We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect cottage to be for a relaxing holiday...”
other travellers have booked this property
Relax on Loch Nevis cottage Patio.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax on Loch Nevis cottage Patio.
Calligary Cottages,
Loch Nevis on the left and Loch Hourn on the right Calligary Cottages.
Loch Hourn on the left and Loch Nevis on the right.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Relax on Loch Nevis cottage Patio.
Calligary Cottages,
Loch Nevis on the left and Loch Hourn on the right
Calligary Cottages.
Loch Hourn on the left and Loch Nevis on the right.
Loch Nevis Lounge
Loch Nevis kitchen/diner.
Loch Nevis Double bedroom.
Loch Nevis Twin bedroom.
A Rhododendron bush at Calligary Cottages.
A lovely Autumn afternoon from Loch Nevis cottage.
View from Cnoc Monadh in Calligary.
Evening view from nearby Aird.
Isles of Eigg and Rum from nearby Aird
Gathering clouds over Isle of Eigg.
Sunrise across the Sound of Sleat.
Low tide in Ardvasar Bay.
Dawn.
Peace in Ardvasar Bay.
Meet the neighbours
Let's run away.
I was born like this but my ear will straighten out.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sleat, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
UNORuncor...
Runcorn Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The perfect cottage to be for a relaxing holiday on Isle of Skye”
Reviewed 6 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Loch Nevis is a wonderful cottage with amazing views! Its equipped with everything you need for a relaxing stay. We just sat back and enjoyed the view over the lochs and mountains, comfortable lounge, spotlessly clean, the kitchen is lovely with table and chairs, everything provided in there to eat in. There is a lovely garden to relax in, the village is minutes away, local shop and petrol. Birdfeeders provided, which we filled up and watched blue tits, chaffinch, and even siskins.
The owner is lovely and lives nearby if we needed anything, information on the area etc. Its just round the corner from the Mallaig ferry and not far to see the rest of beautiful Skye!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2018
Thank you for such a great Review. I am very pleased that you have enjoyed yet another holiday in our cottage and look forward to seeing you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perpetual...
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views in basic, functional detached house with large patio”
Reviewed 23 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous location in a spot where the views don't get much better. The patio was a delight to have. The cottage is older and a bit threadbare in spots, not fancy, but very functional. It has most things you will find you need for a short stay. We were blessed with absolutely brilliant weather during our stay, and as a result, the cottage could get a bit warm in the evenings after full-on sun throughout the day. So, the inability to open the windows during the evenings due to the insects was a bit tough at times. A fan would have been nice, but then I understand that this is an item that wouldn't be needed very often.
You should be aware that this cottage is up a rather steep hill. So, if you are planning to arrive on foot, you will have to walk your luggage to the cottage which is about a mile away from the ferry port, and almost predominately uphill (unless you have arranged for a taxi). The view does make it worth it in the end, but if you want to be able to walk into Armadale or even just down to Ardvasar to the pub you will have a steep walk back.
The local pub serves a limited menu of mainly burgers, with some "Specials." Lovely meal in the Armadale Castle restaurant, which on the weekends serves tapas made mostly from local seafood.
There is bus service from Armadale, and regular ferry service, but you will definitely need to have a car if you want to travel much beyond Broadford.
Recommend the small isle ferry journeys where you can get a non-disembarking passenger fare and see the local islands and sea life.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2018
Thank you for your review. I have taken your comments on board and will act upon them where necessary. You were indeed blessed with brilliant weather and I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Jun 2018
Thank you for a lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andrew M
1 review
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 5 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We loved our time staying at the cottage. The views were incredible and it was straightforward to get too while still feeling like you were out of the hustle and bustle. Proprietor was wonderful and the kitchen was amazingly stocked with cooking utensils and we cooked every night. Only word of caution, while the cottage does have WiFi, it is DSL, so don’t plan to use a ton of bandwidth. We will definetly be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2018
Thank you for your great review. I'm glad you and your partner made the most of your short stay after coming such a distance. I look forward to seeing you in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter G
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great little cottage with excellent views over the Sound of Sleat!”
Reviewed 20 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

I stayed here for work and found Loch Nevis to be the perfect home for my 7 night stay.

The cottage is reasonably high up above the village of Ardvasar, nr Armadale, Skye, with good road access and parking enough for two vehicles.

The cottage has a hallway, livingroom, kitchen/diningroom, two bedrooms (1 double and 1 twin) and a bathroom.

The WiFi is perfectly acceptable and is well capable of viewing web pages, emails etc, although streaming video was a little patchy.

The kitchen is fully fitted with all the usual appliances and utensils that you are likely to require. There is a good sized dining table in the kitchen.

The TV, in the livingroom, is connected to a free to air satellite box which offers more than enough channels if you want to watch a movie.

The livingroom has two decent sized comfortable couches, a fireplace with electric fire, a coffee table, a bookshelf with a good selection of books, magazines, CD's and DVD's as well as the TV.

The bathroom is a good size with a cabinet above the sink and a small shaving light above that. The water pressure in the shower, above the bath, is fine - it's not going to knock you over but it's easily sufficient.

Due to working longish hours in various locations around Skye I didn't get the chance to explore the local area but there is a small cafe just down the hill (Cafe 1925) and the Ardvasar Hotel is a few minutes walk back along the road (it was in the process of being refitted at the time of my stay).

Ardvasar is served by a regular bus service to and from various locations on Skye.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2018
Thank you, Peter, for a great review. I couldn't have described the cottage better myself! It was a pity that you didn't have the time to sit out on the patio and reflect on your day's work. Maybe the next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 13 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Brilliant views from this cosy house. Thoroughly enjoyed our trip lots to see and do even in winter in the snow. Janette the owner very attentive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2018
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm glad you enjoyed your few days in the cottage despite the snowy weather - it does, of course, add to the majestic scenery.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrs sara...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent”
Reviewed 15 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

my husband and I had also the dog enjoyed it it was the best holiday we have had in a long time and will be back

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2018
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you all enjoyed your stay and I look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing