We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful vacation stay in Portree”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ben Tianavaig Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 95 Portree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Thank you Charlotte & Bill for the wonderful opportunity to stay at your B&B! My daughter and & were treated like family and our room was spacious and very comfortable. We loved the delicious breakfast that we shared with other travelers in the morning and we valued all the terrific advice that Charlotte gave us on how to enjoy Skye. We lacked for absolutely nothing! The beautiful view from our room was across the harbor and changed hour by hour, depending on the weather. If you come here, be sure to eat next door at Harbor View Restaurant for an amazing seafood experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the Staffin room for a large room on the second floor with an amazing view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldenGirlCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
There are newer reviews for Ben Tianavaig Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

My husband and I plus another couple stayed in this bed and breakfast for two nights in July. The place is spotlessly clean, all toiletries and towels were more than adequate, and the breakfast huge and varied. Our bedrooms and bathrooms were very large in comparison to most other bed and breakfast rooms, with reading materials suppplied for every taste. This house is on the waterfront and therefore within walking distance of everything. I can understand the need to take off shoes. The area gets rainy at times, and I wouldn't want my home tracked through with mud and street grime. We would go back in an instant.

Room Tip: There are two ground floor rooms and two on the third floor. We liked the third floor with its brea...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maryfort c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I've been to several bed and breakfasts, but this was by far my favorite. Charlotte and Bill were so welcoming and friendly; I felt right at home. They made sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated, and the view was spectacular. Breakfast in the morning was delicious, and there were many options to choose from. When we had to leave early and skip breakfast to take the bus back to Glasgow, they packed us a lunch to take with us so we would have something to eat on the way. It was very thoughtful and much appreciated. They were also helpful in making sure our dinner reservations were booked for the restaurants. So, if you like amazing hospitality in the most beautiful of locations, look no further than Ben Tianavaig.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had an overall very pleasant experience at Ben Tianavaig. The hosts were extremely friendly and sent us a helpful email before arriving with recommendations for Portree and Skye - several of which we tried and were pleased with. The B&B itself is located centrally and has a nice view over the town.

Breakfast was generous and very good. The breakfast room is relatively small so a main table is shared with others, but Charlotte & Bill made sure to briefly introduce everyone so it was not in any way awkward.

Our room was pleasant and the bed comfortable - a little on the small side but that didn't bother us given we were only there for one night. It might have been more of an issue if it had been a longer stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sacha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband and I recently spent two weeks traveling around England and Scotland and fell in love with the Isle of Skye. The Ben Tianavaig B & B was very nice and clean. However, we both felt like we were intruding in someone's house. We were asked to remove our shoes upon entering which we found to be uncomfortable. There seemed to be alot of "house rules" which we found different than the other B & B's we had stayed at. Our bathroom shared a wall with someone else's so we could very clearly hear people on the other side having conversation. I'm sure they could too. Overall the owners were very pleasant and when they found out we had to leave early the next morning (8:00 AM) before breakfast would normally have been served, they packed us a "to-go" lunch which was very nice and thoughtful. The view from our room was amazing and right next to downtown Portree. Overall we enjoyed it but felt we were intruding in someone's home instead of staying at a "business".

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tornadomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Had a wonderful stay at this lovely B&B. It's in a great spot with amazing views, very comfortable room, really helpful and welcoming hosts and a great breakfast too (with a great selection and some delicious specials).

Made our trip to Portree a real highlight - we'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Were in this hotel this week, two couples enjoying a trip away, the first surprise was being asked to remove our shoes, politely, I will say, but to say it was surprising!! I would say this set the tone for the visit as mine host was not very pleased when I refused and, for the rest of our trip was rather offhand. Charlotte was very pleasant, the breakfasts served were excellent, though I think we should have been told in advance that we would be sharing table with other guests not in our party, as well as the shoes!!. Room was fine, as we were only there 2 nights, but was surprised to hear that the towels would not be replaced, as one usually has the choice as to saving the environment. We certainly will go to Portree again, but not here. Maybe Charlotte should do front of house on her own, as she is excellent,

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portree hotels
0.3 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,068 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#6 of 6 in Portree
468 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coolin View Guest House
Coolin View Guest House
#14 of 95 in Portree
303 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 95 in Portree
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Tianavaig Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Tianavaig Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5 Bosville Terrace, Portree IV51 9DG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Price Range: £65 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Ben Tianavaig B&B in Portree - all 4 guest rooms are en-suite and have great views out over the harbour, Loch Portree and the mountains. This is a wonderful base for exploring the glorious island of Skye, as well as enjoying the shops, restaurants and amenities of the town. We are open all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ben Tianavaig Bed And Breakfast
Ben Tianavaig Hotel Portree
Ben Tianavaig Bed & Breakfast Portree, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing