We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Marks”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ben Tianavaig Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 99 Portree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top Marks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Had a wonderful stay at this lovely B&B. It's in a great spot with amazing views, very comfortable room, really helpful and welcoming hosts and a great breakfast too (with a great selection and some delicious specials).

Made our trip to Portree a real highlight - we'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    42
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
226
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Were in this hotel this week, two couples enjoying a trip away, the first surprise was being asked to remove our shoes, politely, I will say, but to say it was surprising!! I would say this set the tone for the visit as mine host was not very pleased when I refused and, for the rest of our trip was rather offhand. Charlotte was very pleasant, the breakfasts served were excellent, though I think we should have been told in advance that we would be sharing table with other guests not in our party, as well as the shoes!!. Room was fine, as we were only there 2 nights, but was surprised to hear that the towels would not be replaced, as one usually has the choice as to saving the environment. We certainly will go to Portree again, but not here. Maybe Charlotte should do front of house on her own, as she is excellent,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Charlotte & Bill were great hosts. Room was comfy clean and bright with some added extras. Great location, walking distance to some great restaurants. Breakfast was yummy, with a good selection to choose from. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JammoPerthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
by Kirriemuir
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a lovely homely guest-house, overlooking the harbour in Portree. The hosts are warm and friendly, and all rooms have a nice view overlooking the harbour. A nice choice of breakfast ( ordered the night before ), is presented in a lovely friendly atmosphere in the dining room. We occupied the Staffin Room, which was clean and tidy, spacious, with all facilities. There are nice sea-food restaurants on your doorstep, and plenty of friendly bars for an evening drink. Its a good base to explore Skye, easily travelling north or south. Its fabulous driving, as the roads weave and wind, with spectacular scenery. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The Staffin room is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ndunsmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I stayed three nights at Ben Tianavaig. Bill and Charlotte were hospitable hosts and were able to pack us a lunch for our last day since we had to leave early. Parking was a bit of a pain but Charlotte helped us figure it out. Breakfast was quite good with a large variety to choose from. This was a great location with a view of the harbor and walkable to restaurants and shops. Our room was quite large and the bed was big and comfortable. We would recommend this B and B if you're staying in Skye.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelinglibrarian8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Great place to stay simple /basic/relaxing and fun. It is located on the side of harbor. The rooms are comfortable and very clean, with a beautiful view to the sea. Nothing except positive things to say. !! Will go again . Charlotte and Bill made a beautiful place!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank castrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
194 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

A 2 Night Stay - Portree is lovely itself and a good location to tour the Isle of Skye from. Ben Tianavaig has a terrific view of the harbour and being in town is close to restaurants etc - so if you plan to sit in your room to look at the view and want a short walk to eat then this is the place.
Otherwise we would not recommend this B&B - we had a downstairs room that itself was small, the bathroom is very small and the shower stall is exceptionally small - do not expect to be able to scrub your feet as bending over will not happen. The bed was rather uncomfortable being lumpy. Breakfast was very good, no better nor worse than other B&B's we stayed in this trip. Breakfast is a communal thing and Charlotte and Bill encourage interaction amongst themselves and the guests - there is one table which sits 6 and another that sits two - if you like the interaction it can be very entertaining - if you like quiet and solitude, not likely. Parking is limited and a pain. Just not for us - we would choose somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portree hotels
0.3 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#5 of 5 in Portree
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coolin View Guest House
Coolin View Guest House
#15 of 99 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 99 in Portree
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Tianavaig Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Tianavaig Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ben Tianavaig Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5 Bosville Terrace, Portree IV51 9DG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Ben Tianavaig B&B in Portree - all 4 guest rooms are en-suite and have great views out over the harbour, Loch Portree and the mountains. This is a wonderful base for exploring the glorious island of Skye, as well as enjoying the shops, restaurants and amenities of the town. We are open all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ben Tianavaig Bed And Breakfast
Ben Tianavaig Hotel Portree
Ben Tianavaig Bed & Breakfast Portree, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing