We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, cool, and cozy!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Torvaig Caravan And Camping Site
Certificate of Excellence
Brasov, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Clean, cool, and cozy!”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

One of the best campsites I've stayed in! Conveniently located just outside Portree, it is green, clean, and really good value. You can make your way to the Old Man of Storr from there and enjoy a short trek.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OliviaPetraComan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    39
    13
    4
    7
See reviews for
21
61
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Campsite was small but out of season had plenty of space for Tents and Campers etc. If only someone had pointed that out to the guys who pitched 6" from us! Facilities were very clean and of a good standard for the cost of staying. Very friendly owner and only 1.4 miles from Portree makes a great base from which to explore.

Would happily stay again if we were in Skye!

Room Tip: Don't camp next to the white house where everyone comes to wash up!
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank RoseAndSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Barra
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed one night in our camper good clean site with great shower block and toilets.Twenty minute walk in to Portree with loads of places to eat and a co op to stock up on supplies.Stunning views when the weather is clear wish we could have stayed longer really helpfull staff will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

First night of our trip this was a great place to crash- close to Portree, so you can stock up on stuff before moving on

Very friendly owners, but felt like a bit of a rip off at £7 pp for only a bit of grass and some hot water

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Well, very basic camp - and offers you exactly what you need. Basic but clean showers, very friendly owner. You can also find a map with loads of tourist materials in the reception. Very quiet indeed. Paid £7 for one night. Nice view on sunny days. Great place to stay if you want to explore this amazing Isle!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callander, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Hi Our family returned again to this wonderful campsite. Very clean, friendly and quiet. A small site with good facilites and showers that are hot and stay on.Very scenic, we love it and have posted a photo.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dufftown, Moray
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Stayed 5 nights in early April, the site is well maintained, clean and has good facilities. Toilet and showers are all clean and warm. The site is 10-15 minutes walk from Portree and ideally located for touring Skye. The Wi Fi is a very reasonable price and quite quick. Tariff charges are a lot less than some of the other sites offering very good value for money. The site manager os friendly, efficient and helpful. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank BobTheDogsDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
0.7 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,053 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#6 of 6 in Portree
453 reviews
1.0 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 6 in Portree
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 93 in Portree
235 reviews
20.0 mi away
Saucy Marys Lodge
Saucy Marys Lodge
#3 of 3 in Kyleakin
269 reviews
5.2 mi away
Skeabost Hotel
Skeabost Hotel
#1 of 6 in Skeabost
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torvaig Caravan And Camping Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torvaig Caravan And Camping Site

Property: Torvaig Caravan And Camping Site
Address: Staffin Road, Portree IV51 9HU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Portree
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Torvaig Caravan And Camping Site Portree, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing