely wee welcome gifts. There was enough fuel for the fire to last the 3 nights we stayed and the bed is so comfy!

Our top tips are to catch the Quiraing at sunrise and to sit outside the bothy on a clear night and watch the stars.

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wood burning stove.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2016
Thank you so much for your comments. I am happy you enjoyed staying at the bothy and experiencing the wonderful sights and sounds of the area!

Best wishes

Ellen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chillaxing Holiday then book Ellen's Bothy”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

From time of booking to end of holiday everything was excellent.
Once booked we contacted Ellen who gave local information and explicit directions to get to the bothy.
On arrival we met Wendy (Housekeeping) who was charming and very helpful, our two mini dachshunds liked her as she spoke to them and told them were the dog treats were in the bothy..nice touch.

The bothy was as described and a lovely place to explore Skye from.

Misha and Willow the mini dachshunds think we would be Barking Mad not to return to Skye another year.

Bonuses were no midges and only rain 1 night.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2015
Lol. Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We do hope to welcome you again in the future! Best wishes, Ellen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivian V
2 reviews
“a warm welcome in a cozy bothy”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a great time on skye and Ellen's bothy was the perfect starting point for our daily brief journeys. Ellen wellcomed us so nice with milk, hot choclate, tea and shortbread. The directions to the bothy were very detailed and thus helpfull (and needed :)).
The bothy was clean and left nothing to be desired. The stove was very nice and provided everything, we needed after a long walking tour. The private parking lot was huge and there is a little garden with benches surrounding the bothy.
Thank you very much for everything, we will come back for sure.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, stove, the good weather, sheeps, the map in the hallway and the warm welcome
Liked least: leaving (and the midges)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loisf50
Tayport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, warm and welcoming accommodation.”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Skye is a wonderful place to visit if you enjoy walking, hill climbing and cycling. The scenery is breathtaking so don't forget the camera. Plenty bird watching too. Ellen's bothy was clean and cosy and we were also able to take the dog. If you do take the dog with you a word of warning though, as beautiful and luscious as Skye is with all it's miles upon miles of picturesque landscapes dogs are on leads for majority of the time when out and about. Skye has also got lots and lots of sheep in areas with no fences so quite understandably dogs must be kept on a lead. However there are also areas where cows and calves are and they do and will most certainly chase you if you have a dog. Quite scary to say the least. Our dog gets more freedom at home. All in all though a great place if it's peace and tranquillity your looking for.

Date of stay: August 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Z1466PHne...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great little bothy in great location”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Had an excellent relaxing stay in early July. The bothy was clean and cosy with everything needed. Really good location and Skye was great. Local stores and restaurant were really good. People friendly. Some amazing scenery and good walks nearby. Ellen was very helpful.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2015
Thank you! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R & E W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A warm, welcoming, easy to use and very well equipped bothy waited for us after a long journey and even the dogs were welcomed with biscuits and blankets. The 'local' eagle greeted us on arrival as well by flying over. We saw him several times more, as well as otters and seals in Staffin bay (only 10 min away). We looked for the dinosaur footprint in Staffin harbour, but somehow missed it! We need to try again... I was wondering how well I would cope with not having a TV but it was great. Listening to the radio and written books was a good alternative. Not having Internet access either was good too, but as the car developed some trouble this was something we found a bit more challenging. The Columba1400 cafe provides Wifi access for a donation - however, access is still limited. Phone usage no problem. Car was fine in the end after having a check in Portree with very short notice but excellent customer service (Ford dealer near the Coop store in Portree. they do all car makes).The wooden stove was not really needed as it was warm enough but we did anyway - it was such a nice focal point sitting on the sofa with a glass of wine in the hand...Although we did some cooking - very well equipped and easy to use kitchen! - we also used the Staffin store for very good Indian take away (check which meat is cooked on the day!) and the Columba 1400 café (lovely views, good homemade food but a bit disappointing on the fish and chips, which was not homemade) and the Kilmartin café for a good burger. We did a lot of exploring of the island and walking and the bothy was ideally located for this. If you are a dog owner, keep in mind there are a lot of sheep around and the dogs need to be kept on leads for most of the time. We also treated us to the luxury of an hours flight with Skye seaplanes on Wednesday which was the most wonderful way to see mainly the eastern side of Skye and something we can thoroughly recommend. We had a lovely time and I would thoroughly recommend the bothy for a relaxing stay on this wonderful island.
Thank you very much Ellen for making it so welcoming.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: warm character of the bothy
Liked least: no internet access
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely and detailed review! I really appreciate it. Best wishes, Ellen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.