We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic few days away”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Skeabost Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Skeabost Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Skeabost B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic few days away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We came here for a few days away and it was fantastic! The hotel has a cosy homely feel and we loved the open fire in the drawing room. The food was amazing as was the service. Nothing was too much to ask for and the staff were so friendly. Special mention to Kat/Cat, who made our stay so great! She was only too happy to help with anything she could. We will most certainly be coming back

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewmwilkie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    152
    60
    19
    11
See reviews for
48
279
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Nice hotel located in lovely grounds. Minutes drive from Portree. Hotel could do with a little refurbishment however we stayed on an excellent rate so cannot complain.
Friendly helpful staff. Very good quality and filling 3 course meal.
Bed was very squeaky and really could do with being replaced! Clean room though and nice big ensuite. Good service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HighlandsHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

3 night stay recently at this hotel. Staff were excellant could not do enough for you and nothing was too much bother. Food was hit or miss. We had one really nice meal during our stay and the rest were just OK. Room was nice, warm, spacious and clean. Unfortunately the TV connection was poor, there was a man out to repair this but by the time we left it was still no better and at no time were we afford to swap room dspite the hotel not being full. There is also an issue with hot water for showering in the morning, if your not fast your last Im afraid. Nice location if somewhat remote so you really need a car. Overall pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were here on a 5pm deal and were not disappointed. We upgraded to a splendid large room (7) with lovely big bathroom. The hotel is very comfortable, warm and with friendly staff in the main.Only disappointment was with dinner in restaurant. Menu was great but sadly cuisine wasn't quite right so we ate in bar second night which was good. Wi Fi is inconsistent here and mobile reception unavailable but so what!
Overall we were very pleased with our stay

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralston M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We held our Ladies Evening on the 15th. March for a party of 37 . Shaun the manager was
very helpful with the arrangements . The food and atmosphere very good . We all had a
most enjoyable evening and look forward to next years event .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janice p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormiston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Only stayed here for 1 night on business. Stood at reception for ages waiting to check in despite repeated ringing of the bell on counter. Eventually got checked in. Did get asked if I wanted a dram before going to room. Cannot comment on food in restaurant as ate in bar. The bar meal was actually very good with goats cheese bruschetta followed by home made steak and pepper pie. Have to agree with previous reviewer about the lack of hot water. Getting up at 6:30am there was no hot water even after running for ages. Room ok but bathroom very small. Nice lounge area, bar, and snooker / cigar room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KennybOrmiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
forres
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

First impressions are not good as the road into the hotel from Portree is awful, full of potholes and the exterior of the hotel is in need of a paint job. The rooms are comfortable although the bed was quite soft. Food was very good and the staff were very friendly. Lovely log fires in the lounge with comfortable couches.

Room Tip: Take the second entrance from the main road to the hotel as the road surface is excellent compared t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twiggyForres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun S, General Manager at Skeabost Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for reviewing Skeabost Country House Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Recently we have had our main drive retarred. The drive you are referring to is no longer in use by the hotel and as stated on the signage it does direct you away from this and towards the correct drive.

Last year while the weather was good the exterior of the hotel went under major work and was 70% repainted. This year when the weather becomes suitable again the final 30% will be completed.

I am glad to read you enjoyed other aspects of your stay and will pass your compliments onto my team. We hope to welcome you back to Skeabost in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skeabost
5.5 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
28.8 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
9.5 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
5.5 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edinbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
5.4 mi away
Portree Hotel
Portree Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portree
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skeabost Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skeabost Hotel

Property: Skeabost Hotel
Address: Skeabost Bridge, Skeabost IV51 9NP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Skeabost
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Skeabost
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Skeabost Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skeabost Hotel stands within large private grounds at the edge of Loch Snizort and based only five minutes away from Portree. The Hotel is an ideal base for exploring the surrounding Scottish Highlands and visiting the many local attractions. The inviting Country House with stunning views and elegant public areas offers a homely welcome. On check in why not treat yourself to a lovely home made afternoon tea while you cosy up in front of our warm open fires. Dining can be taken in one of our restaurants, with a varied menu that features the finest of locally sourced seasonal ingredients and is complemented by an extensive wine list. To end your evening move over to the Lounge Bar and choose from the large selection of fine malt whiskies to enjoy while our friendly staff tell you about what you can do in the area. The Hotel has its own 9-hole, 18-tee golf course which provides a challenge for any level of golfer and fishing enthusiasts will relish the opportunity to cast in the salmon and trout river. The Snooker Room, formerly the chapel of the original country house, is another place to unwind with a drink. Skeabost House Hotel is a licensed wedding venue, with additional capacity for a range of private business functions and corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Skeabost Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skeabost Country House Hotel Skeabost
Skeabost Hotel Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing