We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our Best stays in Scotland!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Peinmore House by Portree
Ranked #23 of 91 Portree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ca
2 reviews
“One of our Best stays in Scotland!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I can not say enough about this place. One of the best meals we had in Scotland, one of the best places we stayed in Scotland as well. The grounds were beautiful and the house itself was very well kept. We stayed in one of the downstairs suites, which was very spacious and comfortable, we highly recommend.
Location is literally 2 minutes from town which is a blessing for parking and getting away from the slight congestion of Portree.
Don suggested a few hikes for our travels, which turned into one of the most amazing, breath taking scenic adventures we've had in a while! Peinmore is definitely a highlight of our 16 day trip.
Thank you Don and Margaret for a wonderful time!! Also, we can't thank you enough for letting us have our "Boxer" fix by playing with Ruby, it meant the world to us!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the suite, it has a washer and dryer. The kitchen is perfect when the small town's resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorCal-Jo-Nathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
134
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and myself stayed with two friends earlier this month for three nights. Don & Margaret were very welcoming/helpful/informative. Location/accommodation/breakfast/ambience - absolutely superb.

It seems nit-picking to comment negatively and to do so gives no pleasure BUT a) we felt a reduction in tariff (however modest) was justified for a three night stay and b) afternoon tea/cakes were not made available, despite website and in-room brochure references. I learned that a reduction is offered for stays of four nights or more and apologies for no tea/cakes were forthcoming, quoting "an oversight"!

It felt a little bit like returning home from shopping at John Lewis and finding something we had paid for had been left out!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlaxB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in early May 2014.Don and Margaret have created the most beautiful home and made us feel very welcome. the accommodation was fantastic - extremely comfortable, large room including a large sofa and a very large en-suite which had probably the best shower I have ever used! Our room had a great view over the garden to Portree and when the sun shone on our last day we could even see the Old Man of Storr!
Don was particularly helpful with information and suggestions of things to do and places to go which was very helpful as we were only on Skye for 3 nights and so wanted to make the most of our time.
He also offered to dry our very wet coats after one particularly wet walk!
The food was fabulous - everything! We could not fault anything with this place and would recommend it wholeheartedly!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Don and Margaret run a comfortable, cosy B&B and are friendly and knowledgeable hosts. We were lucky enough to be in the attic room at the top of the stairs with views of the Cuillin mountains, which also has a very large ensuite. The breakfast is generous, and make sure you avail yourself of Don's help in setting an itinerary for the day or finding a restaurant for the evening- we did and managed to see a heap of Skye despite only having a few days to do it in.

Room Tip: We stayed in the top room, an attic-style room, which was large, comfortable, and warm, while also h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gr0undskeeperWillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yarmouth, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My wife and I spent three nights at Peinmore house as our home base for exploring the Isle of Skye. We couldn't have been happier with our choice as Don and Margaret are wonderful hosts. We had been in the UK for a week before arriving and were staying in B&B's which were close to town centers. We were hoping to walk to town from Peinmore house but the road is very busy and it just wouldn't be safe to walk into the center of town. Our initial concerns melted away once we walked into Peinmore House. The first impression is of calm and elegance since Margaret clearly has a keen eye for design. The house and rooms have very nice upscale touches and we felt like were staying in a boutique hotel instead of a B&B. The room was large, very clean and beautifully appointed.
Getting back to the location, my wife and I took morning walks before breakfast and the road that runs up next to their property winds up a hill and gave way to a great view of Portree Bay at sunrise…it was a great way to start the day. It also allowed me to burn a few calories which I quickly replaced during the excellent breakfast. I had the Full English the first morning and had a breakfast cup on the second day which was REALLY good and a bit smaller (lighter maybe not being the right word since it was gloriously cheesy). Third day was homemade granola, yogurt and fruit. Man can't live on egg/bacon/toast alone and not put on an extra 10 pounds on vacation.
Don was helpful in giving us pointers on things to do and his suggestions were invaluable. Don and Margaret also, very thoughtfully, provided very good books and maps of the area and I'm not talking about the tour pamphlets that little hotel lobbies. These were good tour books...one of which we had bought in the US as part of our trip planning.
The town is literally 5 mins away by car so we drove to dinner and took a walk around Scorrybreac circuit to watch the lights come on in town. A quick drive home and we retired to our quiet room to recharge for the next day.
My only regret was that we weren't around for afternoon tea. If the cakes were anywhere near as good as the biscuits left in our room each night, then we really missed something special. The island was just too beautiful and we had great weather so we had to tear ourselves away from the sites we were enjoying to make it back to town for dinner.
We will be back to Portree and wouldn't think of staying anywhere other than Peinmore House. Thank for the great stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbcapecod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights as a family of four during a tour of Scotland. The place is just wonderful - in fact it is more like a hotel then a guest house (some of the places we stayed in would pale in comparison). Margaret and Don are wonderful hosts, very helpful, and Don always has a story to tell which makes the sights in Skye all the more interesting. Breakfast is a real treat, unfortunately we missed tea and cakes in the afternoon but I am sure they were of the same quality.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ophthal_erg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My husband and I recently spent four nights in Margaret and Don's delightful home. Our bedroom and bathroom were of an extremely high standard, with every comfort catered for. The breakfast was delicious and the afternoon tea , served with Margaret's outstanding homemade cakes was a welcome treat after a day exploring the beautiful island of Skye. We shall be back!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purdey11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
2.0 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
1.9 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#5 of 6 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
1.7 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
2.2 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 91 in Portree
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.7 mi away
Portree Youth Hostel
Portree Youth Hostel
#5 of 20 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peinmore House by Portree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peinmore House by Portree

Property: Peinmore House by Portree
Address: | By Portree, Portree IV51 9LG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peinmore House is a family run Bed and Breakfast. We are delighted to give you a warm welcome to the Isle of Skye. A great base for moving round the island, just a couple of miles from the capital Portree with local bars and restaurants. The house, as you can see has some great views. It is an old Manse with views of the Cullins from one end and the Old Man of Storr from the other. With spacious rooms all with en-suite bathrooms and a great breakfast to set you up for the day there can be no doubt that this is a great place to base yourselves to explore Skye from. There are also substantial gardens with wild orchids growing, including a walled garden with a stream running through it, this house can boast peace and quiet, a place to get away to and relax. There is one reason why we live here and that is because we love it and we would love to share it with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Peinmore House by Portree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peinmore House By Portree Hotel Portree
Peinmore House By Portree Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing