We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base close to Portree”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Torvaig Caravan And Camping Site
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great base close to Portree”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

First night of our trip this was a great place to crash- close to Portree, so you can stock up on stuff before moving on

Very friendly owners, but felt like a bit of a rip off at £7 pp for only a bit of grass and some hot water

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    35
    11
    4
    7
See reviews for
18
58
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Well, very basic camp - and offers you exactly what you need. Basic but clean showers, very friendly owner. You can also find a map with loads of tourist materials in the reception. Very quiet indeed. Paid £7 for one night. Nice view on sunny days. Great place to stay if you want to explore this amazing Isle!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callander, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Hi Our family returned again to this wonderful campsite. Very clean, friendly and quiet. A small site with good facilites and showers that are hot and stay on.Very scenic, we love it and have posted a photo.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dufftown, Moray
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Stayed 5 nights in early April, the site is well maintained, clean and has good facilities. Toilet and showers are all clean and warm. The site is 10-15 minutes walk from Portree and ideally located for touring Skye. The Wi Fi is a very reasonable price and quite quick. Tariff charges are a lot less than some of the other sites offering very good value for money. The site manager os friendly, efficient and helpful. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank BobTheDogsDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We arrived at this site to a pleasant welcome, it was reasonably late but the warden had a caravan near the entrance. Find a pitch and see us in the morning he said. We enjoyed our stay and the relaxed approach. Price was £12.00 for a couple without electric which we don't need. Considering its close proximity to Portree this is very reasonable. A real campsite for campers and vans, good clean facilities. Well run relaxed efficient site we will be back. Thanks Torvaig.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mountainmaverick_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Lovely small campsite in a great location with good views and clean toilet and shower blocks. The site is just a 10 minute walk into the centre of Portree. Very friendly and helpful owners who even pointed us in the direction of good b&bs when our tent blew down in the gale force winds! Thank you also to the people in the nearby camper who pegged our tent back down!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavia, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

we stayed here in August for one night in a tent. we were greeted by a very kind old lady. she was very helpful for all. The bathrooms are always clean and tidy, and lovely drinking water is avaiable! The camp is located 20 minutes from Portree, but the road has a sidewalk and there is a beautiful vew of the town. Really a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edoardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portree hotels
0.7 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
1.0 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#6 of 6 in Portree
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marmalade Hotel
Marmalade Hotel
#5 of 6 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
1.0 mi away
Portree Youth Hostel
Portree Youth Hostel
#5 of 20 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torvaig Caravan And Camping Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torvaig Caravan And Camping Site

Property: Torvaig Caravan And Camping Site
Address: Staffin Road, Portree IV51 9HU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Portree
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Torvaig Caravan And Camping Site Portree, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing