We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine Scottish Hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portree
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Duirinish Guest House
Ranked #2 of 99 Portree B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arnold, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fine Scottish Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at this lovely B&B in June. Allan was a fantastic host. He was very very helpful, offering great suggestions for hikes and other activities. The rooms were spotless and the breakfasts hearty and good (thank you Lindsay). The common lounge was a great place to watch the world cup. Definitely one of our favorite accomodations in our 3 weeks in Scotland.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AIR12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
121
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here at the end of May 2014. The room was lovely with nice little touches, nice fresh modern decor and was spotlessly clean. Just a lovely relaxing stay! The breakfast was perfect. The owners were lovely too and were very friendly and accommodating. The location is good and close to the town centre. I would highly recommend staying here and hope to return next time I visit Portree :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Pros.
Warmest welcome from Allan and Ruth upon arrival. Very friendly, approachable and they gove good recommendation of restaurant and atteaction to explore around. Room decoration is very trendful and sweet. Spacious and clean bathroom.

Cons.
Room 2 that we are staying is too warm to stay during summer and it will be better if there's a fan provided. Sweating perfusely at night. Wireless is not easily access as well.

Will definitely recommend to friend and be back again. Maybe not that room 2 during summer though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWern_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We had reservations about staying at B&B's before leaving home. A couple of nights staying at Duirinish dispelled any misgivings.
This Guest house is perfect, or a close as you can get.
We loved our stay and would happily return there.
Ruth is a gracious and friendly host.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Allan and Ruth made us feel very welcome in their home from the moment we arrived.
The room was comfortable with en suite bathroom. The shower was excellent. We felt the room was a bit small for 2 people especially since we stayed 3 nights. However, there was a lovely big lounge for us to use.
The B&B is in an excellent location, we were able to walk to the Aros centre and into town.
They have easy parking at the front of the house .

Don't miss the scrambled egg and smoked salmon !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leena-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

What you expect from a good b&b - approachable and warm hosts, a tasty meal to start your day and a comfy bed for the night. Short walk to the city centre and plenty of guest parking. Our room a little on the small side but we felt that overall was good value.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SiFind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this lovely guest house owned by Allan and Ruth Prior. They are charming and very helpful with what to see and do on the island. They were also very easy to contact via email with our questions about making reservations to stay with them. The house itself is modern and comfortable, breakfast options yummy, and an easy stroll into Portree town.

Would highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wahiawakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portree
0.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
0.4 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
23.7 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
0.8 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 99 in Portree
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duirinish Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duirinish Guest House

Property: Duirinish Guest House
Address: Duirinish Viewfield Road, Portree IV51 9ES, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Portree
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Portree
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are family run guest house, close to the centre of Portree, Isle of Skye. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Duirinish Guest House Portree, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing