We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay - rain or shine!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax on the decking and soak up the ever changing views. Luxury family bathroom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Relax on the decking and soak up the ever changing views.
Luxury family bathroom.
View of main entrance of Cuán Beag and parking area.
Large picture windows in the lounge giving a panoramic view from the two large comfortable settees.
Panoramic views from the large open plan living space - sliding doors to large south facing decking.
Cosy up by the log burner, but still enjoy the views of the setting sun.
View from the breakfast bar.
Dining area.
View from the dining table.
View towards Kitchen.
Well appointed Kitchen with breakfast bar.
Master 6ft Super King sized double room with large en-suite shower room.
Master en-suite bedroom made up as twin configuration.
Master bedroom made up as twin with door out onto south facing decking.
Master en-suite shower room with heated and illuminated mirror.
Large walk-in shower.
Bedroom 2 - 6ft Super King Sized double with en-suite shower room.
Bedroom 3 made up as twin configuration.
Bedroom 3 made up as 6ft Super King sized bed.
Distant view of Cuán Beag and along the loch shore.
View up the loch from  Cuán Beag with gated access onto the shore.
View across the loch from Cuán Beag.
View down the loch from  Cuán Beag.
Aurora Borealis seen looking down the loch from Cuan Beag
Sun shining on the other side of Loch Snizort.
Evening sun on  Cuán Beag  from the north side.
Evening view down the loch with the mountains on the Isle of Harris in the distance.
View of  Cuán Beag from the loch.
Seals basking in winter sunshine.
Curious seals with snow capped mountains on the Outer Isles.
Friendly Highland cow on the croft.
Otter out on a rock after catching a fish.
Deer frequent the area, so keep a look out!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Skeabost, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Bryan M
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great place to stay - rain or shine!”
Reviewed 6 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a great week in Cuan Beag. It’s in the perfect spot for exploring (near to a main road with easy access to Portree and not far from a good selection of eateries) whilst also being quiet and private. It proved a great place to hang out when the weather was less good – the fantastic windows allowing us to appreciate the lovely views in 3 directions as well as being able to enjoy watching the weather, sunsets and wildlife. The house was very thoughtfully equipped with more than would have been expected in terms of books, maps, games and DVDs. Also the outdoor space made the most of any sun and it was great to be so close to the water. This is a green home with modern energy and the high quality shower was really enjoyed. When we come back to Skye, this lovely location will be hard to beat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2016
Thank you Bryan - you would be very welcome to come back to Cuan Beag at any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah R
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful retreat ”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Cuan Beag is perfectly situated, with stunning views whilst being easily accessible for Portree, the Cuillin and the other main sights on Skye. The cottage is brilliantly equipped: everything is brand new, high end and luxurious- the owners had thought of (nearly!) everything- making it the perfect retreat for a group of adults. We loved watching the sun set over the water and the sightings of seals, whilst the extremely comfortable beds were very welcome after a day on the hills! Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2016
Hi Gemma and Sarah, thank you for your feedback. I'm glad to hear that you all had a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephfret...
1 review
“A wonderful base for exploring Skye, perfect location and comfortable, superbly equipped cottage.”
Reviewed 3 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a wonderful week staying here. The cottage is in an amazing location, perfect for observing the wildlife, we enjoyed otter spotting and bird watching from the sofa! Within easy reach of Portree and north west Skye it provided a wonderful base for exploring the island. Lots of interesting walks nearby and some good cafes and restaurants, many with small galleries.
The cottage is extremely well equipped and finished to a very high standard and the communication with the owners prior to our arrival was excellent. I would definitely recommend Cuan Beag and we hope to return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2016
Thank you for your review Steph. We are really glad that you were able to enjoy the special location and comfort of Cuan Beag and so pleased that you spotted the elusive otter as they are very shy creatures. :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
witchywoo...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Little Retreat.”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What a little find the Cuán Beag was for us, having been in Skye for the fourth time this was buy far our best stay.

The location is great as your not far from Portree and the views that you get from the Cuán Beag are just superb, lots off different types of birds to watch to seeing the ferry leave from Uig at the tip of the river.

Everything is provided in the Cuán Beag and was no need for us to take anything with us as I have seen in the past me taking everything but the kitchen sink was just like home from home which I most liked.

The Cuán Beag was so comfortable and very clean to the underfloor heating being so cozy, we most enjoyed having the log burning stove on in the evening when sunrise had dipped this just set the evening for us "basket off logs provided".

Lots of information is provided if stuck on what to see and do on the Island lots off books and walking guides too, great touch on this little pack, DVDs are also provided.

Thank you for a wonderful and pleasant stay and would love to stay again sometime in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2016
Tracey I am very glad to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay; we too find the views from Cuan Beag never fail to impress us and we love being so close to the lochside. We are aiming to make Cuan Beag feel like home from home, so we were pleased to hear that you had such an experience. Thank you and you would be very welcome to come and stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquie C
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very Peaceful and Comfortable Place to Stay”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This place is spanking new, very comfortable, warm and cozy and so well appointed especially the kitchen with everything that you could need. Portree the capital is conveniently near at hand by car and supplied all our requirements and the cottage itself is in a quiet spot right on the shore. The views are stunning and ever changing with the tide and we were able to see plenty of wildlife (binoculars provided) from the dining table as well as through the large picture windows. We enjoyed a lovely walk down to the end of the peninsular where we saw many seals and other bird life. The cottage is in an ideal location being only a short drive to most of the north of Skye and easy access to the south as well. There is so much to do and see though that a week is not long enough to fit everything in! We would love to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Wood Burner and Sea View.
Liked least: There were just no dislikes
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2016
Jacquie thank you for being our first guests and for your kind review. You would be very welcome to come back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reiner S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2018
Reiner thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review. You are welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sylviebM2...
Antibes, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
Google Translation

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2018
Sylvie, merci pour ton commentaire très élogieux!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing