We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Base for touring Skye”
Review of Skeabost Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Skeabost Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Skeabost B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My wife and I booked two nights at The Skeabost Hotel, as we'd always said we would tour Skye.
The hotel is well placed as a base for touring around the island and is about 5 miles from Portree.
We booked a deluxe room with en suite and four poster bed. The hotel is lovely if a bit "tired". It is still comfortable though and the staff very helpful. On arriving, we had a bar meal, which was excellent and reasonably priced. We also received a complimentary bottle of wine, which was a bonus.
Breakfast was good in variety, plentiful and well cooked. Dining room service was excellent.
Check in and check out was very smooth. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

This was my second visit to Skeabost house and I could not fault it. The superior room was fantastic, great views with a very comfortable four poster bed, massive bathroom and bath. Service was unbeatable with staff who go all out to make your visit something special. Food in the main restaurant is of a very high standard, prices very reasonable as well as scenery and location ideal for a battery recharge. Had a fantastic weekend and will go back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank stevendrummond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

lovely settings next to the river
rooms were very comfortable, with everything you could need
Food was delicious esp the smoked haddock and poached egg for breakfast
Staff were very friendly, helpful and above all cheerful.

would recommend and will return

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eniale64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just returned from Skeabost after a 3-night break.(4guys, 2twin rooms). Lovely welcome with a glass of whisky each - much appreciated after the long 220 mile drive from Glasgow. Exquisite surroundings. Beautiful views and a very pretty little golf course. Rooms, although a little tired, provided for all of our needs perfectly. Staff were very pleasant, helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast and bar meals were both good but meal in the main restaurant was superb. This was my second stay at Skeabost and I am greatly looking forward to making it a hat-trick. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesEdward2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Chose a sunny day for short visit to Skye and this hotel due to its central position. We were in one of the annex rooms which was great with door opening to sunny grass area with table and chaos and overlooking the bay.. perfect for the dog. Room 23 was comfortable, breakfast delicious, service impeccable, driveway (2nd one) good condition and lots of hot water. Top marks!

Room Tip: Choose an annex room if you have a dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Reading other people's reviews I would think I was in a different hotel. Yes the main building was lovely and if you were lucky to have a room within the main building you may have been happy but after being greeted by a young member of staff (of which there appeared to be many) who was efficient but distant, we were shown to our room in the annex. This area needs a desperate update, the uninviting brown carpet was thin and looked dirty, the bed was like lying on concrete, the toilet had a crack in it, the uninviting wooden seat didn't fit being too small and the flush had come away from the wall. Our booking was to include breakfast and there was no mention that it was a very basic continental; the price for a cooked breakfast was £15 per person which rather bumped up the price of the 2 day stay. Having just arrived from a fabulous b & b, it was a huge disappointment and I'm sorry this all sounds very negative, but it spoilt our visit to Skye.

Room Tip: Look at the room first & try the bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We traveled from sister hotel in Broadford "Dunollie" which did not live up to our dreams however on arrival at the Skeabost our welcoming hostess Elizabeth asked if we had been to the hotel before on our negative reply she asked if we would like to see round the hotel which we did, then she said before she showed us to our room would we like a "wee dram" .....what a lovely Scottish welcome.....our room was lovely ...very spacious with a roll top bed...
Our dinner in the restaurant was very nice service was excellent and the food was nice.

Breakfast was great lots of choice on the starters and the main was non greasy and the bacon lovely.

On our next night we had bar food which was really media core. Not as good as the main restaurant,. We did a round of golf we enjoyed but would not pay for it as an extra ....feel guest should be given this free as we did but not sure if that is always the case.....was very enjoyable
Would go back in fact we probably will room 9 was lovely.....The service overall was excellent and the atmosphere of the whole hotel was just what you would expect in an old Scottish Hotel
Thanks to the staff for a lovely time

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobWeir45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skeabost
5.5 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,083 reviews
29.3 mi away
Toravaig House Hotel
28.8 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
The Flodigarry Hotel
The Flodigarry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Flodigarry
406 reviews
5.4 mi away
Bosville Hotel
Bosville Hotel
#3 of 6 in Portree
185 reviews
5.5 mi away
Redwood House Hotel
Redwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Greshornish
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skeabost Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skeabost Hotel

Address: Skeabost Bridge, Skeabost IV51 9NP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Skeabost
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Skeabost
Price Range: £145 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Skeabost Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skeabost Hotel stands within large private grounds at the edge of Loch Snizort and based only five minutes away from Portree. The Hotel is an ideal base for exploring the surrounding Scottish Highlands and visiting the many local attractions. The inviting Country House with stunning views and elegant public areas offers a homely welcome. On check in why not treat yourself to a lovely home made afternoon tea while you cosy up in front of our warm open fires. Dining can be taken in one of our restaurants, with a varied menu that features the finest of locally sourced seasonal ingredients and is complemented by an extensive wine list. To end your evening move over to the Lounge Bar and choose from the large selection of fine malt whiskies to enjoy while our friendly staff tell you about what you can do in the area. The Hotel has its own 9-hole, 18-tee golf course which provides a challenge for any level of golfer and fishing enthusiasts will relish the opportunity to cast in the salmon and trout river. The Snooker Room, formerly the chapel of the original country house, is another place to unwind with a drink. Skeabost House Hotel is a licensed wedding venue, with additional capacity for a range of private business functions and corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Skeabost Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skeabost Country House Hotel Skeabost
Skeabost Hotel Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing