We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cosy B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ardmorn Holiday Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 2 Roskhill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Very cosy and spotlessy clean bedrooms. Beautiful view at breakfast, and Duncan is extremely friendly and helpful. The location is perfect - very close to Dunvegan castle and not far from the Cuillins (and Talisker if you are a whisky lover!)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shoham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Ardmorn Holiday Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2012

Been to Skye on numerous occasions and never seen much of it because of the weather and poor visibility. We have good waterproofs but not x-ray vision!!!
Crossed the bridge and the sun came out to show the fresh dusting of snow on the Cuillin - wow!
Stayed at the Minimorn cottage (annex of Ardmorn B&B) and the chap who greeted us when we arrived was really friendly and despite doing ambulance duty all weekend had time to chat to us.
The place was freezing when we arrived but we were shown the heating controls and it didn't take long to become cosy. The place was spotless and equipped with everything you would expect. We had our two springer spaniels with us and they were made welcome by a knock on the door by the golden lab/retriever? living next door.
What a great little base for exploring Skye and not expensive at all. Ok we went off peak in October but 3 nights for 2 people and 2 dogs for £90 was extremely good value for what this place is. I'd definetly go back and recommend it to anyone.

Thanks to the owners for a lovely stay

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drewso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed in Ardmorn's self-catering cottage, Minimorn, for a week recently and I cannot recommend it highly enough. We prefer self-catering when we're away, so have stayed at many places in our time, and this one was by far the best equipped cottage we have stayed in. It may not have a view (you have to go around to the B&B conservatory to see the Ardmorn view, which is impressive) but this cottage is comfortable, quiet, practical and just what you need after a day's touring. We were out most of the time, but the times we were sat at the kitchen table looking at the birds in the garden/ watching the rather crazy weather that Skye's famous for are among the most memorable.

Situated just off the main road into/ out of Dunvegan, you'd expect to hear a fair bit of traffic but it's very quiet. We thought the location perfect as you could head North and East with ease (only 22 miles to Portree, for instance), and our trips down south to Elgol and the Sleat peninsula did not take long at all. There are also lots of little lanes in the area to explore, not to mention a lovely little brook that runs behind the property, just a short walk away...we kept threatening to go for a picnic there but ran out of time.

Our hosts, Duncan and Gillian, really know how to stock a cottage, which we really appreciated. We did not see much of them, but judging from previous reviews, they are very accommodating and knowledgeable about the area.

Oh, and their dog Honey is just too sweet - she checked up on us every day!

To summarise: very clean, well-stocked, comfortable accommodation that is ideally located on Skye. We would highly recommend it if you'd like to spend a week or two on Skye and hope to return there in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flothree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed here in April with our parents and I would definitely go back here if I'm in Skye. The bed rooms were clean and comfortable. It's well located and has beautiful views from the bedrooms and the conservatory. They provide a very yummy Full Scottish breakfast.
The hosts were really helpful in helping us find a nice place for dinner the evening we came. Although, you might not want to be too late to go out for dinner as its hard to find places open for dinner past 9pm.
And FYI, its a dog friendly BnB!

Room Tip: The front facing rooms have a better view.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caledonia_Lassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed for one night as a family of 4, booking 2 rooms to accomodate us. The booking was made by phone, we offered but there was no requirement for a deposit so very trusting. The owner also offered to book us a taxi to go to/from the nearby restaurant we were planning to eat at. Arrived about 4pm, friendly greeting with full use of the garden offered. Rooms were very clean and we were bowled over by the view from the conservatory where breakfast is taken and a sofa provided to chill out at any time. Good variety of breakfast items and cooked food was very nice. Great place - thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandR794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

If you are going to Skye you must stay here at least once. Duncan and Gillian are so warm and welcoming. The room was spacious and clean. The area in which the b&b sits on is just breath-taking. If you are looking for something quiet and scenic this is the place for you. The breakfast was really good as well. We are already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We have just recently spent 3 days/2 nights with Gillian and Duncan at what we consider to be a class-leading B&B.

We have travelled extensively over the years, and we have never in all our touring felt more at home in third-party accommodation.

Nothing is too much trouble for this endearing couple and we even spent our 2 nights with them in “wineful” enjoyment.

Superb sandwiches were packed for us on our departure for dining on our driving way back home to Kinross.

We took Duncan’s advice and dined at The Old School House restaurant in Dunvegan for the 2 nights we were there, and that was also superb in every way.

All in all one of the most enjoyable and satisfying breaks we have ever had the fortune to experience……..
…..so much so that we are planning to return in September post-midge period.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HayKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roskhill
12.8 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,071 reviews
32.9 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
8.4 mi away
Skeabost Hotel
Skeabost Hotel
#1 of 6 in Skeabost
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Gleann An Ronnaich
Gleann An Ronnaich
#4 of 95 in Portree
241 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kinloch Follart
Kinloch Follart
#1 of 3 in Dunvegan
71 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Tables Guest House
The Tables Guest House
#2 of 10 in Dunvegan
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmorn Holiday Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmorn Holiday Accommodation

Address: Ardmorn | Dunvegan, Roskhill IV55 8ZD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Roskhill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Roskhill
Price Range: £85 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the north west side of Skye, Ardmorn provides a true 'home from home' holiday experience; whether you are in our self catering cottage Minimorn, or in the main guest house. Just 3 miles out of Dunvegan we are a rural property with uninterrupted views across croftland, MacLeod's Tables and out to Loch Bracadale and the wider sea beyond. We can offer peace, tranquillity and the perfect place in which to unwind and relax! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ardmorn Holiday Accommodation Roskhill, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing