We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, room, hospitality, food and whiskey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sconser Lodge Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sconser
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sconser Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Sconser B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great view, room, hospitality, food and whiskey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Sconser lodge hotel is a very comfortable relaxing hotel. The brilliant view from the room (which is clean and large) or the restaurant. Drinking outside would be great too. The owner is a very friendly and helpful guy and the other staffs too. We had a great time at the bar with Scottish whiskey after dinner as well. Maybe the wine selection is the only thing which could be improved. I will stay at Sconser lodge hotel when I return to Skye.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K_Gon_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    44
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
61
99
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We were two couples who had big rooms at the back of the lodge with incredible views across the water. The owners were helpful and friendly. The other guests delightful and fun. After a delicious dinner at the lodge a small gathering listened to Norrie sing and play guitar in a charming lounge area. The lodge is huge! We were able to tour the fairy pools, Portree, and other interesting places on the Isle of Skye from this point.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taffyo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed here for 1 night taking 2 rooms and really enjoyed our stay. The Lodge (I guess a small hotel with the values of a b & b would be a good description) is in a superb location, just a 15 min drive from Portree , with the sea on one side of the Lodge and mountains on the other. The rooms were of a good size and clean throughout. On arrival we were warmly greeted by the owners and given hints and tips on the best way to make use of our limited time on the island. The owners could not have been more helpful and the passion they have for the Lodge and the island is clear to see. Unfortunately we did not make it back in time for an evening meal at the Lodge, which was a shame as we had read good reviews of the restaurant. When we did come back with fish and chips, we were kindly given plates and cutlery from the kitchen so we could eat at the tables outside the Lodge by the sea. The bar in the Lodge was lovely and we had a great relaxing evening enjoying a few drinks whist sitting by the open fire and listening to a selection of records on a record player – a rare treat. The sun sets late on Skye in late May and the fact that it was still light outside at 11.30 pm (with a view of the sun setting over the sea and mountains from the bar) made the whole evening that bit more memorable. There was a good choice for breakfast and the feeling was that we wished we could have stayed on for at least one more night but we would definitely stay at Sconser Lodge if we visit Skye again, and I’m sure we will.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DanMartin1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

A charming , family run lodge on Skye.
The owners/hosts were welcoming and accommodating . The lodge was charming with variety of rooms with ensuites. Lovely views on the loch.
Food was well prepared and nice fresh selections.
Would recommend this place for a centre for touring Skye or a retreat.

Room Tip: Choose one with a good size bathroom if travelling as a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Auly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sconser Lodge for one night last week and really enjoyed our stay. The lodge is strikingly beautiful - with stunning stone work and a great location right on the water. Perfect for watching the sunset! The owners were very friendly and helpful.

The common spaces really stand out in the lodge with lots of dark, heavy wood. My favorite room in the hotel was definitely the bar - very inviting and full of character (the bar tender is friendly too). There was live music the evening we stayed which was a delightful surprise!

My only complaint is that our room and the lodge hallways were definitely a bit worn. New carpeting and paint/papering would do wonders, as the furniture is classically beautiful (no need to replace it). The room prices are a bit on the expensive side, so I'd expect a bit more out of the rooms. Also, we had to pay for wifi - I've been traveling through Scotland for two weeks (and, stayed in a different guesthouse just about every night) and everywhere else has had free wifi. Again, kind of annoying given the expensive room price...

Other than that though, the Sconser Lodge is great. Step outside of your room into the common spaces, or outside to enjoy the spectacular view and you'll surely be pleased with your stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

We've been privileged so many times to have been able to soak up the homely family atmosphere at this old Macdonald hunting lodge over the past six years. It is located just a 20 minute drive south of Portree and provides a waterside location with inspiring views from the bar and restaurant whatever the weather. Owners Lisa and Craig provide simple but quality food which never disappoints. If Norrie is in attendance you will not forget for good reasons your evening's experience. Never pretentious this Hotel provides all that most folk seek and does it well.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Seeking silver service? Need staff to be dressed in black doffing their caps and bowing and scraping to your every whim but actually wishing you were under a bus? Then this is not the place for you.
But if you want to be made to feel like you are an honoured guest invited into a warm and very large family home then this is the place. None of this, give me your credit card, car registration number, passport and a small child that we can chain to a radiator and hold hostage.
The food was just out of this world, textures and flavours that I had never experienced before. If you do not have the Scallops and Black Pudding then you need your head examined. Everything cooked freshly to order and local produce.
Craig and his wife and even little Alfie all added to a relaxed, warm and friendly atmosphere. Oh, Alfie is the son, not the family dog, a wee chatterbox. But also well out of the way in the evening.
Due to the weather in England they had a lot of cancellations so we were upgraded to the rooms with a sea view. I was there with my father. I did not expect to see Sydney Opera House, or The Hanging Gardens of Babylon or even Herds of wildebeast sweeping majestically across the plain. It was better than that.
I must mention that if you need to try some whiskies in order to decide what to buy whilst in Scotland then they have more brands than you can shake a stick at.
I could go on and on about shelves full of books to pick up and browse through and how you are just made to feel so at home and so welcome. You are on first name terms within two minutes of walking through the door.
Craig and family, thank you for welcoming me and my father into your home.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and have the rooms at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sconser
7.7 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
17.9 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
16.2 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
16.3 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
7.7 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sconser Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sconser Lodge Hotel

Property: Sconser Lodge Hotel
Address: Sconser IV48 8TD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Sconser
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sconser
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Sconser Hotel Sconser
Sconser Lodge Hotel Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing