We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$77
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$77
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/12/21
Expedia.com
US$77
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/21
Hotels.comUS$77
eDreamsUS$77
FindHotelUS$77
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
53
45
25
13
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
53
45
25
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main square superb location two nights reception ensuite facilities shower skye kettle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We had paid for a double room with en-suite. The rooms were tiny, bed uncomfortable and not at all a pleasant experience. It cost almost £80 for the room and I have stayed in much better rooms costing half that!. Would not recommend this to anyone

Was an awful experience that I would not wish to repeat.

Room tip: Wouldn't stay here again if they paid me!
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank heatherw101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Portree Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

HI Heather W
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us,Im sorry to see you didn't feel you had a good experience and we will look at the points you have raised and see where we can improve.
Regards Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

I travelled with a friend and although we prefer hotels or B&Bs we stayed here due to lack of affordable places on Skye.
But it's a great hostel. We had a private twin room with ensuite. All very clean. Beds have duvets and even towels are provided.
Shared kitchen and lounge is very tidy and clean. Lounge has views of the sea.
Free parking as well.
Wifi is free but has a bit of a complicated system with passwords that expire every 12 hours.
Would stay again!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Holidaytravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Portree Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

HI Holidaytravelfan,
Thanks for your kind review,
its great to see you had a good time and we hope to welcome you back soon
Regards Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016

We stayed here two nights and wish we had stayed more. The room was comfortable for four with our own bathroom. The kitchen was large and well stocked. There was plenty of dining space and the lounge was spacious and comfortable. The staff was very helpful with tourist information, maps and advice for visiting the island.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoamingFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Portree Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Hi RoamingFamily
Thanks for your review following your recent stay with us,Its great to see you had a good time and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

This youth hostel was in a great location right in town and was clean and comfortable.
It was near all the shops and pubs and had a interesting mix of customers as always.
WE stayed in a private room and it had everything we needed.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Portree Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

HI Liz R
Thanks for your kind review,Its great to see you had an enjoyable time.
We hope to welcome you back soon
Regards Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

This hostel is very nice and comfortable.
The rooms are bigh enough and the bathroom is very clean.
The common areas (kitchen and lounge room) are spacious and warm. The reception is opened till 10:30pm

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank silviadP2681BX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Portree Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Hi Silvia D,
Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us,
We hope to welcome you back soon
Regards Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews