We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“beautiful location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Cedar

The Cedar(the middle house of the green block).
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cedar(the middle house of the green block).
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The Cedar(the middle house of the green block).
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
kathy g
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beautiful location”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed at the Cedar in September. It was great accomodation in a perfect location overlooking the harbour. would recommend it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lentheman
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great location, views fantastic”
Reviewed 10 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

If you Google Portree then you always get the harbour scene which includes the Cedar (it is the green building on the right hand side). Location is fantastic as others have said with views across the harbour. Cruise ships moor in the bay and they can be quite impressive. We saw sea eagles a couple of times circling above the bay. Take bincoculars!! I could envisage parking to be a problem in peak season but we were very lucky in this respect and managed to park on the pier all week (the spaces in front of the Rosedale Hotel are good). The apartment itself is very comfortable and clean and suprisingly quiet (except for one night when there was live music going on until 5 a.m. somewhere). Fortunately we couldn’t hear it from the upstairs bedroom and it was only audible from the bathroom. It is equipped with everything you would need for a short or long stay. At the end of the pier is a fishmonger (opens late a.m).which we used for fresh mussels and scallops (both delicious). There is a Co-op supermarket within two minutes’ walk and a larger one by car within two minutes’ drive. There is a chip shop downstairs which does great chips. Portree itself is tiny (population 1000) with several restaurants and bars. The Isle of Skye is a beautiful place and is all about dramatic views and backdrops. It is similar to the Lake District in many ways but not as crowded (to be expected because of accessibility and bed spaces) but with the great sea views. There are not that many main tourist spots and they are all very busy and we could not get parked at Quiraing so turned back and didn’t bother. As far as walking is concerned, the Lake District is definitely friendlier and you would experience the Fairy Pools many times in the Lakes (Easedale Tarn springs to mind). We covered most of the island in our weeks’ stay and discovered that the main attraction of Skye (and probably most of the Isles) is the dramatic coastal scenery which is exceptional, especially when it is misty and atmospheric. We have holidayed in the Lakes and Cornwall many times over the last 25 years and Skye is a bit of both. However it was a ten and a half hour drive for us from Chester so if we did it again we would probably break the journey. We would definitely return to the Cedar again if in the area

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnhitch...
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“perfect location”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

perfect location to tour the isle of skye lots of things to see within a half hour drive, boat trips to see the local wildlife such as seals and white tailed eagles is a must the house it's self has all you need for a comfortable cosy stay looking out over the harbour. will try to book again in the near future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fudgemell...
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning views, amazing location and lovely house”
Reviewed 9 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed in the Cedar in late July and truly enjoyed our stay. It was a very comfortable house in the middle of Portree. From the living room, you have a fantastic view of the harbour (and the occassional seagull stealing fish and chips from unsuspecting tourists). If you take the walk along the Scorrybreac circuit, you'll find great views from the opposite side of the harbour, and can see the Cedar.

It was always a pleasure coming back to the house after a day of hiking or touring Skye. We really liked the whirlpool bath and the sauna. The bed was very comfortable and we had plenty of room to store all our clothes and belongings. Because we did not have a car, the Cedar's location was perfect for us. Close to all the shops and restaurants in Portree and we were able to take some tours and buses from Portree as well.

I would definitely recommend a stay in the Cedar to anyone wishing to visit Skye and would love to come back here myself one day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan L
Banff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Book this house it is fantastic”
Reviewed 20 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

fantastic accommodation and location views from house superb. Very good value for money. Everything in house for any length of stay. All instructions in house very easy to follow. Hope to come back in the future

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynn m
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent accomodation”
Reviewed 21 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

The location is amazing the view from a windows was fantastic took the wife and kids up for a break after christmas and it was fantastic .Comfy beds everything you need including washing machine and dryer . sauna was a bonus . Everything nearby will certainly be back soon . would highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grh1981
Darlington
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“October road trip”
Reviewed 5 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
3
people found this review helpful

our main destination on a road trip form County Durham to Skye - booked the cedar following trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. You can't ask for a better location views of the sea from three rooms just beautiful ! All you could need form a self catering cottage comfy beds and sufficient heating. Initially worried about parking as on the pier but always a space for us. Washer dryer and a sauna! unfortunately whirlpool bath out of action for our stay but didn't really miss it as two showers. I would defo stay again and recommend to family/friends. lovely chippy next door and Chinese / pizza take away local. The only suggestion I would have is for new settees - bit uncomfortable after a while if your having a DVD marathon but on the whole brill stay also fab communications with the owner and hassle free checkin/out

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing