We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$77
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$77
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/12/21
Expedia.com
US$77
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/21
Hotels.comUS$77
eDreamsUS$77
FindHotel
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
53
45
25
13
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
53
45
25
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main square superb location two nights reception ensuite facilities shower skye kettle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2019 via mobile

It’s not very cheap but is one of the cheapest options in Portree. The Hostel is located a few steps from the main square and has a nice view of the lake. The Pier (painted houses) is just three blocks away from the hostel. To be fair, it’s a very small town so everything is pretty close on foot.

The bedrooms are very clean and cozy. It has a spacious kitchen with all the items you need to cook either a sandwich or a lasagne. They offer breakfast for £5-6 but there’s a supermarket (Co-op) three or four blocks away from the hostel. I suggest you to buy groceries at the supermarket and prepare your own meals at kitchen hostel. I spent £20 in groceries and was able to cook 5 complete meals with it.

They hostel has free items for guests in the kitchen such as pasta, can food, coffee, tea, bread and milk. Most guests also leave their leftover groceries for other people to use when they check out.

Staff is amazing, they’re very helpful and chill. If you’re on a budget or a seasoned traveler who likes places where you can meet other people like you, this is the place to stay in Portree. 10/10

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank abelbazua
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostellingScot, Guest Relations Manager at Portree Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2019

Good Afternoon abelbazua,

Thank you for your review on our Portree hostel.

We do appreciate the lovely feedback that you have given us, we do pride ourselves on having amazing staff, so thank you.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2019 via mobile

Nice clean hostel. I stayed here for 2 nights with the Rabbies 3 day Skye tour. Quiet place, fresh air, slept great. Comfy beds, bathroom en suite. Cupbords in the room with place for your own padlock. Common room is not very cozy but it’s got everything you need. Though great view! Friendly staff. Laundry services are good but a bit expensive.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank luanalucinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostellingScot, Guest Relations Manager at Portree Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2019

Good Afternoon Luanalucinha,

Thank you for your lovely comments about our Portree hostel, we do want our guests to be as comfortable as they can be.

We do hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2019

My friends and I stayed here for 2 nights while on a trip through Skye. I found the hostel to be clean enough and the beds comfortable. It was quiet, at least in our room, and the shower was amazing (there is only one shower in the large girls room). The only problem was that the radiator leaked, ruining a bunch of my friends items, but they are working to fix it at this time. I would stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank rljo234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostellingScot, Guest Relations Manager at Portree Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2019

Good Afternoon Rljo234,

Thank you for your kind comments about our Portree hostel.

I am glad that you and your friends had a comfortable stay.

We do hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

This is my second stay at this hostel. It's situation is perfect if you are arriving by coach etc.
The room we ended up in was ok, the first room the window didn't close.
The staff were lovely and welcoming.
We paid extra for the breakfast which was ok nothing spectacular but it was enough to set us up for the day exploring the island. The first day the lady had everything set out.. the second day most was out but we had to find the cups and dishes ourselves.
Now the negative..
The whole hostel needs work. The rooms have damp and have obviously been damaged by people (broken shelf in shower & hairdryer missing). The shower doors are rusty and the shower is black and mouldy looking.
The staff and guests deserve better and given the location this hostel could be a flagship syha.
The private rooms could be something special with just a little bit of investment. Put ventilation in to the rooms.
Oh and make sure someone salts the paths and steps when it's icy as they are dangerous.
We will be back but hopefully the management will get some work done on this hostel to make it as stunning as it's location

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank lorna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostellingScot, Guest Relations Manager at Portree Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2018

Hi ScotlandLjh
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hostel. Its good to see you had a nice time and we will look into the points you have raised.
We do hope to welcome you back again soon
Regards Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

The hostel facilities are spacious, especially the kitchen and the common room. My room had its own bathroom which was very comfortable, although the toilet seat was broke. The best: the views to the tiny bay in front of the common room, it was gorgeous. However, my matress had some yellow water marks which didn't encourage one to lie down, not without a concrete wall in between at least. The main receptionist was muttering something under voice while checking me in, and while I don't believe she was saying anything back, it wasn't much inspiring. The common room and kitchen is closed from 12 to 3pm, and it was quite inconvenient to have them both closed ad such a time, while also bedrooms were being cleaned. Honestly, the experience wasn't bad, but I believe to had being charged an average of 25 pounds per night, one is entitled to expect a little bit more.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerniRoig
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostellingScot, Guest Relations Manager at Portree Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Hi BerniRoig,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, Its good to see overall you had a pleasant stay and I will look into your comments regarding the mattress and also discuss with the staff comments regarding check in.
Portree is a lovely place and we hope to welcome you back again
Regards Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews